$294 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
61 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Pool View Premium Room
This room includes:

Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Garden View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival


  • Ocean View Premium

    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (61)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.6 / 5
    5.01.0
    61 out of 61
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    3.9

    72% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Geminimeg
    Business
    Minneapolis
    Oct 29, 2013

    Singles gettaway

    First it was hard finding a phone number for the hotel because i received 2 addresses for the hotel and I wanted to confirm how to get there. The staff was nice, but some of the staff hit on me too much. The food was alright, nothing special. The drinks were fine. If i wanted to pay extra for better alcohol, there was the option for. If I wanted any wifi, it was $16/day. There was no access in the lobby. The location was not the best... The local 40 fishing boats were always docked in front of the resort. Overall, it was not very special, but a good choice if you want a cheaper alternative.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mateo13
    Business
    dallas, texas
    Aug 27, 2013

    quick trip

    Avg hotel with avg beaches. Close to the center of town

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    colombiafreqtraveler
    Business
    colombia
    Aug 3, 2013

    not complains

    we had a wonderful time during our vacations. the onky thing that could be better is the quality for the food served at night. highly recommended.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    AHL61
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Jun 6, 2013

    3rd Time to Riviera Maya

    I enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue shopping, only three walking blocks out the front door of the hotel much closer than expected having walked there along the beach. In either respect it was never a hardship. We stayed in room 2240. It was clean, quiet and close to the lobby. It didn't take more than 5 minutes to get to any of the restaurants, beach or pool. All of which were never over crowded. We enjoyed the mexican specialty restaurant menu. The buffet served it's purpose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good variety of the basic dishes beef, chicken, pork and fish. The snack bar was quick and cooked to order. A taste of home so to speak when it came to a fresh hamburger, hotdog, nachos, pizzas and even chicken wings. Lomas travel was onsite and could handle every excursion imaginable and was nice to have straight forward pricing from the different excursion groups so you always had a choice and no experience was pushed more than the other. They even helped arranged a private transfer to the airport for us. Mother nature interfered with a lot of rain. But we weren't discouraged. We had a rain coat, the resort provided an umbrella and despite the rain it was still very much warm to hot outside. Once the rain stopped the beach and pool came back to life. We were early risers and found our favorite beach spot with out a problem right after breakfast 730-800. The lobby bar was great meeting point at night for late night excursions with a group or so we heard. The theater had a good 1 1/2 hours worth of theater entertainment that was perfect before or after dinner. There was a good variety of couples, families and friends that never got in anyones way and if anything new friendships were born easily. While I wouldn't consider this a honeymooners resort it wasn't too large you'd get lost and not too small that we became board. Regardless of my opinion the Riviera Maya is an awesome destination for shopping, history, cuisine, water sports or just sitting at the beach. Staying at this resort was a great value for the price, having traveled from Minneapolis and staying for 7 days @$1999. In the end with shopping, excursions and a few generous tips we spent $3000 and will do it again real soon! Tony

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    This resort is just 4 short blocks out the front door of the hotel and can also be reached while walking along the beach. It's the best of both worlds away from the large beach resorts closer to 5th Ave. and close enough to eat, drink and play if the resort doesn't meet your expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sam86
    Business
    Minneapolis, minnesota
    May 27, 2013

    It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

    Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Airport Johnny
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    May 23, 2013

    Excellent Experience

    What a great trip! For the money, you cannot find a better deal in Playa del Carmen. The staff was beyond friendly... they were quite incredible, actually! The place was extremely clean and the food and beverages were decent. Great view of the ocean and the pool. I would absolutely stay here again and again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Guadalajara
    Business
    Maspeth, NY
    May 20, 2013

    second trip

    we were so excited to come back to this resort. what a surprise. everything change.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    mystery guy
    Business
    Washington, DC
    Apr 21, 2013

    Paper thin walls

    Noise from my neighbors woke me up by 7AM every morning. I could hear snoring and conversation through the walls. The beach is a parking lot for boats, which spoils the view. However, the staff was nice and the food wasn't bad. I feel that I would have been better off paying less for a hotel that wasn't part of a resort. Or paying slightly more for a different resort.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    loveplaya
    Business
    dallas
    Jan 9, 2013

    Small beach

    Nice pool but very small beach. My room was near the lobby so, it was pretty loud. And while there I kept getting mesquito bites from sitting on the balcony. Property was nice, not great. Location was ok, but not within walking distance of town.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Grandmom Susan
    Business
    Oklahoma
    Nov 29, 2012

    Great family getaway

    Property is beautiful, but beach is small. Beds were great for a Mexican bed, much softer than most. Food was far better than most all inclusives. Specialty restaurants were very nice. Staff was very engaging and really tried to do everything that they could for you. Would have been nice to have WIFI in the lobby, without paying $15 per day. Fishing was great, went to the right of the property to book. Close to town, really was a $5 cab ride. Would recommend it to others. Rooms are older, but you are only in them to sleep and they were clean. Great family place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Property is about 6-8 blocks from main shopping area of 5th avenue. Cab ride was only$5.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top