$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alaska Couple 2012
Business
Alaska
Jan 15, 2014

Beds were horrible!

The location was near 5th Avenue which was nice, not the best neighborhood-kinda dirty location. Staff was really nice. Downsides are food is average at best, if your looking for all the booze you can drink but cant get coffee in your room unless you pay $5 bucks a packet- then this is the place for you. Beds were horrible and hard, could not get any sleep and woke up sore every morning- even tried to switch rooms and the staff said "All the beds are like that" which was true for both rooms we were in. Activities are included but only 1 per day for 1 hour per day. Kind of felt nickel and dimed at every corner. Would only consider going back for the staff, nothing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbaker71
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Cockroaches, cover-fees (on all-inclusive restaurants), break-ins

What a nightmare of a vacation. Room was a pit. Cockroaches killed daily in room. Standing water in bathtub. Floods during rain. Sewer backed up daily outside hotel so it smelled like a dirty toilet near the front every day. Day 2, someone broke into the room and hotel staff didn't care ("well, at least nothing was missing" was all they could say). Food in buffet was nasty. McDonalds would have tasted better. Half-way through the week they started charging $6/person 'cover charge' to All-Inclusive restaurant. They let scammers in to sell fake deals to guests around the pool area (guy sold a couple discount tickets to Coco Bongo and told them to meet him at front at a certain time that evening only never to show up; he was a regular around the hotel apparently). I would not consider paying more than $39/night for this trash heap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look elsewhere

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbaker71
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 11, 2014

WARNING!!! Roaches, thieves, food poisoning, scam

This hotel was the worst. Killed roaches daily in room. Possibly found bed bugs. Standing water in bathtub. Day 2 thieves broke into room, but we had valuable locked up in safe and car trunk. Food was disgusting. Cold at best, undercooked often, left-overs from previous day. Mid-week they started charging a cover fee of $6/person for the All-inclusive restaurants we had already paid for. Fights around pool area. Staff did nothing. Sewage backup daily in front of hotel made it smell like a dirty toilet. No internet ($16/day if you want to pay for chance at getting a signal). No manager ever on duty ("come back tomorrow" was always the answer with a shrug signifying "it's not my problem"). Not worth $30/night and barely a 1 star. Racist and homophobic guests picking fights were allowed to stay and continue to harass guests. Staff don't care as long as they get their pesos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tachuela28
Business
Novi, Michigan
Jan 5, 2014

Excelent All Inclusive

The service was awesome, the location was perfect for an all inclusive in playa (i dont like the resorts). The food was amazing everyday had different food and it was so good. The staff is friendly and gave us the best service. I'll definitely will stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want the good licor in the open bar you should buy the international open bar wrist band for $ 18 US daily. After two or three drinks of black label or Don Julio it's paid. That save me a lot of money.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geminimeg
Business
Minneapolis
Oct 29, 2013

Singles gettaway

First it was hard finding a phone number for the hotel because i received 2 addresses for the hotel and I wanted to confirm how to get there. The staff was nice, but some of the staff hit on me too much. The food was alright, nothing special. The drinks were fine. If i wanted to pay extra for better alcohol, there was the option for. If I wanted any wifi, it was $16/day. There was no access in the lobby. The location was not the best... The local 40 fishing boats were always docked in front of the resort. Overall, it was not very special, but a good choice if you want a cheaper alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mateo13
Business
dallas, texas
Aug 27, 2013

quick trip

Avg hotel with avg beaches. Close to the center of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colombiafreqtraveler
Business
colombia
Aug 3, 2013

not complains

we had a wonderful time during our vacations. the onky thing that could be better is the quality for the food served at night. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AHL61
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 6, 2013

3rd Time to Riviera Maya

I enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue shopping, only three walking blocks out the front door of the hotel much closer than expected having walked there along the beach. In either respect it was never a hardship. We stayed in room 2240. It was clean, quiet and close to the lobby. It didn't take more than 5 minutes to get to any of the restaurants, beach or pool. All of which were never over crowded. We enjoyed the mexican specialty restaurant menu. The buffet served it's purpose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good variety of the basic dishes beef, chicken, pork and fish. The snack bar was quick and cooked to order. A taste of home so to speak when it came to a fresh hamburger, hotdog, nachos, pizzas and even chicken wings. Lomas travel was onsite and could handle every excursion imaginable and was nice to have straight forward pricing from the different excursion groups so you always had a choice and no experience was pushed more than the other. They even helped arranged a private transfer to the airport for us. Mother nature interfered with a lot of rain. But we weren't discouraged. We had a rain coat, the resort provided an umbrella and despite the rain it was still very much warm to hot outside. Once the rain stopped the beach and pool came back to life. We were early risers and found our favorite beach spot with out a problem right after breakfast 730-800. The lobby bar was great meeting point at night for late night excursions with a group or so we heard. The theater had a good 1 1/2 hours worth of theater entertainment that was perfect before or after dinner. There was a good variety of couples, families and friends that never got in anyones way and if anything new friendships were born easily. While I wouldn't consider this a honeymooners resort it wasn't too large you'd get lost and not too small that we became board. Regardless of my opinion the Riviera Maya is an awesome destination for shopping, history, cuisine, water sports or just sitting at the beach. Staying at this resort was a great value for the price, having traveled from Minneapolis and staying for 7 days @$1999. In the end with shopping, excursions and a few generous tips we spent $3000 and will do it again real soon! Tony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This resort is just 4 short blocks out the front door of the hotel and can also be reached while walking along the beach. It's the best of both worlds away from the large beach resorts closer to 5th Ave. and close enough to eat, drink and play if the resort doesn't meet your expectations.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam86
Business
Minneapolis, minnesota
May 27, 2013

It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Airport Johnny
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 23, 2013

Excellent Experience

What a great trip! For the money, you cannot find a better deal in Playa del Carmen. The staff was beyond friendly... they were quite incredible, actually! The place was extremely clean and the food and beverages were decent. Great view of the ocean and the pool. I would absolutely stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top