$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman-HA, Ret. 3 Lotes 12 y 13, Villas Pakal, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evedi
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 21, 2011

The scoop

The hotel room was lovely with a nice kitchen and large refrigerator. The breakfast was very good and enjoyable. The golf course is beautiful as a back drop to the hotel. However, the hotel is not on a beach. It is a 15-20 minute walk to town, which isn't bad, but is a bit annoying if you are going 2x's a day to hit the beach and then have dinner later in the evening. If you want to play golf on the course, it is a 20 minute walk to the entrance of the club house in 80-100 degree weather. We were told that there was no pickup service even though the clubhouse was directly across the course from the hotel. For those people who choose to stay here I recommend renting a car or planning on hiring taxi services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you rent a car and drive to the hotel, you will enter a gated community. Once inside the Playacar gated area, turn into an additional gated area called Pakal (with a big golf ball in the logo) and the hotel is at the end of this street.

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa CA
Jun 30, 2009

A home away from home.

The staff was extremely frendly and helpful. The decor of the hotel was a tradtional Mexican Hacienda,very warm and comfortable. We spent 14 nights there and it soon grew to feel like our home away from home. A short cab ride to 5th Ave and all of the fine restaurants of downtown Playa Del Carmen. A short walk to the golf course club house to play 18 holes on one of most beautiful courses you'll ever see. We recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san Francisco
Feb 17, 2010

Not a 4 star

Need a car here. Nice facilities and secure. The Jacuzzi was broken and there were charges for the SPA so the only facility to use was the pool. Breakfast was repetitive and cold often. There were added charges for most things which is annoying, especially for late check outs. Had to ask for more towels and sheets a few times. Room was nice but small, dark and facing the hallway. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Tarraya in Plays has great, cheap seafood. Yaxche is awesome. There is also a great Italian place near Coco Bongo. Eat away from 5th Ave to save money and get similar or better quality.

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martine. Super grandma
Business
Bracknell. England
Feb 25, 2014

Fantastic holiday for couples

Great time at this hotel it is nice and quiet in a very secure environment .ok people say that it is a little far from the beach ,it take about 15 minutes and it is a beautiful walk or you hire a bike from them and it's a 2 minutes ride to the beach which is a good exercise and they have special path for bikes.The hotel was very clean , the beds were perfect .if there was a problem in your room they dealt with it there and then ,they upgraded us Because the clim was not working well enough then the new room was just amazing .we have stayed in some of the best hotels in the area but we found this one the best because it was nice and quiet and yet very near playa del carmen town.we found our room always cleaned when we came back every day no matter what time we came back .In the hotels all inclusive you often find your room cleaned late when you come back or sometimes they turn your door sign to do not disturb so you are left with a room uncleaned So for us we really enjoyed our month holiday .we are ready to go back in about 3 months time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latino restaurant and Italian restaurant at Pakal entrance just a little stroll from the hotel

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CassieSml
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 30, 2012

It's worth it!!!

First thing is to RENT a car as the location is not easy to find and the taxi fares are ridiculous because they know you are a tourist. The property is not breathtaking, but it's nice and comfy. If you are a crowd lover this isn't the place for you. Overall you will have a great stay at this hotel, the staff are friendly and will go beyond to make your stay as memorable as possible. AVOID 5th avenue because it's too expensive:-) but again it's up to your pocket. Room type:Ambassador suite ( i was on my honeymoon)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go Visit Tulum on your own, don't pay $70 for excursions. Just take a bus going towards Tulum about $4 US the beach is gorgeous the water is crystal clear.

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaxman
Business
Carolina Beach, NC, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Four star hotel for 2 star price

Three old college friends had 2 rooms and we all felt that this was the best deal in town. About 1 mile from downtown Playa in a gated community. The Hacienda was a 4 star hotel for a 2 star price. The staff was exceptional and the location was fantastic. Not on the water, but on a golf course waterway. The breakfast ran till 11:00am and was on the order of a Sunday Buffett everyday. Perfect for us, we went downtown for diner and that was it. About a 15-20 minute walk. Very pleased and would highly recommend. I was worried that Playa had grown too much since last visit (15 years). Well, it has grown by about 500%, but still a very charming downtown with sidewalk resturants and great people watching all day and night. Not a Cancun/Ft Lauderdale mess. Thinking about a longer stay at the Hacienda next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
good experience overall
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Hacienda Vista Real review

We looked online to see how to get the best value for the price. For the most part, this hotel is a good value. The location was wonderful, close enough to walk to the beach and most of the downtown area. It is very private, safe, and quiet around the hotel. Also, it's not that far from popular tourist destinations such as Tulum, Cozumel, Coba, and Xcaret. We rented a car and drove ourselves around to the popular destinations, which was much cheaper than having to pay for a tour bus/guide. The hotel itself is nice...it has a swimming pool and the free breakfast buffet every morning is excellent with a very wide selection of food. The room was advertised as having a large TV in the living room, and the entertainment center was there, but there was no TV present--this was not a huge deal to us given the cable selection at the hotel is horribly lacking for english viewers (2 channels), but we weren't really there to watch television. However, I could see this being an issue for some visitors. The oven in our unit also did not work, which was disappointing given that we decided to purchase groceries for the trip. Also, small ants were a problem in the unit, particularly in the kitchen. These problems were reported to the front desk where no real effort made to resolve them over the course of our trip. The internet access was free. The staff was nice enough, however the language barrier became an issue at times. We do not recommend going to indigo beach, which is associated with the hotel. It is crowded and has many fishing boats docked on the shore which makes it unpleasant to swim. Also, it is a significant walk from the hotel, approximately 30 minutes. Instead, go to the dock that the Cozumel ferry leaves from, and walk down that beach heading north until you find a nice spot, it is all public beach and is much nicer than the hotel beach, with fewer people and no fishing boats to ruin your swim. Coba was our furthest destination, about an hour and 45 minutes away. Tulum was about 30 minutes away, and Xcaret was 15 minutes. Cancun airport is approximately 45 minutes from the hotel. Overall we had a great experience and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind a little walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, there is a reasonably priced restaurant called The Original Bistro at Playacar. It's right next to the OXXO convenience store. Their food was elegant, sophisticated, and delicious!

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, California, EEUU
Apr 5, 2012

my xperience

overall a good hotel, very quiet and clean, a little bit away from the accion, but i think its ok because you need relaxation after a long night of parting in playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverFamily
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Plenty of room - but a couple of detractions

We stayed for a week in a king suite which was a luxurious amount of room for our family. We enjoyed the four (four!) balconies looking out onto the pool and golf course. The daily breakfast spread was great and we really appreciated how they changed it up daily for some variety. The front-desk staff was always accommodating with our minor needs/questions, etc. There were a couple of areas where they fell down a bit though. First, though generally clean, there were a few things that were so dirty that we wondered what the staff was thinking. We had to clean the toilet paper cover because it just looked gross and we didn't want to see it that way for a week. The refrigerator shelves looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Lastly, though they provided dishes for our use, we had to ask for cleaning supplies to clean them since the staff doesn't clean them. Supplies should just be there if the staff doesn't wash the dishes. Every day they left only 4 towels for our family of 5, so I had to request an extra towel each day. Nothing earth-shattering, but attention to these details would have made the stay nicer. I would definitely still return. The walk into Playa was about 20 minutes, so just beware that it takes a while to get to/from town if you're not poppin' for a taxi all the time. P.S. Some nights we had a couple of small lizards on our ceiling. It added to the authenticity - they were gone by morning; no harm, no foul!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk to town is kind of long. You might be tempted to try to short-cut through the golf course, but I tried this a couple of times and it didn't go well OR shorten my walk!

Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValentineGirl
Business
Manhattan Beach, California
Apr 15, 2012

Good Value, Lots of Space for Family

We had a lovely room at Hacienda Vista Real - although one caution - we paid for Royal Suite and were placed in Ambassador Suite. The suite was huge with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The boys shared a room and agreed that they could share the large bed rather than each having his own as planned. The view from their balcony was a huge selling point for them as it over looked the pool. My husband and I shared the master bedroom which had two balconies. Breakfast each morning was good. And then our days were filled with much sightseeing. It was nice to return to the quiet hotel in the late afternoon / early evening. The boys would then play in the pool, which most evenings we had to ourselves. After a full day it was nice to return to our room and space for us all to spread out. Overall, the hotel shows wear, but it is clean, spacious and for the money it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top