$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Casa Melissa

3 stars
View map of Av. Juarez M1 LT4 Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
8 reviews
Great for families

Considering that you only need hotel to sleep, location and price can not be beaten here. This is... See full review

  • david c.
  • Jul 24, 2015
Best deal near 5th

Ok,I read many reviews on this hotel, some not so accurate. Some a matter of opinion. Lets start... See full review

  • ThomasLuz S.
  • May 7, 2015
With privilege location offer 33 comfortable, yet modern ocean view rooms in the hearth of Riviera Maya, only few steps away from the spectacular white sand beach and famous 5th Avenue of Playa del Carmen with wide range of restaurants, beach clubs, nightclubs and shopping.

Close to main attraction of Riviera Maya including:

  • Adventure

  • Ecological

  • Archeological

  • Fishing

  • Golfing tours


  • The maritime Terminal with daily ferries to Cozumel Island and Bus Terminal to Cancun and Chichen Itza are also a minute walking distance from Casa Melissa.

    Amenities - Dry Cleaning and Reception.

    Top hotels

    Casa Melissa Rooms

    Junior Suite Oceanfront
    Junior Suite Oceanfront offers:

  • One king bed

  • Air conditioning

  • Alarm clock

  • Balcony or Terrace

  • Bathroom amenities

  • Cable-Satellite TV

  • Ceiling fan

  • Color TV

  • En-suite or Private bathroom

  • Internet access (extra charge)

  • Iron and ironing board

  • Mini bar

  • Non-smoking rooms

  • Radio

  • Refrigerator

  • Shaver in bathroom

  • Tea and coffee making facilities


  • The room also provides partial ocean view, table with two chairs and closet.
    Standard Ocean View
    Standard Ocean View offers:

  • One king bed or two double beds

  • Air conditioning

  • Alarm clock

  • Balcony or Terrace

  • Bathroom amenities

  • Cable-Satellite TV

  • Ceiling fan

  • Color TV

  • En-suite or Private bathroom

  • Internet access (extra charge)

  • Iron and ironing board

  • Mini bar

  • Non-smoking rooms

  • Radio

  • Refrigerator

  • Shaver in bathroom

  • Tea and coffee making facilities


  • The room also provides partial ocean view, table with two chairs and closet.
    Standard Oceanfront Room
    Standard Oceanfront Room offers:

  • Two double beds

  • Air conditioning

  • Alarm clock

  • Balcony or Terrace

  • Bathroom amenities

  • Cable-Satellite TV

  • Ceiling fan

  • Color TV

  • En-suite or Private bathroom

  • Internet access (extra charge)

  • Iron and ironing board

  • Mini bar

  • Non-smoking rooms

  • Radio

  • Refrigerator

  • Shaver in bathroom

  • Tea and coffee making facilities


  • The room also provides closet.
    Studio Ocean View Room
    Studio Ocean View Room offers:

  • Two double beds and one sofa bed

  • Air conditioning

  • Alarm clock

  • Balcony or Terrace

  • Bathroom amenities

  • Cable-Satellite TV

  • Ceiling fan

  • Color TV

  • En-suite or Private bathroom

  • Internet access (extra charge)

  • Iron and ironing board

  • Mini bar

  • Non-smoking rooms

  • Radio

  • Refrigerator

  • Shaver in bathroom

  • Tea and coffee making facilities


  • The room also provides partial ocean view, table with two chairs and closet.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Services
    Childcare Service
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Casa Melissa

    Overall score

    4 / 5
    5.01.0
    8 out of 8
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.1

    88% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    shohreh
    Friends
    Washington DC
    Jan 7, 2013

    my stay at Casa Melissa

    I had a really good time. Our room was spacious and I loved the balcony. The staff was very nice and friendly. The location was just perfect and close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    We asked a very nice guy who was a friend of someone at the front desk with a taxi to drive us to places. We wvisited ruins, places of interest and a lovely quiet beach. we preferd that to crowded pre-arranged tours.

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Rosie M.
    Couples
    N/A
    Apr 9, 2015

    great time, great location

    The location couldn't be any better, right in the center of everything and hidden at the same time, we loved our stay (March 2014) we felt like the only people there but we did see a few other people staying there on our last days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    ThomasLuz S.
    Couples
    N/A
    May 7, 2015

    Best deal near 5th

    Ok,I read many reviews on this hotel, some not so accurate. Some a matter of opinion. Lets start with the location the hotel is a half block from 5th and the beach. It is located at the south end of 5th and one block from the ferry. Between the hotel and the ferry to Cozumel is a city park and local festivities. Mayan shows like dancing ect..and we loved it. The location is perfect having to never take a cab to 5th where all the restaurants, beach bars and shop are located, outstanding. As far as the hotel, it's a great value. the room we stayed in (354)had a beach view on our balcony. Small for a suite but sitting on the balcony was nice. There is a empty lot in front of the view but we could hear the waves from the beach and see Cozumel and all the cruise ships steaming by. Bed were firm but I like them firm. There are safes in the rooms and when we went to the beach and pool below, we had to pay a deposit for the towels..so what (300 peso's). Over all I give this stay a 4.5 out of 5. Quite and clean for the money. Tip for those that want to save some money . The hotel is ONE block from the ABO bus station. When exiting the airport , turn right and you'll see the ABO buses. It takes around one hour to the hotel in Playa and costs 10 bucks each one way. We also took the bus to Cancun and a cab to Isle Mujeres. Cabs are 120.00. There are vans that located three blocks from the hotel and run everywhere for 2.00 up to 30 miles Enjoy!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    david c.
    Family
    ZAPOPAN
    Jul 24, 2015

    Great for families

    Considering that you only need hotel to sleep, location and price can not be beaten here. This is a gem inside the area, clean, friendly staff, secure. Pool is small, but who needs it having the beach a few steps away? then one block from there you can take a first class bus to take you wherever you like to go. Look for it! wont regret at all.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Didnot
    Single
    UK
    Sep 2, 2013

    Not bad

    The room was very clean and looked almost new throughout. The ocean view was ok, the hotel isn't on the beach and there are trees partially obstructing the view. The hotel is really convenient for the bus station, less than two minutes walk. It is far enough from the bars to remain peaceful, but it's close enough to be accessible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Single

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Snowgoer
    Couples
    Renton
    Jan 14, 2015

    Short stay in Playa del Carmen

    We stayed at Casa Melissa for a couple nights during our trip. Location wise this place is great. Right on the Quinta Avenida and close to plenty to do, right by the ferry, food, shopping, and anything else you'd come to Playa to do or see. The only thing that's a pain about it is the parking. They have a deal with a lot off site where you can get a discount, but it's still 100 pesos for 24 hours and it's 5 or 6 blocks away. Not the most convenient, but it worked out ok. If you're traveling without a car, that won't matter anyways. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. I'd stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Jaymie T.
    Couples
    Boston, MA
    Mar 16, 2014

    Great for the price!

    The good: A balcony with an ocean view, really nice beach towels available for 300 pesos deposit, the price, proximity to everything The bad: A vacant lot between the hotel and beach; bed very hard, maid didn't speak any english (I suggest learning the words for "please come back (later, in one hour, etc.)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Casa Melissa

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Eunbit
    Couples
    Cypress, CA
    Oct 23, 2013

    Worst Hotel Ever!!!

    I was initially supposed to stay 4 nights, but I'm glad I only stayed 2 nights. Actually I wish I did not stay at all. Anyway, first of all, check in was horrible. It took forever to get a room. And they kept on saying that they did not have the room we reserved available. Which makes no sense, because most of the rooms were empty at the time. Once I got a room, about 1 hr of arguing, I went in and turned on the shower. The water pressure was ridiculous. It was just dripping from the showerhead. I could not even wash my hands. And then after complaining they kept on saying they cant do anything about it because everyone is gone and they cannot change the room for me. We had to wait until tomorrow. Which we obviously did not wait and demanded a new room until he finally gave us one after about 2 hrs of arguing. He did not even say sorry or anything and just gave a lot of attitude towards us. Then we got into the new room, the shower worked, but the drain did not work well. And also pillows and bed sheets had yellow and brown spots all over them. This is crazy! We will never stay again and we highly urge others not to stay there!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Back to menu Return to top