$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

3 stars
5th Avenue And 12th Street, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
47 reviews
great location

The blue parrot 5th ave was in a perfect location. The room was very clean and a nice size. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2008
great location

The blue parrot 5th ave was in a perfect location. The room was very clean and a nice size. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2008
Two different hotels, one name: Blue Parrot. Located in the middle of the action in Playa del Carmen, with a unique and famous Blue Parrot Beach Club, these two Boutique Style hotels are very close to each other with different type of amenities, each one with its own charm.

BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE. Opened in July, 2005, the Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue is the newest addition to the Blue Parrot family of unique boutique properties. Located at the epicenter of Playa del Carmen's hip and picturesque 5th Avenue, the newest boutique puts you steps from the best shopping, dining and clubbing that the town has to offer. Not to mention being just a short walk from the white sand beach of the Blue Parrot Beach Club. (VIP access included for all hotel guests!)The Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue serves up contemporary style throughout seventeen cozy studios and one suite, all tucked away in a very private courtyard adjoining the restaurant Playasia. No pool.

BLUE PARROT SUITES. The Blue Parrot Suites--located about 50 meters from the beach--features 22 units in a variety of creative room configurations, including one and two bedrooms, deluxe and courtyard suites. Set in a lushly landscaped private courtyard and pool, the architecture of the Blue Parrot Suites follows the trendsetting lines of the original Blue Parrot Hotel, with the addition of larger, custom-designed interiors featuring Tommy Bahama furniture, Potter Barn bathrooms and fully appointed kitchenettes.

Way back in 1998, Newsweek magazine named the Blue Parrot Beach Club "one of the ten best bars in the world." Since then, things have only gotten better. As a hotel guest, there's one very important thing that you need to know about the Blue Parrot Beach Club; participation is optional. In other words, it is far enough away from the hotels that it won't disturb you--if you're not in the mood for nightlife. During the day, enjoy the beachfront lounge chairs complete with umbrellas and soak up the sun and sea while our daytime DJ guides you through a gentle sensual journey. There's no need to go anywhere else. We offer full service food and beverage from 7:30 AM. until 6:00 P.M.Come nightfall, the Beach Club undergoes a magical transformation as top international DJ's deliver an eclectic mix of music in three different environments. The beach dance floor tends to feature more pop and retro, while the Palapa Lounge offers the progressive dance mix that the Latin American and European customers tend to prefer. For a more relaxed chill out vibe, the palapa-covered sky bar offers dramatic overviews of the Caribbean and the beachfront dance floor.

Hotel Map

20.628 -87.0698
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
BLUE PARROT 5th AVENUE. Located at the epicenter of Playa del Carmen's hip and picturesque 5th Avenue, our newest boutique puts you steps from the best shopping, dining and clubbing that the town has to offer. Not to mention being just a short walk from the white sand beach of the Blue Parrot Beach Club. (VIP access included for all hotel guests!). BLUE PARROT SUITES. Since its founding in 1984 as one of Playa's original hotel and beach clubs, the Blue Parrot has been synonymous with the Playa Del Carmen beach experience for hundreds of thousands of guests from around the world.

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites Rooms

Studio
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Top floor Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
One Bedroom Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen + 1 sofa bed : Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue SUITE
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers Room offers 1 King + 1 Sofa bed with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee, an assortment of herbal teas and bottled water.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue STUDIO
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers 1 King or 2 Double beds with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee and bottled water.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 47
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uieluck
Denver, CO
Mar 6, 2010

Misrepresentation Not Tropical Paradise

If you are looking for a place to party while basically sleeping in a night club good news: THIS IS THE PLACE! It is located right in thump, thump, thump-land. However, the worst part is the misrepresentation of the pictures throughout the web. Just beware when booking and make sure not to stay at the 5th Ave location, actually don't stay at either. And something to make clear,,,, there is NO pool. Friday and Saturday night prepare your earplugs to be inserted at 4am as you try and sleep on concrete, oops I mean their bed(s). No wonder there are massage parlors every 20ft. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Culture Seeker
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2010

Location Isn't Everything

Here is what I was told about Playa del Carmen, "it is a beautiful place with tons of shopping, dining, and nIghtlife." It's all true. There were so many things to do and so little time! So the big question is, why did i rate them so low? Well the truth is, the city is wonderful, but the hotel was sub par. When we first checked in our plan was to drop off our bags and head straight to the beach. During our walk we were delighted to see so many clubs and restaurants right next to the the beach. After a few moments in the sun, we headed straight to the most popular restaurant on the "strip." The food was good there and we were hoping that this was a sign that the next few days will be even better. We were wrong. As we arrive back to the hotel we notice that the room has the aroma of mildew. The cause? Not the relative humidity, but a leak in the roof. When we asked to have things taken care of, they just sent someone in to clean the water. Considering it was during the holidays, another room was not possible. So, we just laid out some towels to prevent the water from pooling and we figure that no more rain is in sight and this is Mexico (nothing but sun, sand and relaxation). We put that behind us and that night we tried to sleep. It didn't happen. We were kept up all night by the refridgerator, which was so noisy that it was actaully louder than the noise that all of the nighclubs' speakers put together. Upon our waking we also notice a few more things. There were rust stains on the sheets and they only have the sheets replaced three times a week. Luckily there is a supermarket four blocks away! We stocked up on disinfectant and tried to just focus on the vacation we were on. Playa del Carmen is still awesome to go visit, but i will never stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the heart of the shopping district and a two block walk to several of the biggest and most popular nightclubs in Playa del Carmen. The downside is that if you are looking for a quiet location, this is definitely not it. The party doesn't end until about six am, EVERY night.

Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Independent Traveller
NY
Jan 2, 2011

Horrific

Room had mold in it, causing us both serious breathing issues. Hotel was unable or unwilling to change rooms. We left and paid for a second hotel out of our own pocket. Less serious, but potentially annoying was a pounding level of noise in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Independent Traveller
NY
Jan 2, 2011

Horrific

Room had mold in it, causing us both serious breathing issues. Hotel was unable or unwilling to change rooms. We left and paid for a second hotel out of our own pocket. Less serious, but potentially annoying was a pounding level of noise in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uieluck
Denver, CO
Mar 6, 2010

Misrepresentation Not Tropical Paradise

If you are looking for a place to party while basically sleeping in a night club good news: THIS IS THE PLACE! It is located right in thump, thump, thump-land. However, the worst part is the misrepresentation of the pictures throughout the web. Just beware when booking and make sure not to stay at the 5th Ave location, actually don't stay at either. And something to make clear,,,, there is NO pool. Friday and Saturday night prepare your earplugs to be inserted at 4am as you try and sleep on concrete, oops I mean their bed(s). No wonder there are massage parlors every 20ft. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Culture Seeker
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2010

Location Isn't Everything

Here is what I was told about Playa del Carmen, "it is a beautiful place with tons of shopping, dining, and nIghtlife." It's all true. There were so many things to do and so little time! So the big question is, why did i rate them so low? Well the truth is, the city is wonderful, but the hotel was sub par. When we first checked in our plan was to drop off our bags and head straight to the beach. During our walk we were delighted to see so many clubs and restaurants right next to the the beach. After a few moments in the sun, we headed straight to the most popular restaurant on the "strip." The food was good there and we were hoping that this was a sign that the next few days will be even better. We were wrong. As we arrive back to the hotel we notice that the room has the aroma of mildew. The cause? Not the relative humidity, but a leak in the roof. When we asked to have things taken care of, they just sent someone in to clean the water. Considering it was during the holidays, another room was not possible. So, we just laid out some towels to prevent the water from pooling and we figure that no more rain is in sight and this is Mexico (nothing but sun, sand and relaxation). We put that behind us and that night we tried to sleep. It didn't happen. We were kept up all night by the refridgerator, which was so noisy that it was actaully louder than the noise that all of the nighclubs' speakers put together. Upon our waking we also notice a few more things. There were rust stains on the sheets and they only have the sheets replaced three times a week. Luckily there is a supermarket four blocks away! We stocked up on disinfectant and tried to just focus on the vacation we were on. Playa del Carmen is still awesome to go visit, but i will never stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the heart of the shopping district and a two block walk to several of the biggest and most popular nightclubs in Playa del Carmen. The downside is that if you are looking for a quiet location, this is definitely not it. The party doesn't end until about six am, EVERY night.

Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weaver611
Blountville, TN
Dec 29, 2010

Good location

The location was very good but the street noise (loud music until 4:30am)was horrible. The room was fairly clean. Check-in/check-out, receiving towels, getting room cleaned, etc were difficult due to staff not speaking english. We were on the third floor. There isn't an elevator so be ready to climb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to shopping, dining, etc.

Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 6, 2008

a place to crash....

I have to admit I stayed at an amazing place in the jungle of Talum for 4 days first La Selva Miraposa so the Blue Parrot Suites paled in comparison to start. The security guard couldn't get our door open so we had to wait for them to repair the lock. A studio which was fine. The bathroom is a 1 person only very small, shower only. The bed and pillows are super hard I still have a neck ache! The maid came and only made the bed! They didn't clean up the sink area or leave new towels! We had to ask for towels to be brought up. The hotel is not on the beach and you can't see it from the hotel maybe if you get one of the top floor palapa rooms. The free breakfast is white toast and fruit with either a mini glass of juice or coffee. the staff at the beach club are very nice! Playasia restaurant was ok. We ordered the coconut shrimp for $20 you get 4 shrimp no side dish and it was very salty. We found out from the awesome diving guys that you could take the bus that goes straight to the airport for $8!! Pool is ok filled with kids every day, surrounded by all the rooms. Oh yeah also our cold water was turned off mid shower! and when we had a do not disturb sign on the door a messenger was banging on it to give us a note, luckily we were walking up to the room not sleeping at the time! The plus's its close to the beach,restaurants, & shopping. Just out of ears way of all the party noise. If you just want a place to store your stuff and sleep it will be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went snorkeling with Reef quest divers through the blue parrot and they are great! Definitely go snorkeling!

Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 6, 2008

a place to crash....

I have to admit I stayed at an amazing place in the jungle of Talum for 4 days first La Selva Miraposa so the Blue Parrot Suites paled in comparison to start. The security guard couldn't get our door open so we had to wait for them to repair the lock. A studio which was fine. The bathroom is a 1 person only very small, shower only. The bed and pillows are super hard I still have a neck ache! The maid came and only made the bed! They didn't clean up the sink area or leave new towels! We had to ask for towels to be brought up. The hotel is not on the beach and you can't see it from the hotel maybe if you get one of the top floor palapa rooms. The free breakfast is white toast and fruit with either a mini glass of juice or coffee. the staff at the beach club are very nice! Playasia restaurant was ok. We ordered the coconut shrimp for $20 you get 4 shrimp no side dish and it was very salty. We found out from the awesome diving guys that you could take the bus that goes straight to the airport for $8!! Pool is ok filled with kids every day, surrounded by all the rooms. Oh yeah also our cold water was turned off mid shower! and when we had a do not disturb sign on the door a messenger was banging on it to give us a note, luckily we were walking up to the room not sleeping at the time! The plus's its close to the beach,restaurants, & shopping. Just out of ears way of all the party noise. If you just want a place to store your stuff and sleep it will be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went snorkeling with Reef quest divers through the blue parrot and they are great! Definitely go snorkeling!

Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
javy71
san antonio, tx
Mar 3, 2014

perfect spot if you love partying and not sleeping at night

Everything was great except that is surrounded by clubs.did not sleep at all our first night here,very loud music kept us up all night until 7:00 am the following morning.we ended up sleeping with earplugs for the next 7 nights,very uncomfortable.breakfast and beach club are not available like post it on our itenerary.if you come to playa del carmen to relax this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Theres a plaza on juarez and 15 avenue where you can eat tacos,tortas and burritos for about 3 dollars a person including a drink,very tasty too.

Back to menu Return to top