$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

3 stars
5th Avenue And 12th Street, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
28 reviews
great location

The blue parrot 5th ave was in a perfect location. The room was very clean and a nice size. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2008
Excellent Experience

The location was excellent, me and my friends went to Playa del Carmen simply because we want to... See full review

  • Danilo G
  • Jun 8, 2012
Two different hotels, one name: Blue Parrot. Located in the middle of the action in Playa del Carmen, with a unique and famous Blue Parrot Beach Club, these two Boutique Style hotels are very close to each other with different type of amenities, each one with its own charm.

BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE. Opened in July, 2005, the Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue is the newest addition to the Blue Parrot family of unique boutique properties. Located at the epicenter of Playa del Carmen's hip and picturesque 5th Avenue, the newest boutique puts you steps from the best shopping, dining and clubbing that the town has to offer. Not to mention being just a short walk from the white sand beach of the Blue Parrot Beach Club. (VIP access included for all hotel guests!)The Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue serves up contemporary style throughout seventeen cozy studios and one suite, all tucked away in a very private courtyard adjoining the restaurant Playasia. No pool.

BLUE PARROT SUITES. The Blue Parrot Suites--located about 50 meters from the beach--features 22 units in a variety of creative room configurations, including one and two bedrooms, deluxe and courtyard suites. Set in a lushly landscaped private courtyard and pool, the architecture of the Blue Parrot Suites follows the trendsetting lines of the original Blue Parrot Hotel, with the addition of larger, custom-designed interiors featuring Tommy Bahama furniture, Potter Barn bathrooms and fully appointed kitchenettes.

Way back in 1998, Newsweek magazine named the Blue Parrot Beach Club "one of the ten best bars in the world." Since then, things have only gotten better. As a hotel guest, there's one very important thing that you need to know about the Blue Parrot Beach Club; participation is optional. In other words, it is far enough away from the hotels that it won't disturb you--if you're not in the mood for nightlife. During the day, enjoy the beachfront lounge chairs complete with umbrellas and soak up the sun and sea while our daytime DJ guides you through a gentle sensual journey. There's no need to go anywhere else. We offer full service food and beverage from 7:30 AM. until 6:00 P.M.Come nightfall, the Beach Club undergoes a magical transformation as top international DJ's deliver an eclectic mix of music in three different environments. The beach dance floor tends to feature more pop and retro, while the Palapa Lounge offers the progressive dance mix that the Latin American and European customers tend to prefer. For a more relaxed chill out vibe, the palapa-covered sky bar offers dramatic overviews of the Caribbean and the beachfront dance floor.

Hotel Map

20.628 -87.0698
Area served
Playa del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
BLUE PARROT 5th AVENUE. Located at the epicenter of Playa del Carmen's hip and picturesque 5th Avenue, our newest boutique puts you steps from the best shopping, dining and clubbing that the town has to offer. Not to mention being just a short walk from the white sand beach of the Blue Parrot Beach Club. (VIP access included for all hotel guests!). BLUE PARROT SUITES. Since its founding in 1984 as one of Playa's original hotel and beach clubs, the Blue Parrot has been synonymous with the Playa Del Carmen beach experience for hundreds of thousands of guests from around the world.

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites Rooms

Studio
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Top floor Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
One Bedroom Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen + 1 sofa bed : Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue SUITE
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers Room offers 1 King + 1 Sofa bed with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee, an assortment of herbal teas and bottled water.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue STUDIO
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers 1 King or 2 Double beds with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee and bottled water.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexicali, Mexico
Jan 10, 2011

Not good option for Family trip

The Rooms are ok, clean, A/C and TV with Cable. Good location just at 5th avenue. The only problem is that this should be used only for travelers who go to bed at 5:00 a.m., that means all night party.... The Hotel is too noisy all the night until 6:00 a.m. becaus there are al lot of night clubs arour there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 27, 2010

Located in the heart of everything.

I stayed 5 days at the Blue Parrot 5th Ave, the staff were very courteous. I checked into the wrong hotel, the Blue Parrot Beach, and they kindly escorted me into their 5th Avenue hotel, both hotels are literally a couple hundred feet from each other. The staff would call the tour companies upon my request, to confirm my tours, and wake me up when I'm late for a tour (that happened twice), and when I ordered dinner from their beautiful restaurant downstairs, I'd go back upstairs to change and get ready for the night scene, and the staff would call me when my food was ready. Had a nice king sized bed, towels, bottled water, and soap are replaced daily and without me asking. A/C was strong, but shower was weak and would run out of hot water after prolonged use. I imagine that might become a nuisance to female guests. Also the room safe was broken, and there was a hole in the blinds so people outside could peek into the room. I stuffed a sock to plug the hole, problem solved. I don't let minor details like that get in the way of my vacation. Okay, it is extremely loud on the weekends, since both hotels are located within the vicinity of like a dozen bars and clubs, and the party goes til 5am, so unless you are here for the party and fun and don't plan to go to bed before 3am, you might want to check into a hotel that's a bit farther from the club scene. It's perfect for singles and friends that plan to do a lot of partying because the hotel is literally in the middle of everything. There are dozens of restaurants and shops spanning either direction as soon as you step outside the hotel, and I already mentioned the clubs. The beach is a 2 min walk, and free beach towels and lounge chairs come with your stay at the Blue Parrot. You also get free access to their club at night, everyone else has to pay like 15, 20 bucks to get in, so like I said, if you do a lot of partying like I did, this place is pretty awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The exchange rate stands at 13.5 to 13.7 pesos to 1 dollar, so please, do not exchange your money at the currency exchange shops, where it's at best 11.7 to 1. Dollars are accepted everywhere too, but know that it's highway robbery, since the standard conversion on the street is 10 to 1, so don't use dollars to shop. Instead, go to an ATM that dispenses pesos, and you will get anywhere between 13.5 to 13.7 for your dollar. That's a 35% increase in the buying power of your dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rokkanlover
Mexico
Sep 5, 2014

Excellent for young party people

At the middle of 5th Avenue, one block from clubs, restaurants, bars, shops, great for young people who wants to party their brains out! all day, all night long, any day a week. Not good for families though, very noisy all the time. If you need a cheap and OK place to stay and sleep, this will be a good option. I don´t complain at all, my plan was to getaway and party so, if thats what you want.. also if you take tours to all attractions of the Rivera Maya, shuttles stops just a block and a half from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mandala, Coco Bongo, La Vaquita.. just 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FDLT
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2014

In the middle of the action

Perfect for party goers. One block from all nightclubs. You can hear the noise from the clubs up to 5am. This hotel on 5th. Street is no longer related to the suites with the same name in front of the beach. Therefore no access to beach, or pool amenities. This hotel is good for when on a budget and interested in partying until late. That is all. Rooms are outdated and the TV from last generation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Mar 8, 2010

Good location, reasonable price

It was only a short walk to the beach area where they served daily breakfast with a breathtaking view. We stayed at the extension on the main walking strip and it was very convenient for night life, but not too noisy. The mattresses were a bit hard but the room was clean with good service. Security was good (we felt safe). A good place to stay if you're on the go since there is not really a view. We were satisfied with our 4-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ramana
Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico
May 4, 2011

Good location and Real jungle

The location of the hotel is good, the concept of jungle is well maintained to appear like one is in real jungle no one there to attend except a watchman. There is no maintenance and no parking. it is quite tense if you come with a vehicle as the vehicle shall strand on the public road for the total night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Playa del Carmen
Jan 15, 2011

The good and bad

The hotel is noisy. In the beach club, you are obligate to tip every time and if you don't do it, the people really get mad. Also the beach club is very noisy because electronic music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Mar 3, 2010

great location

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBravo
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2011

Right off the strip

If you want to party, this is a good spot to stay. It's not in the midst of the craziness, but just a block away. If you do not want to party the night away, its just loud enough where it could disturb your rest IF you don't come from a noisy city. The breakfast is included and the staff are very friendly. They do provide beach towels and a place to rest. I had no problems at all and I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you wish to try Mexican food, my recommendation would be to walk on 2nd street above 10th Avenue,and explore. The food will be cheaper and the staff friendly/kind. With most things, if they haggle to get you in, it's not local. Saying that though, the dining experience, even on the strip, was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue & Blue Parrot Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B around the world
Mexico
Nov 15, 2010

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

It's a nice hotel, very neat and they have nice service but you can hear all the noise from the clubs and restaurants at night so you`ll probably stay late as well.It does not have a pool but you'll have the sea a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search