$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

3 stars
View map of 5th Avenue And 12th Street, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FDLT
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 2, 2014

In the middle of the action

Perfect for party goers. One block from all nightclubs. You can hear the noise from the clubs up to 5am. This hotel on 5th. Street is no longer related to the suites with the same name in front of the beach. Therefore no access to beach, or pool amenities. This hotel is good for when on a budget and interested in partying until late. That is all. Rooms are outdated and the TV from last generation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York
Dec 27, 2010

Located in the heart of everything.

I stayed 5 days at the Blue Parrot 5th Ave, the staff were very courteous. I checked into the wrong hotel, the Blue Parrot Beach, and they kindly escorted me into their 5th Avenue hotel, both hotels are literally a couple hundred feet from each other. The staff would call the tour companies upon my request, to confirm my tours, and wake me up when I'm late for a tour (that happened twice), and when I ordered dinner from their beautiful restaurant downstairs, I'd go back upstairs to change and get ready for the night scene, and the staff would call me when my food was ready. Had a nice king sized bed, towels, bottled water, and soap are replaced daily and without me asking. A/C was strong, but shower was weak and would run out of hot water after prolonged use. I imagine that might become a nuisance to female guests. Also the room safe was broken, and there was a hole in the blinds so people outside could peek into the room. I stuffed a sock to plug the hole, problem solved. I don't let minor details like that get in the way of my vacation. Okay, it is extremely loud on the weekends, since both hotels are located within the vicinity of like a dozen bars and clubs, and the party goes til 5am, so unless you are here for the party and fun and don't plan to go to bed before 3am, you might want to check into a hotel that's a bit farther from the club scene. It's perfect for singles and friends that plan to do a lot of partying because the hotel is literally in the middle of everything. There are dozens of restaurants and shops spanning either direction as soon as you step outside the hotel, and I already mentioned the clubs. The beach is a 2 min walk, and free beach towels and lounge chairs come with your stay at the Blue Parrot. You also get free access to their club at night, everyone else has to pay like 15, 20 bucks to get in, so like I said, if you do a lot of partying like I did, this place is pretty awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The exchange rate stands at 13.5 to 13.7 pesos to 1 dollar, so please, do not exchange your money at the currency exchange shops, where it's at best 11.7 to 1. Dollars are accepted everywhere too, but know that it's highway robbery, since the standard conversion on the street is 10 to 1, so don't use dollars to shop. Instead, go to an ATM that dispenses pesos, and you will get anywhere between 13.5 to 13.7 for your dollar. That's a 35% increase in the buying power of your dollar.

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBravo
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2011

Right off the strip

If you want to party, this is a good spot to stay. It's not in the midst of the craziness, but just a block away. If you do not want to party the night away, its just loud enough where it could disturb your rest IF you don't come from a noisy city. The breakfast is included and the staff are very friendly. They do provide beach towels and a place to rest. I had no problems at all and I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you wish to try Mexican food, my recommendation would be to walk on 2nd street above 10th Avenue,and explore. The food will be cheaper and the staff friendly/kind. With most things, if they haggle to get you in, it's not local. Saying that though, the dining experience, even on the strip, was good.

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B around the world
Family
Mexico
Nov 15, 2010

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

It's a nice hotel, very neat and they have nice service but you can hear all the noise from the clubs and restaurants at night so you`ll probably stay late as well.It does not have a pool but you'll have the sea a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Playa del Carmen
Jan 15, 2011

The good and bad

The hotel is noisy. In the beach club, you are obligate to tip every time and if you don't do it, the people really get mad. Also the beach club is very noisy because electronic music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Dallas, Texas
Mar 3, 2010

great location

Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
California
Mar 8, 2010

Good location, reasonable price

It was only a short walk to the beach area where they served daily breakfast with a breathtaking view. We stayed at the extension on the main walking strip and it was very convenient for night life, but not too noisy. The mattresses were a bit hard but the room was clean with good service. Security was good (we felt safe). A good place to stay if you're on the go since there is not really a view. We were satisfied with our 4-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rokkanlover
Friends
Mexico
Sep 5, 2014

Excellent for young party people

At the middle of 5th Avenue, one block from clubs, restaurants, bars, shops, great for young people who wants to party their brains out! all day, all night long, any day a week. Not good for families though, very noisy all the time. If you need a cheap and OK place to stay and sleep, this will be a good option. I don´t complain at all, my plan was to getaway and party so, if thats what you want.. also if you take tours to all attractions of the Rivera Maya, shuttles stops just a block and a half from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mandala, Coco Bongo, La Vaquita.. just 2 minutes away.

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nella
Friends
washington
Jul 9, 2015

Long weekend trip

I traveled with 2 friends for the long weekend The hotel was simple and basic, enough for a short stay and if you plan to stay out side all day The staff was friendly help us book a tour to chichen itza at a really good price They lend you towels for the beach, but they are not related to the blue parrot disco and beach club as it says on the add. Has a really good location though, right in the middle of everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danilo G
Friends
Yuma, Arizona
Jun 8, 2012

Excellent Experience

The location was excellent, me and my friends went to Playa del Carmen simply because we want to party at night and relax at the beach durging the day. This place have both things, its only a few feets from the beach and around ther corner of all the best bars and dance clubs in Playa del Carmen. The hotel was great, we were 6 friends and stay at 2 suits that connected thru a third floor terrace, it was awsome.. I reccommend this hotel!! and the price for the hotel plus car... it was the best price in all the web....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must thy the pizza...

Back to menu Return to top