$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

3 stars
5th Avenue And 12th Street, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
28 reviews
great location

The blue parrot 5th ave was in a perfect location. The room was very clean and a nice size. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2008
Excellent Experience

The location was excellent, me and my friends went to Playa del Carmen simply because we want to... See full review

  • Danilo G
  • Jun 8, 2012
Two different hotels, one name: Blue Parrot. Located in the middle of the action in Playa del Carmen, with a unique and famous Blue Parrot Beach Club, these two Boutique Style hotels are very close to each other with different type of amenities, each one with its own charm.

BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE. Opened in July, 2005, the Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue is the newest addition to the Blue Parrot family of unique boutique properties. Located at the epicenter of Playa del Carmen's hip and picturesque 5th Avenue, the newest boutique puts you steps from the best shopping, dining and clubbing that the town has to offer. Not to mention being just a short walk from the white sand beach of the Blue Parrot Beach Club. (VIP access included for all hotel guests!)The Blue Parrot Hotel 5th Avenue serves up contemporary style throughout seventeen cozy studios and one suite, all tucked away in a very private courtyard adjoining the restaurant Playasia. No pool.

BLUE PARROT SUITES. The Blue Parrot Suites--located about 50 meters from the beach--features 22 units in a variety of creative room configurations, including one and two bedrooms, deluxe and courtyard suites. Set in a lushly landscaped private courtyard and pool, the architecture of the Blue Parrot Suites follows the trendsetting lines of the original Blue Parrot Hotel, with the addition of larger, custom-designed interiors featuring Tommy Bahama furniture, Potter Barn bathrooms and fully appointed kitchenettes.

Way back in 1998, Newsweek magazine named the Blue Parrot Beach Club "one of the ten best bars in the world." Since then, things have only gotten better. As a hotel guest, there's one very important thing that you need to know about the Blue Parrot Beach Club; participation is optional. In other words, it is far enough away from the hotels that it won't disturb you--if you're not in the mood for nightlife. During the day, enjoy the beachfront lounge chairs complete with umbrellas and soak up the sun and sea while our daytime DJ guides you through a gentle sensual journey. There's no need to go anywhere else. We offer full service food and beverage from 7:30 AM. until 6:00 P.M.Come nightfall, the Beach Club undergoes a magical transformation as top international DJ's deliver an eclectic mix of music in three different environments. The beach dance floor tends to feature more pop and retro, while the Palapa Lounge offers the progressive dance mix that the Latin American and European customers tend to prefer. For a more relaxed chill out vibe, the palapa-covered sky bar offers dramatic overviews of the Caribbean and the beachfront dance floor.

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Rooms

Studio
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Top floor Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen bed with Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
One Bedroom Suite
Located in BLUE PARROT SUITES HOTEL this room type offers 1 Queen + 1 sofa bed : Climate Control A/C, Sony Flat screen TV's w/ cable, CD/DVD players, telephones, mini bar, in-room safes, bathrobes, Iron, small kitchen appliances and Blue Parrot Welcome Basket.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue SUITE
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers Room offers 1 King + 1 Sofa bed with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee, an assortment of herbal teas and bottled water.
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue STUDIO
Located in BLUE PARROT 5TH AVENUE HOTEL this room type offers 1 King or 2 Double beds with A/C, cable TV, Sony CD/Alarm clock radio, telephone, hair dryer, in-room safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, vanity mirror, coffee maker, and a "Blue Parrot Signature Welcome Basket" of coffee and bottled water.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 28
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rokkanlover
Business
Mexico
Sep 5, 2014

Excellent for young party people

At the middle of 5th Avenue, one block from clubs, restaurants, bars, shops, great for young people who wants to party their brains out! all day, all night long, any day a week. Not good for families though, very noisy all the time. If you need a cheap and OK place to stay and sleep, this will be a good option. I don´t complain at all, my plan was to getaway and party so, if thats what you want.. also if you take tours to all attractions of the Rivera Maya, shuttles stops just a block and a half from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mandala, Coco Bongo, La Vaquita.. just 2 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Supertravelerin
Business
Montreal , Quebec
Feb 5, 2014

maintenance need it 'But very nice place'

We supost to have the breakfast and and the Acces to the Beach Pass and the staff where not aware of it and it was not truth :( they acomedate with the breakfast but is a not fun to have a discussion for what is offering to you on the site. Besides that the stuff where very friendly and able to solve it but not beach club it all. Some of the pictures doesn't Mach with the hotels :( so you don't know where you staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't have any problem with the noise of the clubs which are a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danilo G
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Jun 8, 2012

Excellent Experience

The location was excellent, me and my friends went to Playa del Carmen simply because we want to party at night and relax at the beach durging the day. This place have both things, its only a few feets from the beach and around ther corner of all the best bars and dance clubs in Playa del Carmen. The hotel was great, we were 6 friends and stay at 2 suits that connected thru a third floor terrace, it was awsome.. I reccommend this hotel!! and the price for the hotel plus car... it was the best price in all the web....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must thy the pizza...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AustinTexas5555
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 24, 2012

It was OK, the air conditioner worked well!!

The hotel was ok. The picture that is used on the site is of a higher class of rooms at another location. The hotel is in two buildings one is suites the other just a building with rooms. The main office is at the blue parrot club on the. beach, but the actual rooms are each 2 blocks in different directions. Ours was directly on 5th avenue, about 2 1/2 blocks from the beach. Our friends got a different room at the condo units for a substantial amount more for the stay. The room was basic... shower was in a corner of the room behind a curved wall. We had a king bed that was very firm. the safe was not operational, someone had removed the locking mechanism so we just hid out things in the room. Overall the room was fine, we only were in it at night to sleep, and the AC, which we couldnt not adjust, was nice and cool. The breakfast is a bit sparse as well, you get a few slices of fruit and coffee. If you want more you must pay; eggs, bacon, etc. For the price, and the location it is a reasonable deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Lobster Restaurant just around the corner was fantastic (if you like rock lobster). You were able to select the tail you wanted from an iced area with tails up to three pounds. I have only seen larger lobster tails in cuba, so i doubt these were from the over fished areas near playa. In turn, they do cost a bit; my huge one pound tail was around $65 usd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBravo
Business
New York, NY
Mar 15, 2011

Right off the strip

If you want to party, this is a good spot to stay. It's not in the midst of the craziness, but just a block away. If you do not want to party the night away, its just loud enough where it could disturb your rest IF you don't come from a noisy city. The breakfast is included and the staff are very friendly. They do provide beach towels and a place to rest. I had no problems at all and I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you wish to try Mexican food, my recommendation would be to walk on 2nd street above 10th Avenue,and explore. The food will be cheaper and the staff friendly/kind. With most things, if they haggle to get you in, it's not local. Saying that though, the dining experience, even on the strip, was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jan 15, 2011

The good and bad

The hotel is noisy. In the beach club, you are obligate to tip every time and if you don't do it, the people really get mad. Also the beach club is very noisy because electronic music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexicali, Mexico
Jan 10, 2011

Not good option for Family trip

The Rooms are ok, clean, A/C and TV with Cable. Good location just at 5th avenue. The only problem is that this should be used only for travelers who go to bed at 5:00 a.m., that means all night party.... The Hotel is too noisy all the night until 6:00 a.m. becaus there are al lot of night clubs arour there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 8, 2009

"you get what u pay for"

great location in the heart of 5th ave and all the night clubs, but the service was horrible. our a/c did not work the entire stay nor did our phone. we had to walk to the reception area everytime we needed to make a call. they refused to change our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top