$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

3 stars
View map of 5th Avenue And 12th Street, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jan 15, 2011

The good and bad

The hotel is noisy. In the beach club, you are obligate to tip every time and if you don't do it, the people really get mad. Also the beach club is very noisy because electronic music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexicali, Mexico
Jan 10, 2011

Not good option for Family trip

The Rooms are ok, clean, A/C and TV with Cable. Good location just at 5th avenue. The only problem is that this should be used only for travelers who go to bed at 5:00 a.m., that means all night party.... The Hotel is too noisy all the night until 6:00 a.m. becaus there are al lot of night clubs arour there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Independent Traveller
Business
NY
Jan 2, 2011

Horrific

Room had mold in it, causing us both serious breathing issues. Hotel was unable or unwilling to change rooms. We left and paid for a second hotel out of our own pocket. Less serious, but potentially annoying was a pounding level of noise in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Culture Seeker
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2010

Location Isn't Everything

Here is what I was told about Playa del Carmen, "it is a beautiful place with tons of shopping, dining, and nIghtlife." It's all true. There were so many things to do and so little time! So the big question is, why did i rate them so low? Well the truth is, the city is wonderful, but the hotel was sub par. When we first checked in our plan was to drop off our bags and head straight to the beach. During our walk we were delighted to see so many clubs and restaurants right next to the the beach. After a few moments in the sun, we headed straight to the most popular restaurant on the "strip." The food was good there and we were hoping that this was a sign that the next few days will be even better. We were wrong. As we arrive back to the hotel we notice that the room has the aroma of mildew. The cause? Not the relative humidity, but a leak in the roof. When we asked to have things taken care of, they just sent someone in to clean the water. Considering it was during the holidays, another room was not possible. So, we just laid out some towels to prevent the water from pooling and we figure that no more rain is in sight and this is Mexico (nothing but sun, sand and relaxation). We put that behind us and that night we tried to sleep. It didn't happen. We were kept up all night by the refridgerator, which was so noisy that it was actaully louder than the noise that all of the nighclubs' speakers put together. Upon our waking we also notice a few more things. There were rust stains on the sheets and they only have the sheets replaced three times a week. Luckily there is a supermarket four blocks away! We stocked up on disinfectant and tried to just focus on the vacation we were on. Playa del Carmen is still awesome to go visit, but i will never stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the heart of the shopping district and a two block walk to several of the biggest and most popular nightclubs in Playa del Carmen. The downside is that if you are looking for a quiet location, this is definitely not it. The party doesn't end until about six am, EVERY night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weaver611
Business
Blountville, TN
Dec 29, 2010

Good location

The location was very good but the street noise (loud music until 4:30am)was horrible. The room was fairly clean. Check-in/check-out, receiving towels, getting room cleaned, etc were difficult due to staff not speaking english. We were on the third floor. There isn't an elevator so be ready to climb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to shopping, dining, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 27, 2010

Located in the heart of everything.

I stayed 5 days at the Blue Parrot 5th Ave, the staff were very courteous. I checked into the wrong hotel, the Blue Parrot Beach, and they kindly escorted me into their 5th Avenue hotel, both hotels are literally a couple hundred feet from each other. The staff would call the tour companies upon my request, to confirm my tours, and wake me up when I'm late for a tour (that happened twice), and when I ordered dinner from their beautiful restaurant downstairs, I'd go back upstairs to change and get ready for the night scene, and the staff would call me when my food was ready. Had a nice king sized bed, towels, bottled water, and soap are replaced daily and without me asking. A/C was strong, but shower was weak and would run out of hot water after prolonged use. I imagine that might become a nuisance to female guests. Also the room safe was broken, and there was a hole in the blinds so people outside could peek into the room. I stuffed a sock to plug the hole, problem solved. I don't let minor details like that get in the way of my vacation. Okay, it is extremely loud on the weekends, since both hotels are located within the vicinity of like a dozen bars and clubs, and the party goes til 5am, so unless you are here for the party and fun and don't plan to go to bed before 3am, you might want to check into a hotel that's a bit farther from the club scene. It's perfect for singles and friends that plan to do a lot of partying because the hotel is literally in the middle of everything. There are dozens of restaurants and shops spanning either direction as soon as you step outside the hotel, and I already mentioned the clubs. The beach is a 2 min walk, and free beach towels and lounge chairs come with your stay at the Blue Parrot. You also get free access to their club at night, everyone else has to pay like 15, 20 bucks to get in, so like I said, if you do a lot of partying like I did, this place is pretty awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The exchange rate stands at 13.5 to 13.7 pesos to 1 dollar, so please, do not exchange your money at the currency exchange shops, where it's at best 11.7 to 1. Dollars are accepted everywhere too, but know that it's highway robbery, since the standard conversion on the street is 10 to 1, so don't use dollars to shop. Instead, go to an ATM that dispenses pesos, and you will get anywhere between 13.5 to 13.7 for your dollar. That's a 35% increase in the buying power of your dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B around the world
Business
Mexico
Nov 15, 2010

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

It's a nice hotel, very neat and they have nice service but you can hear all the noise from the clubs and restaurants at night so you`ll probably stay late as well.It does not have a pool but you'll have the sea a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Jul 13, 2010

Blue Parrot 5th Avenue review

Very nice hotel with a cozy atmosphere. The zen/natural decoration in the outside and the simple stuff you need in a room at hotel in Playa del Carmen make every moment a truly relaxing one. Maybe the only thing I could complain about is the noise at nights. Playa del Carmen is a very active place at nights and the location of the hotel is just a few meters from the biggest night clubs and bars in town, so forget about sleeping at night unless you're more of a party type and are outside or you really don't care about mariachis, mixed with pop and dance sounding all over speakers in different places. So if you're planning on sleeping at 9 pm, well I recommend another place or very very good earmuffs jaja. The good side of that. If you're more of a party type then this is the right spot for you, definitely. As I said before, not even a minute of walk from the door of your room to the entrance of night clubs and bars, really. And the party lasts all night long up to 6/7 am. The rooms are very good but not excellent, a couple of things were broken and useless like the curtains (which we had to develop a weird knot to keep them open), the in room safe didn't work either but we didn't have any problems with that, we still used it and didn't lose a thing. The bathroom was ok I guess, what you need without anything extra. The A/C and the ceiling fan were a real blessing in this place of very hot days and nights. The rooms have everything you need to survive without any problems. Great place for romantic getaways or simply staying with your family and friends, after all you don't spend that much time in the room in Playa del Carmen. That being said, I had a really good time staying at the Blue Parrot for ten nights. Maybe it was the company or the activities or hell, the hotel. Whatever it was, everything turned out great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Cozumel and rent a moped to go around the island. Yes you have to be very careful but if you know how to drive a bike then there's no problem. To get to cozumel you have to take the ferry from Playa del Carmen's ferry dock (about 10 min walk from Blue Parrot) and that's it. Once you get there you'll see many many places to rent scooters, mopeds, jeeps, etc... finding which one you choose is up to you, just remember that mexican street businessmen might want to take more money from you than it should be. Have fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al beach bum
Business
Denver Colorado
May 9, 2010

Great Family Vacation

Very good hotel in excellent location 2 blocks from the beach. Don't confuse the hotel with the suites which are very close-we did! Hotel was centrally located to shops, restaurants and beach. No pool but did have a beach 'hut' for fast food and drinks. Also had beach chairs, umbrellas and towels which is a very nice feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping, restaurants and night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Parrot on Fifth Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, Michigan
Mar 19, 2010

Good place to take advantage of playa

Excelent hotel if you want to travel around the Rivera Maya, rooms are huge and really quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants on the 5th avenue are excelent and close to the hotel.... It's always better than the food you would get on an all inclusive resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top