$449 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 22, 2011

Perfect relaxing beach escape

Having traveled to Mexico many times, this was by far the most relaxing, luxury experience I've ever had. The hotel was fantastic. It featured simple, Asian inspired design that fit the location beautifully. Each room is actually a private villa with several outdoor seating areas and a private pool. It would have been easy to never leave the villa! The room was beautiful with a large bed, all the amenities, a walk in closet, large bathroom, and outdoor bathtub. It was perfect. The spa is terrific, with unique global inspired treatments. The hotel has four restaurants and we ate at three of them. They were all great. The highlight of the stay was probably the customer service. Everyone we saw was friendly and helpful. It made for an easy, relaxing trip. Another perk of the hotel is that it strives to be environmentally friendly. Because of this, the majority of the hotel is actually built behind a mangrove forest, away from the beach. In order to get to the beach you have to take a golf cart or boat ride. Although it was a little farther to the beach, we never had to wait long for a golf cart ride, and the wildlife that populates the mangrove forest adds to the charm of the property. The hotel is about a 15 minute/$20 cab ride to the main drag in Playa del Carmen, 5th Avenue, so it was easy to get out and explore a little bit too. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and would like to visit the other Banyan Tree Hotels around the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

On certain days of the week, the hotel offers a free eco-tour boat ride. We saw a great variety of birds and animals. It was relaxing and a fun way to see the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
banyan tree maya
Business
nyc
Aug 7, 2009

awesome paradise!!!

The Hotel just upgraded my eye of selecting loding. Everything was about the first class in the world. I've been to many nice property but never recieved this kind of Warm service and stayed with calm and nice environment. Especially oriental style captured my mind. Hotel dining facility was offering very nice food and i could feel that every employee has the attention to detail. I loved the loft room with the private pool. The property mingled with nature so beautifully. Will visit next month again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

15 min drive to south there is a playda del carmen with lots of nice restaurant and shops. Also if you go down south 40more mins You can have very inexpensive snorkeling tour which is 20$ per person. They sell ticket in front of Tulum parking lot. THe tour lenght is about 2 hours and far better than cancun hotel area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R&T Blow
Business
Calgary, Canada
Feb 22, 2010

Amazing Romantic Honeymoon Hideaway

The Banyan Tree exceeded our high expectations. The pictures on the website do not do the actual resort justice. We did'nt want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent bikes for your entire stay, they are only $5 per day and are very handy for exporing the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schteve
Business
Austin, TX
May 25, 2011

A perfect level of service

My stay at the Banyan Tree Mayokaba got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had reserved a Courtyard Villa [...]. When we arrived we were greeted with a refreshing drink and some cool towels, always a nice touch. After about 10 minutes we were taken to our room. When we arrived at the room I was disappointed to see that the room was at Garden Villa, which was a smaller room and at a lower level than what I had reserved. When I raised this to the resort hostess showing us our room she asked if I had documentation from my reservation. I didn't, but was able to look it up on my phone and provide the necessary information. She called the front desk and they looked it up and said that they had not received information about the change in the room category. There wasn't a change in the room category, but I didn't argue with them because they said that they would make the change. Unfortunately, no room was immediately available but we were hungry and asked to go to the beach restaurant while we waited for the room to become ready. (In defense of the hotel we had arrived early and were checking in before the scheduled check-in time.) Once at the beach club restaurant things really started to go in the right direction. The level of service from the wait staff was perfect. There is never a rush for anything and needs were often anticipated. After finishing our meal the chef came out to greet us and offered us a tasting of their ceveche. Everything was delicious. Once our meal was finished arrangements were made to transport us back to the front desk to go to our room. At the front desk a hotel manager came out and apologized for the confusion and we were informed that we were being upgraded to a spa villa. It was a nice gesture and certainly made up for any inconvenience. For the next three days I did not leave the resort grounds at all. I am not a resort type vacationer at all, I usually don't enjoy sitting around and doing nothing, but the pull of the resort was strong and I did not feel compelled to leave. Days were spent lounging on the wonderful bed-like chairs at the beach, swimming in our villa's private pool, and just generally relaxing. My wife commented that the staff at the hotel and in the restaurants moved slowly and deliberately, it was a physical reminder to slow down and enjoy a beautiful break from the real world. The rooms were extremely spacious and inviting. The beds were comfortable and clean. The pillow menu is also a nice touch that ensures comfortable sleeping. The bathrooms were out of this world including huge outdoor bathtubs and steam showers. The evening turndown service could really spoil a person if they stayed at the resort for too long. The day I left the Banyan Tree Mayokaba I was actually sad that my vacation was over. Usually, I am ready to get back to the real world, but not this time. I would have gladly extended my vacation if the opportunity would have presented itself. The next day, when I was back at work I spent 30 minutes starting to plan my next vacation to the Banyan Tree Mayokaba.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation early in the day or the day before to get one of the end tables at Saffron, the views over the water at night are unbeatable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rokutanda
Business
New York, NY
Dec 19, 2010

Banyan Tree Mayakoba - Garden Pool Villa

Beautiful setting in the middle of a jungle and by the beach, isolated from crowds. Wonderful villa with outdoor tub, shallow pool and beach chairs outside. Villa is secluded and offers complete privacy. Service is exemplary with all staff always attentive and smiling. Breakfast was included with room and was very good with a wide buffet selection. Buggies to take you around the resort if you don't want to walk, taxis to 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen quick and decently priced. Banyan Tree is in a good location between Cancun and a lot of the fun sites/parks in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Resort/spa groupie
Business
Lansing, Michigan
May 3, 2009

Banyan Tree Mayakoba

This was the most beautiful and accommodating resort we have ever stayed at. (We only vacation at luxury five star resorts around the world.) I can't imagine another resort in the world that could have better service or more beautiful rooms. Actually, these were not rooms but villas with very large wrap around swimming pools. And by the way, the food was fresh and fabulous. You must stay at a Banyan Tree resort if you get the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeaCucumber
Business
SF Bay Area, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Riviera Maya Vacation

Fantastic Resort! This was our first time at a Banyan Tree resort and we were amazed. The food was excellent, the staff was exceptional, and the villa was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 5, 2009

I would go back in a heartbeat!

You won't regret this, absolutely beautiful. The attention to details & level of service was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teela t.
Business
Jonesboro, Ga.
Sep 22, 2009

Wow!!!

Words cannot describe how incredibly luxurious and beautiful this place is! The service surpasses anything I have ever encountered. Everything about the accomodations, surroundings,food and the people far exceeded my expectations (which were pretty high going in, based on the reviews I had read). I've been to many wonderful resorts throughout the years but this one truly stands alone. I'll be going back as soon as my wallet can stand the strain!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take the free boat tour offered each Tuesday and Thursday. The wildlife we saw was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london England
Apr 5, 2010

good place to relax best ervice

not many activity for children. Quality of food is not grate due to fish and other ingrediance not being very fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top