$447 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
63 reviews
Anniversary Trip

Booked a spa pool villa and could not have been more pleased with the privacy, cleanliness, and... See full review

  • Jimmy Supafly Snooka
  • Sep 3, 2014
The most amazing trip I've EVER had

The staff at the hotel is amazing. Available and equipped 24/7 with everything you need. See full review

  • QueenieNiaga
  • Aug 6, 2014
Private pool villas highlight resort’s Caribbean luxury and romance
The Banyan Tree Mayakoba is located in a secluded, gated community and features private pool villas for every guest. For romance and relaxation on the Caribbean and in Mexico, the Banyan Tree's luxurious and intimate surroundings are unparalleled. The resort is carefully situated on an ecosystem of dunes, mangroves and freshwater lagoons. The Banyan Tree Mayakoba boasts first-class golfing and mangrove boat tours. There are eight restaurants, including Ixchel, a floating lagoon boat restaurant. Also try the 24 hour in-villa dining.
Highlights:
  • Private villas with pool
  • Kids club, babysitters (fees apply), high chairs and baby monitors
  • A floating lagoon boat restaurant and 24 hour in-villa dining
Rooms:

Expect stunning private villas with living area, swimming pool and lush greenery surroundings at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. In suites, handcrafted Mayan furnishings combine with dark wood and Asian accents and glass window walls. Amenities include 42-inch flat-screen LCD TVs, iPod dockets, mini-stereo systems, walk-in closets, mini-bars and complimentary wireless Internet. Depending on the villa choice, enjoy outdoor heated jet pools or sunken baths, massage beds, pillow menus, loungers and steam rooms. The three-bedroom townhouse (2,755 square feet) and beachfront villa (5,511 square feet) is ideal for families or guests traveling with friends.

Features:

Guests have the opportunity to play a round (or a few!) at the PGA course, El Camaleón Golf Club. The course is the first Mexican golf course designed by Greg Norman. The resort's Rainforest spa provides a more laid-back vacation experience. Take in unique experiences such as the hydrothermal circuit, the Rain Walk or the Vitality Pool. The spa is for adults only. For children under 12, Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers a kids club that includes eco tours, video games, movies, board games and beach activities. Also available are baby cots, babysitters, buggies, radio monitors and high chairs.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (6 mi/9.9 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (42 mi/69 km)
  • Cancun (42 mi/69 km)
Business­
  • A 3,310-square-foot banquet hall can seat up to 200 people
  • Meeting rooms with the latest equipment and Wi-Fi and broadband Internet are available for 16 to 200 people
  • Business center, secretarial support and event planners available

Hotel Map

20.6817 -87.0275
Area served
Mayakoba Complex, Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) aproximately 45 minutes
Area description
Located on the southeastern shore of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula (Riviera Maya). 45 minutes away from Cancun International Airport10 minutes away from the cozy town of Playa del Carmen.

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya Rooms

Garden Pool Villa
Suitable for up to two guests, each of the forty-five naturally ventilated villas reflects the unique Mayan culture of Mayakoba. Living and dining areas, spacious bathroom and private landscaped garden. You can take in the sun from the comfort of your own outdoor bathtub or in your 35.5sq.m./380sq.ft. Private swimming pool or on a lounger on the outdoor terrace. No. of Villas: 45 villas, Floors: 1 floor, Floor Size: Total plot area:293sq.m./3,153.8sq.ft Services / Amenities: Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/King size bed/A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer /LCD TV with on-command movies/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/slippers/Bathroom & pool/Kimono/Duvet/Sound equipment
Two Bedroom Sunset Lagoon Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
Covering a spacious floor area of 512 sqm (5,511 sq.ft)., each of our Two-Bedroom Villas are a haven of privacy and indulgence. This villa caters for up to four guests in a variety of settings, and redefines tranquil living with its extensive furnishings and verdant gardens. Each bedroom is served by a separate entrance, while still accessible to the landscaped garden and pool area. Two-Bedroom Sunset Lagoon Pool Villa is ideal for beach lovers as it offers close proximity to the beach.
Courtyard Pool Villa 3466 Sq.Ft
Along with its charming dcor, your Courtyard Pool Villa offers even more room in which to relax and recuperate from your busy lifestyle. Each of the villas is equipped with separate living pavilions, for use by up to two guests. With your own 41 sqm swimming pool and an adjacent outdoor jet-pool, you will have the option of spending languid afternoons soaking your cares away.
Two Bedroom Sunrise Lagoon Pool Villa
Covering a spacious floor area of 512 sqm (5,511 sq.ft)., each of our Two-Bedroom Villas are a haven of privacy and indulgence. This villa caters for up to four guests in a variety of settings, and redefines tranquil living with its extensive furnishings and verdant gardens. Each bedroom is served by a separate entrance, while still accessible to the landscaped garden and pool area. Two-Bedroom Sunrise Lagoon Pool Villa opens out on a calm lagoon, with convenient access to the main lobby and Saffron restaurant
Two Bedroom Pool Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
Covering a living area of 512sq.m./5,511sq.ft. Villas are the ultimate in exclusive indulgence. This villa can house up to four guests and is designed as a private sanctuary, with its exquisite furnishings and verdant gardens. Dive into your own 51sq.m./549sq.ft. azure pool or enjoy the golden glow of the sunset as you and your loved ones unwind with a soothing massage. For the perfect romantic dinner, delight in a private evening under the canopy of twinkling stars. No. of Villas: 5 Villas, Floors: 2 Floors Size: Total plot area:512sq.m./5,511sq.ft./Covered area:187sq.m./2,013sq.ft./Open area: 197sq.m./2,120.4sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Two Bedrooms/Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Jacuzzi/One King size bed/Two double size beds/A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in each bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/ slippers: bathroom & pool/ Kimono/Duvets/Sound equipment.
Spa Pool Villa 3466 Sq.Ft
Split over two levels, totaling some 322sq.m./3,466sq.ft. Villas are designed to create the perfect romantic hideaway. Enjoy a sensuous spa treatment at your personal outdoor massage area and let our trained masseurs work their magic. An exclusive outdoor private area equipped with the massage beds, loungers and a dining area with birds-eye view of the idyllic surroundings of Mayakoba. No. of Villas: 8 Villas Floors:2 Floors Size: Total plot area: 322sq.m./3,466sq.ft./Covered area: 105sq.m./1,130.2sq.ft./ Open area: 170sq.m./1,830sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Spa Treatment Bed (2)/Jacuzzi/King size bed/ A/C/safety deposit box/hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in the bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/ Pillow menu/slippers: bathroom & pool/Kimono/ Duvet/Sound equipment
Three Bedroom Townhouse 2755 Sq.Ft
Designed for families, friends and groups, the three-storey, three-bedroom townhouses provides a living area with balcony overlooking the golf course. With 256 m2 sqm (2,755.5 sq.ft. ) to roam, you can simply find the space to enjoy your favourite leisure.
Three Bedroom Beachfront Villa 5511 Sq.Ft
The luxurious Beach Front Three Bedroom Pool Villas are ideal for families. With separate bedrooms with living rooms, it is the perfect setting for intimate gathering whilst ensuring privacy and tranquility for all. Enjoy the private swimming pool or the magnificent courtyard. This villa can house up to 6 guests. No. of Villas: 7 Villas Floors: 2 Floors Size: Total plot area: 512sq.m./5,511sq.ft./Covered area: 239sq.m./2572.5sq.ft./ Open area:200sq.m./2152.7sq.ft. Services / Amenities: Three Bedrooms/Swimming pool/Outdoor bathtub/Jacuzzi/Two Bedrooms with King size bed/One bedroom with two double beds/A/C/safety deposit box/ hairdryer/LCD TV with on-command movies, one in each bedroom and one in the AC pavilion/Bathrobes/Pillow menu/slippers: bathroom & pool/Kimono/Duvets/ Sound equipment

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
*Meeting Space: Theme Meetings, Theme Breaks, Wedding and Cocktail Functions available THE MAYAPAN Ballroom for 200 people, Size: 66.60 x 49.70 feet (Area: 3,310.44 sq. ft.) THE SAYIL room for 60 people, Size: 52.65 x 25.75 feet (Area: 1,356.14 sq. ft.) THE LABNA AND AND KABAH, each of them for 20 people, - Labna Room, Size: 24.11 x 19.52 feet (Area: 470.70 sq. ft.) - Kabah Room, Size: 24.93 x 19.52 feet (Area: 486.74 sq. ft.)

Dining

In Villa Dining BBQ
We do not provide just dinner, but a delightful moment in the privacy of your villa with your personal server perfectly cooking with the right flavors. During our visit we focus to please you by fulfilling your requests with the best ambiance and service. Mexican BBQ, Thai BBQ and Mediterranean BBQ
La Cava
Our air-conditioned private dining wine cellar is available for parties of up to 12 guests. Please contact us for your special dinner event. Open on request and based on availability.
Tamarind
Set in the tranquil surroundings of the Banyan Tree Spa, dining at Tamarind is an experience not to be missed. Fresh ingredients, organic products, exotic herbs, roots, spices and aromatic salts create the distinctive flavors of Tamarinds Eclectic Cuisine. Dress code: Casual Elegance Tamarind is reserved for adults only At Tamarind, our non smoking policy applies Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 28
Reflections Pool Bar
The ideal chill-out place for sun lovers, the Reflections Pool Bar located nearby the lobby, serving tasty snacks, cool drinks and tropical cocktails for the classic poolside experience. Open: 10:00am to 6:30pm Last order: 6:00pm
Oriente
With a beautiful view overlooking the elegant Reflections Pool, enjoy our sumptuous international breakfast buffet each morning, or our modern Mexican cuisine in the evening. Dress code: Casual Elegance At Oriente, our non smoking policy applies Breakfast: 7:00am to Noon Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 120
Safron
Banyan Tree's signature restaurant serves contemporary Thai cuisine. Overlooking the lagoon and the mangroves, the restaurant's three pavilions provide an intimate romantic setting. Dishes featured on our menu are served family style and prepared with a modern approach, while still preserving traditional Thai cooking techniques. Dress code: Casual Elegance At Saffron, non smoking policy applies one deck allows. Dinner: 6:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:30pm) Capacity: 60
Sands
Set at the Mayakoba Beach, alongside the beautiful Caribbean Sea, this perfect spot offers an a la carte breakfast, cool drinks, light snacks and fresh seafood for lunch. After the sun sets, enjoy the gentle caress of the ocean breeze while sipping your favorite cocktail and sampling the freshest and finest catches of the day and fine cuts. At Sands, our non smoking policy applies Lunch: Noon to 5:00pm Dinner: 7:00pm to 11:00pm (Last food order 10:00pm)* Capacity: 60 *Opening details might change due to weather conditions.
La Copa
Care for some Tequila, Mojito or simply a glass of Champagne and some tapas before dinner? Relax and enjoy the sunset while you sip your favorite cocktail. After dinner La copa is the perfect place to unwind and offers the best setting for star gazing while you linger over a coffee, cognac and cigar. Opens: 11:00am to 1:00am
In- Villa Dining
While enjoying your stay at one of our stunning villas with very own garden and pool, In-Villa dining is a romantic experience not to be missed. Whether it's an exquisite private breakfast or a mouthwatering outdoor barbeque, our outstanding In-Villa dining team will attend to all of your culinary requirements. 24 Hour service

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Or
Mar 14, 2011

Simply Amazing

The resort looks simply amazing. The architecture and interior design are the most beautiful we have ever seen. Our garden pool villa was situated conventiently close to the main restaurants and minutes away from pools and the pristine beach. The staff went out of their way to make our experience the best possible. Our experience was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out la bodeguita del medio in Playa del carmen. Every cab driver will know it, as it's a place where a lot of locals go. Cuban inspired food for cheap, good tequila and life music to dance Salsa til the early hours of the morning. Everything you expect from Mexico in an authentic way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hagope
San Jose, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Top notch service, beautiful resort

We stayed in the garden pool villa. The pool was larger than we had expected and the outdoor bathtub was also very large... We booked through [...]at a decent rate.The service was phenomenal, the best I've ever seen. I've read bad reviews about the food, but in my experience it was really excellent, especially the complimentary morning buffet which included omlettes, fish, quesadillas, tons of different breads and pastries as well as tasty mexican coffee.This resort was quiet and private, perfect for our honeymoon, however, I would definitely bring a family here...my only complaint is that we came during rainy season (we were lucky with weather though) and there were mosquitos in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car rather than signing up for a tour to see local attractions, its much cheapter...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kchaudry
Ashburn, VA
Apr 10, 2011

Banyan Tree - April 2011

Outstanding and unmatched experience. The hotel layout is extremely rare. Most impressive, comvenient, and friendly check-in process. Lots of privacy and class. Service is prompt and very courtious. Loved the breakfast buffet and thai restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine interior designer
New York, NY
May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, elegant and beautiful

This is a beautiful hotel with enormous villas. The villas were nicely designed, there are minor little maintenance and cleaniness issues (mildew at shower faucet handle). Service was excellent, prompt and attentive. We did a private yoga class which was not so great, room was dark and small, teacher was late. We complained and they waived the fee. We later learned we could have scheduled yoga on the beach which would have been great. The beach and pool attendants are excellent! Food was excellent as well. We went into town which was not as nice as the hotel. Overall a wonderful place for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a taxi into town at Playa del Carmen. It was very touristic and not very nice. The hotel recommended a seafood restaurant which was okay, not great. Food was better at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole the travel girl
NYC, NY
Mar 7, 2011

Amazing luxury

Wonderful, relaxing, luxurious hotel. The villas were beautifully appointed and super private. We enjoyed our stay so much. My ONLY criticism is that the gym/workout facilities is very small and often too crowded. Otherwise an amazing place with great, helpful staff! We can't wait to plan our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Went into Playa Del Carmen for dinner and nightlife - where we found lively, affordable dining and shopping options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Jetset
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Beautiful resort with amazing service

Beautiful landscape, amazing rooms, lovely grounds, and, most importantly, truly stellar service. HIghly recommend. One point to mention is that to access the beach / beach club, one needs to either (a) take a 10-minute boat ride, boat arrives every 30 mins; (b) take a short buggy ride, called at conveninece; (c) rent a bike for $5/day; or (d) walk for about a mile. The boat trip / buggy ride are pleasurable - but the beach is definitely not at your feet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brendabender14
Mexico City
Jan 7, 2013

Something for everyone

The Banyan Mayakoba is perfect for families with diverse interests, as there is something for everyone. The service far exceeded our expectations, and the activities functioned perfectly. We are already thinking about when we can return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Diablito Cha Cha Cha

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kw123456789
New York, NY, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great trip

The service and room were great. Room were spacious and clean. The spa was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

It's NYC prices. It's not terribly expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
audreysev
NJ
Nov 27, 2011

is there more luxuous than a Banyan Tree hotel?

Imagine the most luxuous rooms, all with private pools, open sky bathtub, tasteful decoration Imagine a staff whose efficiency is as good as their kindness Imagine nice restaurants (actually 2 of them, for instance) with very fine cuisine Imagine a very luxuous yet natural/green environment You have all of that at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba (Playa Del Carmen). Only 1 advice : this destination is better for couples, not really for families as there are no sport/fun activities for kids. But how could we not love that place ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luxury Finder
Boston, Massachusetts
Nov 10, 2012

Amazing Couple Getaway

This was our 2nd trip back to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The decor is spa like simplicity with beautiful Mexican touches throughout with vast views and structures. The staff is amazing; thinking of every need and then some. This is a luxury hotel and more. The food is delicious especially at Saffron and Tamarind for dinner. They outdo themselves at the Oriente for breakfast. Loved having lunch at the Reflection Pool. Efren makes the best Cucumber Daiquiri and Spa Cocktail!!!!!! Wait til you see how amazing the villas are.... If I had to make one suggestion for the Banyan Hotel it would be to heat the pools; very chilly but otherwise this hotel is unbelievable and we will definitely be back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search