$499 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

5 stars
View map of Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km-298, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vulcaninser
Couples
San Jose, CA
Jun 4, 2012

Amazing Hotel, Amazing Staff..Best hotel experience ever

This place is amazing. The staff are so friendly and so thoughtful. It's almost like they are mind readers. You barely have to think it and they've already done what you need. The resort is beautiful and a great place to relax. I would highly recommend this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xel-ha is an amazing water park about 40 mins away. It's an all inclusive, all day fun event, worth doing.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luxury Finder
Couples
Boston, Massachusetts
Nov 10, 2012

Amazing Couple Getaway

This was our 2nd trip back to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The decor is spa like simplicity with beautiful Mexican touches throughout with vast views and structures. The staff is amazing; thinking of every need and then some. This is a luxury hotel and more. The food is delicious especially at Saffron and Tamarind for dinner. They outdo themselves at the Oriente for breakfast. Loved having lunch at the Reflection Pool. Efren makes the best Cucumber Daiquiri and Spa Cocktail!!!!!! Wait til you see how amazing the villas are.... If I had to make one suggestion for the Banyan Hotel it would be to heat the pools; very chilly but otherwise this hotel is unbelievable and we will definitely be back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don patron
Family
San Francisco
Dec 25, 2012

Great beach resort

Wonderful spot to relax, enjoy the beach and go to the spa. One of the best spas in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nat co
Couples
Brooklyn ny
Jan 1, 2013

Very relaxing

Great service,nice people. Food was so so. Rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brendabender14
Family
Mexico City
Jan 7, 2013

Something for everyone

The Banyan Mayakoba is perfect for families with diverse interests, as there is something for everyone. The service far exceeded our expectations, and the activities functioned perfectly. We are already thinking about when we can return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Diablito Cha Cha Cha

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
washdcgetaway
Family
washington dc
Feb 19, 2013

amazing

do not worry about some recent reviews. had an excellent stay at the townhouse. Service was phenomenal. Townhouse was a lot of fun and the resort and food were fabulous. highly recommend! and even with a wedding there and the resort totally booked, we did not feel that it was busy, overcrowded or that we were overlooked in any way. definitely go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple of Globetrotters
Couples
Clarksburg, MD
Feb 27, 2013

Best experience ever!

This hotel was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! The villas are beautiful and very romantic, the service was better than expected, and the food was delicious. I also highly recommend the Spa, my package included a free 60 minute massage and it was fantastic. The massage was great, but the ambience of the treatment rooms and the service from the attendant and lobby staff made the experience one I won't forget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JxxIndyxx
Couples
Indiana
Dec 3, 2013

Most Incredible Rooms Ever

For a couple that is madly in love, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba is one of the most romantic resorts on earth. Make sure to get the option for the free daily brunch as the food is to die for. Also, when you get there, have your host increase the temperature of the pool immediately. La Copa is a good alternative to an expensive dinner and has more than just tapas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

La Copa is more than just tapas. It has some decent dinner selections that are cheaper than the other restaurants at the resort.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmine interior designer
Single
New York, NY
May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, elegant and beautiful

This is a beautiful hotel with enormous villas. The villas were nicely designed, there are minor little maintenance and cleaniness issues (mildew at shower faucet handle). Service was excellent, prompt and attentive. We did a private yoga class which was not so great, room was dark and small, teacher was late. We complained and they waived the fee. We later learned we could have scheduled yoga on the beach which would have been great. The beach and pool attendants are excellent! Food was excellent as well. We went into town which was not as nice as the hotel. Overall a wonderful place for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a taxi into town at Playa del Carmen. It was very touristic and not very nice. The hotel recommended a seafood restaurant which was okay, not great. Food was better at the hotel.

Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Scottsdale, Az
Jan 1, 2011

Fab Hotel

Great hotel. Mostly off the beach on the lagoons. A 15 to 20 min walk to the beach, or take the boat or shuttle. Very easy. Be sure to ask for western facing villa for afternoon sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top