$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
139 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caltravel
NY
Jun 11, 2014

Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badfish
Weymouth U.K.
Apr 26, 2014

Something for everyone in PDC

Had a Junior Suite for five nights, made use of the fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Ate in the Mayan Bistro on the first night, very good. Plenty of areas to laze in the sun or shade, nice gardens o.k. pools. Some of the back street restaurants are worth trying. PapaCharly Pasta and Loco Joe for a burger were excellent value. Took the ADO bus to Tulum, split the day between the Mayan site and the beach. Took a taxi to Cenote Chaak Tun for an easy 3 hour excursion. Then used the same taxi driver for our trip to the ferry for Isla Mujeres, 4 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from 5th Avenue.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karolgee
UK
Feb 14, 2014

Excellent location

Great location. The main restaurant and shopping street is just around the corner yet or it is still very quiet in the hotel. The beaches are easy walking distance and they have a deal with the very nice Indigo beach club which means you don't have to pay to use their sun loungers. When we stayed on the Saturday night another nearby hotel has a disco on the roof, which was a bit noisy. We stayed for 5 days in early February and have already booked to stay again next month after travelling around Mexico, Guatemala and Belize. There is a pretty garden. The staff are friendly. The rooms are rather small and fairly basic for the money and the swimming pools are very small. At $150 usd a night it is more than I wanted to pay but the location makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agustin and Gise
New York, NY
Jan 1, 2014

Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and beaches were the best. The location of the hotel cannot be better. The pools are very nice, the restaurant is very good, and the environment is excellent and peaceful. We strongly recommend this hotel! The free breakfast is good enough, but for very little money you can add from a menu whatever you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa Paraiso in Tulum and to Akumal to swim with turtles.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilycworld
Baltimore, MD
Jun 12, 2013

Update to my previous review - professional hotel group manager addresssed issue

This online review doesn't allow update or deleting reviews so I have to write this new one. We were not given a room as advertised and we experienced noise issues that affected our rest. The Aventura Group's manager emailed me directly after I posted my review, and handled it with the highest professional manner. I give them credit for their commitment to best customer service and professionalism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan and Ali
Holland, MI
May 23, 2013

Great hotel

We had a fantastic time here during our stay. Aventura Mexicana provide a personal level of service that larger resort can not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lilycworld
Baltimore, MD
Mar 5, 2013

Room not as advertised and noise problems

We stayed here for three nights. The positive is the location is great - a few steps from 5th Ave with all the shops and restaurants, and a few minutes walk to the beach. But before you book, you need to be aware that paying more money doesn't necessarily give you better rooms. When I made the reservation, I chose to pay more for a Deluxe Garden View One Bedroom with Balcony - 1 king bed. After we checked in and got to our room, #2207 (on the "family" side) which is right by the stairway on the second floor, had neither garden view nor balcony. Its window faces the street looking at another building. We immediately returned to the front desk and asked for what happened to what we paid for - a deluxe room with garden view and balcony. The reply was that there was no other deluxe room available, and he asked when we booked the room. I booked the room over a month before our arrival through Orbiz! The only room that would be available was a superior room on the first floor also facing the street. At night, we could hear the noise from the street including people talking, laughing, and people from the next room talking and showering. Early in the morning, we were woken by children running and laughing in the hallway and stairs. In the morning we talked to a woman who is the corporate manager and she told the front desk to find a quieter room for us when we came back that afternoon. But when we came back that evening, the same front desk as the night before said there's no other room available except the other superior we looked at that was on the first floor also facing the street. The second night the noise was worse. We could hear a club or restaurant's music pounding base till late at night, and more people talking and laughing on the street. After two nights of very poor sleep, we were miserable. The next morning, we talked to another gentleman named Luis at the front desk. He looked on his chart, he had a superior room available on the "adult only" side. We went to look at it, and found it's on the third floor, with a sliding door facing the garden (thus garden view), and a window facing a quieter street. We decide to take it, even though it's a much smaller room and would have cost less. The third night, we slept much better. From other reviews, I was prepared for the open bathroom in these adult-side rooms, where the bathroom is not concealed at all and no door. Between no sleep and lack of privacy, we opted for the lack of privacy when using the bathroom. I asked for a refund from Orbi of the difference for the last night since we downgraded our room. Orbi was trying to contact the hotel but no one was responding. We shall see what happens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are hungry for steak, we loved El Diez, at the corner of 5th Ave and Calle 30. For modern Mexican, we tried the restaurant diagonal from El Diez and it was excellent. (forgot the name)

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NandM
Ireland
Feb 11, 2013

Excellent

Great location - just around the corner from all the shops, bars, restaurants and beach but step in the door of the hotel and you are immediately in an oasis of quiet and calm, away from the hustle of 5th Ave. Good breakfast, especially the freshly baked sweet bread selection every morning. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our first room was right beside the restaurant but we were moved the following morning as we are not early risers (breakfast starts at 7am). Parking outside the front door - we never arrived without finding an available space. The only issue was that the bathroom in the room had no door and the wall did not reach the ceiling (so really just a partition)...not a level of intimacy we're used to but we worked around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laetitiachile
San Francisco California
Jan 20, 2013

Very nice

We had a wonderful time in this cozy hotel. People are very nice, willing to help you every time you need it. Nice, clean rooms. The restaurant is right in the middle of the garden, offering a great view.Free breakfast! Nothing Better than sweet bread and Mexican bread. Free wifi! So helpful to keep you conected. And the best, they let us check out at 12pm instead of 11am without extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frida's restaurant just a few blocks Away. Free margarita with ur meal! Just stay away from people trying to bargain you.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AradiaC
Seattle
Jan 2, 2013

Great Playa Hotel

We needed to switch out of our hotel in Tulum so we could spend some time in Playa del Carmen. After looking online at a bunch of hotels, we found this one and booked it. We were not sorry. It's conveniently located about a block from the beach, the staff was extremely friendly & helpful, and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. While Aventura Mexicana is not a super luxury hotel, it wasn't really lacking. It had a nice pool in the lovely open courtyard, cable, and Internet (though internet access is spotty in the rooms). I would definitely stay here again if I wasn't hellbent on a beach resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search