$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
145 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 145
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.6

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Apr 29, 2011

Good clean space to relax

Aventura Mexicana is central to the Playa del Carmen shopping district, but still retains a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Convenient for those who enjoy strolling along 5th Avenue to do a little shopping on a breezy evening or have a tasty meal. No need for a car, taxis are available at almost every corner and the local buses depot is within walking distance. There were some air conditioning issues with our room but immediately remedied when management was made aware of the problem. We would definitely book with Aventura Mexicana again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants line 5th Avenue, it's worth your while to be choosy. If traveling on a budget, look for the places where the locals eat or ask for recommendations. Two must tries are El Fogon for local fare on Av Constituyentes and a little Italian place on Calle 24 and Av 10 just down the street from Aventura Mexicana. Do your research and be a little adventureous.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanford, CA
May 24, 2011

"Not always as it appears"

We did not spend much time at the hotel, one reason is that it was very small and not many people using the pool and dining facility. A bigger pool area would have made staying at the hotel more enjoyable, and if the hotel would have been located closer to the center of Avenida 5 it would have been nicer. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Everything there was to expensive!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

There is not much money saving there, everything was priced to inflate the peso and the dollar was not worth much. $5.oo for a small scoop of ice cream. A lot of walking involved in everything or take a cab.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not applicable
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Good Location, Good Price

Location of hotel was great, very close to the main street for dining and shopping. Close to the beach as well. Nice rooms, clean good for two people and service was good. Would not recommend three in a room.Bistro on sight was nice, patio area as well as an indoor area. Nice Happy Hour, very relaxing, great Mojitos! Staff was helpful, [...] was great helping us with our tickets and boarding passes. I would return to this hotel. We were pleased with our experiences there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion Restaurant - on the beach, nice!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Somerville, MA
May 3, 2009

Fun times

Great location, clean rooms, pretty pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 10, 2009

Private, Cute getaway

I thought the hotel was charming. Our room was spacey and the bed was comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. I would definitely come again. I like to be closer to the beach though. It is about a 10 minute walk. Would go again with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PG beach bum
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 14, 2010

Mexican Getaway

The Aventura Mexicana is in an excellent location. 1/2 a block off the northern end of 5th Ave (fewer vendors hollering at you on north end). Within walking distance of Kool and Mamitas beach. A few blocks from Mega. The concierge at the hotel was excellent, all the advice he gave us on where to go and eat was honest and from his own personal experience. The hotel restaurant is good. We were not here to spend a lot of time in the hotel, but the rooms were clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Parrot Fireshow

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Randolph, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Relaxing Atmosphere @ a great price!

My friend and I stayed in room 2401 and it was a huge double suite on the third floor with a shared bathroom - 1 king & 1 queen - almost as thuogh we both had our own rooms! The staff was very friendly and super at getting you the best transportation and activity rates while there. I was looking for peace and quiet and I got it. I also got to be one block away from 5th avenue and about 2 blocks to the beach. Great value for the money, only downside for me was the strength of the wireless internet access, sometimes the signals were avaiable and sometimes they were not. Overall great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Definitely get your happy hour drinks at the hotel - great deal and great drinks =]

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Fantastic price for a great hotel.

A wonderfull small hotel with a good location. Very, very clean with friendly, helpful staff and the price was perfect. Should mention we had booked the least expensive room for our two week stay in Playa del Carmen, and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The only draw back was that one bedroom was on the front of the hotel so the fitness center across the street and the chatting on the street was a bit loud in the evening. The pools were small but with the most beautiful beaches in the world only a short walk away who needs a pool anyway. The hotel provided us with a discount for Kool Beach Club. We did find that the tours provided by a company in the hotel lobby were a bit more expensive than prices we were able to find elsewhere, but even so the tour staff were most helpful in providing us with information about the attractions in the area. The Continental breakfast provided free of charge was enough to sustain my sister and I until it was time for lunch. The Mayan Bisto also served excellently prepared menu items. All in all, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Aventura Mexicana and would definately stay here again should we visit the Mayan Riviera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend you shop around for the best tour prices and don't miss Chitzen Itza. If you visit travel agencies away from 5a.Avenida you can save a fare amount of money. Take the small tour vans rather than the big busses. You will save alot of time not picking up and dropping off 50 or so people.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladies of the lowland
Amsterdam, NL
Dec 1, 2009

great location and hotel for the price

great location and hotel for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McAllen, Texas
Jun 17, 2011

Cute and peaceful place to stay

My family and I went to several places and stayed in different hotels throughout our trip and this one was the cutest and most peaceful hotel we encountered. It is located one block off Quinta Avenida so restaurants and shops are walking distance. Walking into the lobby and towards the pool area, everything is so quiet and peaceful. Pool areas, garden, and restaurant are very well kept. If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach then this one may not be for you. The hotel does have an area on the beach reserved for their guests but you do have to walk quite a distance to get there. Hotel does provide beach towels and beds/chairs/umbrellas on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search