$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 29, 2009

Fantastic location

We spent a week in Playa and it was great. The location was really good, just seconds away from the main street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can get anywhere by taking the bus for only 30 pesos (less than $3), you do not need to spend hundreds of dollars in expensive excursions. Just go to the bus station, ADO, in the main street and ask for destinations (Tulum, Xel-Ha, Xcaret...).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PG beach bum
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 14, 2010

Mexican Getaway

The Aventura Mexicana is in an excellent location. 1/2 a block off the northern end of 5th Ave (fewer vendors hollering at you on north end). Within walking distance of Kool and Mamitas beach. A few blocks from Mega. The concierge at the hotel was excellent, all the advice he gave us on where to go and eat was honest and from his own personal experience. The hotel restaurant is good. We were not here to spend a lot of time in the hotel, but the rooms were clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Parrot Fireshow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Randolph, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Relaxing Atmosphere @ a great price!

My friend and I stayed in room 2401 and it was a huge double suite on the third floor with a shared bathroom - 1 king & 1 queen - almost as thuogh we both had our own rooms! The staff was very friendly and super at getting you the best transportation and activity rates while there. I was looking for peace and quiet and I got it. I also got to be one block away from 5th avenue and about 2 blocks to the beach. Great value for the money, only downside for me was the strength of the wireless internet access, sometimes the signals were avaiable and sometimes they were not. Overall great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Definitely get your happy hour drinks at the hotel - great deal and great drinks =]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Feb 10, 2010

Nice hotel

This is the best hotel we ever had in Mexico. Only bad point was noise of 10th street at night. We recomend it and if we can we will go again if quite rooms exists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDobbins
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 23, 2009

Wedding in PDC at Aventura Mexican

The hotel is in a great location, the staff is very friendly and helpful and spoke great English, and the bar had 2 for 1 Happy Hour (more like Happy 8 Hours from 11am-7pm). The only thing I did not like about the hotel was that the bed was hard. The rooms were a little small, but who spends a lot of time in their room when they're in Mexico? That wasn't a big deal, but the bed was still a little hard. Looking back I probably could have asked if they had an egg crate or some extra padding or something, but it wasn't that big of a deal where I HAD to ask for that. All in all I would definitely reccommend to a friend and would consider going back to this hotel if we returned to PDC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place down the street called Bip Bip that was probably the cheapest all around breakfast and lunch spot. The best place for dinner we ate at I can't remember the name, but it was across from Ajua off Calle 4 just off La Quinta (5th Ave.), Playa del Carmen, Q. Roo, México 77710. It was absolutely delicious, quite possibly the best Mexican food I've ever had. FYI - I ordered Shrimp Brochette.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, NH
Jan 11, 2010

Very nice location for the price

The restaurant served very flavorful food at an excellent price. The location was quiet, yet right in the heart of the tourist "5th Avenue". The beaches were excellent, one for the single party crowd and the other for family. The pools were very limited on location and would have been inadequate if the weather was at peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampico, México
Sep 8, 2009

Nice

Excellent for the price. The breakfast could be better, we only took it once in 5 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Nice Getaway Spot

Quick stop (2 nights) in Playa on the way to Cozumel. Charming hotel,friendly staff and great location within walking distance to almost everything you could want. Hope to make a return visit and spend a little more time in Playa. The only thing that could have been improved upon would be the addition of a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a seperate, full service gym across the street which is accessible for a fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Feb 15, 2010

Fantastic price for a great hotel.

A wonderfull small hotel with a good location. Very, very clean with friendly, helpful staff and the price was perfect. Should mention we had booked the least expensive room for our two week stay in Playa del Carmen, and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The only draw back was that one bedroom was on the front of the hotel so the fitness center across the street and the chatting on the street was a bit loud in the evening. The pools were small but with the most beautiful beaches in the world only a short walk away who needs a pool anyway. The hotel provided us with a discount for Kool Beach Club. We did find that the tours provided by a company in the hotel lobby were a bit more expensive than prices we were able to find elsewhere, but even so the tour staff were most helpful in providing us with information about the attractions in the area. The Continental breakfast provided free of charge was enough to sustain my sister and I until it was time for lunch. The Mayan Bisto also served excellently prepared menu items. All in all, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay at Aventura Mexicana and would definately stay here again should we visit the Mayan Riviera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend you shop around for the best tour prices and don't miss Chitzen Itza. If you visit travel agencies away from 5a.Avenida you can save a fare amount of money. Take the small tour vans rather than the big busses. You will save alot of time not picking up and dropping off 50 or so people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnMV
Business
New Jersey
Mar 3, 2009

Great location

Good location off Ave Quinta, very atmospheric. We had I think a pricier room with great outlook and quiet. We had a car and were able to park at the hotel. We used the Kool beach every day, the hotel has a discount arrangement with Kool but very limited, Kool is hardly expensive. The bathroom arrangements were a little too "European" for my American wife! But we would both return in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top