$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
137 reviews
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Great Value

Excellent Location, excellent staff and overall great value!!! See full review

  • Reid71
  • Nov 17, 2013
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests choose from the superior king, superior double or the deluxe king room. The deluxe king is the largest with special paintings and antiques. Most beds have Sealy pillow top mattresses.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
floquette
Mexico
May 20, 2013

Week-end escape

We were there only for 1 night with our 3 years old daughter. we just wanted a hotel to sleep for the night and enjoy Playa's activities. We found it very convenient location is great, and parking is definitely a plus. Staff is helpful. The mattress is maybe a bit harsh on your back and i found the breakfast poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try Chez Celine, french boulangerie where you can also have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Economic option and very, very good!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
farmerta
Oxford, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Charming little hotel

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at Hotel Aventura Mexicana. Admittedly, there are some eccentricities (such as with the plumbing) that one must be willing to overlook or accept with a sense of humor. Everyone on the staff is friendly and helpful. Kudos to those who designed and those who maintain the attractive garden elements. The continental breakfast is elegantly served, but needs a little variation from day to day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Somerville, MA
May 3, 2009

Fun times

Great location, clean rooms, pretty pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Warshington, DC
Jul 5, 2009

Nice, clean, friendly, good value.

Pleasant, attractive, clean place with helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money. It's at the north end of town, a long-ish walk from bus station. This was the only issue for us. If not traveling by bus, not a problem. I've seen the towels folded into Swans before, but these guys do Elephants too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of eating on 5th Ave. and overpaying in tourist traps playing elevator music, head a few blocks South on 10th Avenue and turn right for a few blocks on Constitution and there's a string of places across from the Mega Supermarket that are a lot better where local people eat.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jul 14, 2009

good price for good service

the staff were really friendly & the hotel is really clean. Although the pool was not big but it's good enough for family . The hotel is not far from the beach the 5th Avenue were most of the stores & eating places are located. The beds were older but comfortable enough. I wouldn't hesitate going back & staying at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Randolph, MA
Oct 26, 2009

Relaxing Atmosphere @ a great price!

My friend and I stayed in room 2401 and it was a huge double suite on the third floor with a shared bathroom - 1 king & 1 queen - almost as thuogh we both had our own rooms! The staff was very friendly and super at getting you the best transportation and activity rates while there. I was looking for peace and quiet and I got it. I also got to be one block away from 5th avenue and about 2 blocks to the beach. Great value for the money, only downside for me was the strength of the wireless internet access, sometimes the signals were avaiable and sometimes they were not. Overall great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Definitely get your happy hour drinks at the hotel - great deal and great drinks =]

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great hotel and perfect location

The hotel has everything you need: It's own restaurant, bar, 2 pools. The grounds are really well kept too. It's close to the beach and to all the best restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish, but they speak enough English to meet you half way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on taking cabs try check the fares online first. Cab drivers tend to upcharge tourists. Book your airport transfers online too You shouldn't have to pay more than $40 dollars each way. If you don't book ahead you can spend about $80 to $100 for a cab ride.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bellingham, WA
May 27, 2009

Aventura Mexican a hidden gem

We stayed a AM for 4 nights. It was a very nice, low key place. They have two small pools, but my 10 year old daughter loved both of them. Front desk people were very welcoming and helped us with anything we needed. They had free internet. The continental breakfast was pretty basic but nice. We would definitely stay there again. The only slightly bad thing was that it was on 24th Ave, and when the bus drops you off at 1st, that is some walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue. Go towards town, or up Constitution Ave. We had several great dinners. One at El Fogon and another at El Pesca. We also went to the papaletta stand every night and bought popsicles for 10 pesos, or.80 that were made with real pineapple, mango, coconut.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
lilycworld
Baltimore, MD
Jun 12, 2013

Update to my previous review - professional hotel group manager addresssed issue

This online review doesn't allow update or deleting reviews so I have to write this new one. We were not given a room as advertised and we experienced noise issues that affected our rest. The Aventura Group's manager emailed me directly after I posted my review, and handled it with the highest professional manner. I give them credit for their commitment to best customer service and professionalism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
Dec 4, 2009

Great value for your money

If you'd like a break from all inclusives this is a great option. Close to shopping, restaurants and beach. Aside from a few things like low shower water pressure, you can't beat the price for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are great restaurants, bars and shopping all around the corner, but the hotel has just as good drink specials and food quality as the rest. (Visit the hotel spa - $25/hr., fabulous). (Hotel arranged a return cab for $50, we paid $65 to get there).

Back to menu Return to top