$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 19, 2015 Check-out: Mar 22, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
142 reviews
family trip

Aventura Mexicana hotel ,it was the best experience , really clean, very nice staff and helpful,... See full review

  • Mary G.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy in NM
Business
New Mexico
Jan 13, 2010

Not frilly, but close to the action

One reason I chose the hotel is because it offered a continental breakfast; it was pretty bland - just toast and jam with coffee - but it did get us through mornings when we had to be up early for tours and did not have time to go find breakfast. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. The pools were lovely looking, but it was too cold to go swimming on the days we were there. The bathroom area (shower, toilet and sink) had no door and the side wall blocking it off from the bed did not go all the way to the ceiling. Also, the entrance to the hotel was a sliding glass door, from which you could see directly into the bathroom. I'm not sure if all of the rooms are like this or not. One great benefit is that the hotel had an in-room safe. We also got towel cards that could be exchanged for beach towels, which was nice. The staff of the hotel was quite friendly and avaliable most times we needed them. The location of the hotel to 5th St. (the main drag) and the beach was good, although from the online descriptions we read, we did think it would be closer to the beach. I would recommend the hotel based on location and cleanliness, but if privacy is an issue for you, don't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining in Playa del Carmen is not cheap - even if you go off the strip. We paid $25-55 American per couple per meal (tip not included) on 5th St., and not much less off the strip. However, some of the meals are pretty large and we decided to share some which helped out with the cost. You MUST try Mexican Sipping Chocolate at Ah Caco!!! One of my goals was to find some little carts on the side of the street to buy food from, but did not find many (maybe because the weather was pretty dicy when we were there - not sure).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jul 14, 2009

good price for good service

the staff were really friendly & the hotel is really clean. Although the pool was not big but it's good enough for family . The hotel is not far from the beach the 5th Avenue were most of the stores & eating places are located. The beds were older but comfortable enough. I wouldn't hesitate going back & staying at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great hotel and perfect location

The hotel has everything you need: It's own restaurant, bar, 2 pools. The grounds are really well kept too. It's close to the beach and to all the best restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish, but they speak enough English to meet you half way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on taking cabs try check the fares online first. Cab drivers tend to upcharge tourists. Book your airport transfers online too You shouldn't have to pay more than $40 dollars each way. If you don't book ahead you can spend about $80 to $100 for a cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples (FL)
Jul 26, 2009

Nice trip

This hotel was quiet and particularly clean. Personal at desk was always welcome and smiling. AT this period of the year (July) it was not at all noisy. Have much appreciated the proximity from the Beaches and 5th ave . More lights in the room should have been appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not applicable
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Good Location, Good Price

Location of hotel was great, very close to the main street for dining and shopping. Close to the beach as well. Nice rooms, clean good for two people and service was good. Would not recommend three in a room.Bistro on sight was nice, patio area as well as an indoor area. Nice Happy Hour, very relaxing, great Mojitos! Staff was helpful, [...] was great helping us with our tickets and boarding passes. I would return to this hotel. We were pleased with our experiences there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion Restaurant - on the beach, nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetpea and Punkin Carbajal
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Sep 8, 2009

I would highly recommend this Hotel.

We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great deal and location. We will most definately be staying here again. The Hotel was a few steps from both the 5th Avenue Shopping and the Ocean. On a scale from one to five the room service was a five. The room was the perfect size to house both my husband and myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can step out of your hotel and one block over to the 5th Avenue shopping spree. You can walk to the end of the strip, before your know it, and jump on the Ferry to Cozumel. Beware.. We discovered the better deals at the Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark/Tam
Business
Lakeland, MN
Feb 2, 2010

"Location, Relaxation"

This was a nice place with an excellent location. The adult pool however located in the center with buildings on each side did not get that much sun and sits next to the bar/restaurant and outside eating area so you would feel like you were being watched. We also had a room that had a connecting door to someone else which was paper thin, it was like the people were in the room with you and there was a toddler over there. The staff though was very nice and helpful and the rooms were kept very clean. It is literally one building off of 5th Ave. and a couple blocks from the beach. Yes, I would consider going there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the new CoCo Bongo now in Playa, for $50.00 you get your entrance and drinks, $65.00 VIP it is like watching a Vegas show and worth it (more so if you are a drinker)..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam
Jul 11, 2010

Very pleasant hotel!

The room ("Moody") was surprisingly big, definitely bigger than expected! It was divided into a living room with a sofa and & big flatscreen TV and a sleeping room with a comfortable king size bed. Although I wasn't on a honeymoon (or even couple) trip, my bed was decorated nicely with towel swans & flowers (and an elephant the other day - attentive detail!). The AC was running fine and helped a lot. On request you could borrow a handy umbrella (unfortunately needed...) and got a discount voucher for the neat gym on the other side of the street. For one day there was no hot water but they repaired it very quickly, well done. The hotel is around the corner to the 5th avenue, the main pedestrian shopping & restaurant area. It is relatively at the beginning of this street, which is actually a pre as it is not noisy but still easy to walk. Breakfast is ok, nothing big, but neither described that way. Service is friendly (maybe a bit too re-active) Only minusses were pool (nice for decoration but much too small for real usage...)and the fact that the promoted "balcony with garden view" is in fact simply the "open hallway" for all rooms on the 1st (European 1st!) floor - thus you don't get a private balcony whatsoever! Wouldn't say that's bad in general, but just don't call it balcony...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Daytours offered by alltournative offtrackadventures are really worth it! They are not offered by the hotel but at a small shop on the right of the 5th avenue (somewhere aroung the 30th calle). You can even get Dutch/German/French speaking guides, next to the English/Spanish ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Feb 16, 2011

Great hotel. Great location!!

I went to Mamitas playa which is very close by. The breakfast could be a little better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pubs, beaches were very close. I have been to Mexico 5 times and this so far was the best hotel that I stayed at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bambina
Business
Florida, USA
Apr 21, 2011

Unbeable location for the price

Hotel and location was in the place perefect for us. The room and personel service was also very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top