$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreolard
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great deal, great stay

This hotel is near the end of the main strip (5th Ave), and a bit of a walk from the ADO bus station, so backpacking with a heavy bag or needing to make trips to the other end of the strip was somewhat of a pain (~20 min walk). Overall location was good though - the best foods we found were near us, and the local MEGA market wasn't too far away. Staff was always very helpful, and the room was nicely air conditioned. Hot water was a plentiful, and the hotel overall was nice. Free WiFi was fast, but the signal isn't strong in all areas. One thing that bothered me was that the blinds were almost transparent, and since we were facing the street on the lower floor, it made me a little nervous about who might have been peeking in. The pools were smaller than the picture depicts, but why be in a pool when the beach is a couple blocks away? We also got flea bites, but after having the hotel staff change the sheets the problem was solved. Breakfast was O.K. - food could be better. These factors aside, it was overall a great experience at a great price and I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montréal, QC, Canada
Oct 13, 2011

close to the main 5th but far from the beach.

this hotel was good for me, 1 block away from 5th av, where all the shops and restaurant are and 10 min. walk to the beach, the beach club is amazing overthere with a buffet style breakfast for 95 pesos, very good food. nice furniture trendy and a magnificent view of the ocean. hotel in general is good but don't compare with the big 4 or 5 stars hotel all inclusive type. this is a different way to take a vacation a la carte. lots of hotel boutiques around near the beach and the 5th ave would be between the 12 and 4th calle norte hotel aventura mexicana is at 24th calle norte. overall good time overthere. the pool can be better.but was ok.(cleanliness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

deal with your hotel for excursion---for insurance purpose and pick-up and drop-off shuttle.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpile
Couples
CT
Feb 28, 2012

Good value, nice grounds, staff

We had a good time here. The room was adequate. The location was perfect, just a little bit away from the main drag, and far away enough from the busier part of the main drag. Very little noise. The pools were good, and lots of good locations to sunbathe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carbonocitas

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJGONZO
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

If you're looking for a mid priced hotel in Playa del Carmen, this is it! The staff is very friendly and will help you out with meal recommendations, beach reservations...anything you need. The rooms were nice, clean and well decorated, but don't expect a 5-star hotel. We would definitely stay there again...and will next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El Fogon. The BEST taco's in Playa del Carmen. This is where the locals go. You won't see too many tourists.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AradiaC
Couples
Seattle
Jan 2, 2013

Great Playa Hotel

We needed to switch out of our hotel in Tulum so we could spend some time in Playa del Carmen. After looking online at a bunch of hotels, we found this one and booked it. We were not sorry. It's conveniently located about a block from the beach, the staff was extremely friendly & helpful, and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. While Aventura Mexicana is not a super luxury hotel, it wasn't really lacking. It had a nice pool in the lovely open courtyard, cable, and Internet (though internet access is spotty in the rooms). I would definitely stay here again if I wasn't hellbent on a beach resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
floquette
Family
Mexico
May 20, 2013

Week-end escape

We were there only for 1 night with our 3 years old daughter. we just wanted a hotel to sleep for the night and enjoy Playa's activities. We found it very convenient location is great, and parking is definitely a plus. Staff is helpful. The mattress is maybe a bit harsh on your back and i found the breakfast poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try Chez Celine, french boulangerie where you can also have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Economic option and very, very good!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilycworld
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Jun 12, 2013

Update to my previous review - professional hotel group manager addresssed issue

This online review doesn't allow update or deleting reviews so I have to write this new one. We were not given a room as advertised and we experienced noise issues that affected our rest. The Aventura Group's manager emailed me directly after I posted my review, and handled it with the highest professional manner. I give them credit for their commitment to best customer service and professionalism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lancaster. Ca
Mar 1, 2010

Perfect for family with small children

It is a very quiet place if you want to relax. only 10 minutes away from Xcaret and Explor (attractions). there is a dropp-off laundry, where they wash and fold your clothes for a very reasonable price. Lots of restaurants and small small stores near by. Continental breakfast is free, and very yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret is a very beautifyl place. You must visit.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulieMex
Couples
Portland, OR
Aug 1, 2009

Aventura Mexicana: Great Hotel

We really liked this hotel. The room was large and clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, and the restaurant food and drinks were good. Aventura is located just blocks from the beach and you can walk just about anywhere in town from this great location. No ocean view, but a nice pool and lovely sun deck are a good substitute for those who don't want to leave the hotel. Free wireless access, continental breakfast and 2x1 happy hour are all nice perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hey honeymooners!
Couples
Portland, OR
Oct 8, 2009

honeymoon in la playa

Our room was a great escape from the heat. We were conveniently located off the strip by a block, which I think helped keep it nice and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top