$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Great Value!

The hotel is top notch and well worth the money spent. The location is right off of 5th Avenue and very conveniently located. The beach is a short distance away from the hotel (about 5 minutes). The hotel is immaculate...well maintained and very clean. I would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off of 5th Avenue and explore when looking for places to eat. We found that some of the best restaurants were off the main strip.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wasilla
Jun 8, 2008

Convenient location and family friendly

The Adventura Mexicana was very conveniently located, close to the beach access and to shopping on the famous 5th Ave. We got adjoining rooms for our big family which worked out great. We loved the hotel, it was clean and kid friendly, our kids felt safe. We enjoyed the balcony view off of our room to the pool so we could sit out on it and see the kids at the pool. We loved the showers, they were huge. Overall we were very pleased with the price and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop 5th Ave in the evenings and into the night for great entertainment and beautiful lights, etc. The beach by KOOLS off of 5th and 28th was a great place to hang out for the day, great service and you get a chair, umbrella, use of pool and shower for a small fee. The hotel gave us a discount coupon for there also.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Smith
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel and Staff

Great hotel. The staff was very friendly and knowlegable of the area. Only a half a block from 5th Ave. Less than 10 min walk to the beach. The restaurant was excellent. Prices are similar to the places on 5th Ave without the crowds or noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

The Hotel is close to restaurants, night clubs and stores, and it is also very cozy and clean. The Mayan Bistro has amazing food. You will love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tchili
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jun 22, 2011

Addition to review of 6/21/11

Just wanted to make sure that [...] were recognized as well as being outstanding front desk staff who were always friendly, informative and eager to help us in any way they could. Thanks so much to everyone there for making our trip wonderful. We can't wait to come back there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Business
Montreal
May 16, 2010

A charming hotel in a great location

This was our second stay at this hotel and it doesn't get any better. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area and the property is well maintained and comfortable. They have a great little bistro on site and the food is delicious. We like that the adult side is quiet with a nice pool and the new lounge chairs were a nice bonus. The bed in the standard room was more comfortable than the one in the deluxe we had last time so i slept great. The hotel is right off the main drag but quiet at night if you are not on street level. You're in walking distance to almost all nightlife, restaurants and bars and I like that it's in the north end of town. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Argentinian steakhouse just 2 blocks north called El Diez and the best mojitos at La Hora Feliz can be found one block north (both on 5th ave).

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First timer at Playa
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 13, 2011

a small pearl

The hotel is small, quiet and beautiful. Believe all it says in the web site. Very clean and the front staff can't do enough to please you. The only possible draw back is that it has three floors and no elevator We were on the third floor and didn't mind (actualy we welcomed the exercise) but make sure you are booked in the main floor (or 2nd floor) if going up stairs is a problem for you. The free continental breakfast is only juice, cofee, toast and danish but the entries on the menu were delicious and a bargain (about $4 US each) considering you are in the 5th Ave area. I was pleasently surprised to get a chair for free at the beach (courtesy of the hotel). Walmart is walking distance. Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behind the hotel there is a Chinese "restaurant" called Shanghai. It's realy only a store front with a table or two, without even air conditioning but don't be mislead, the food is amazing, its Chinese-home- cooking prepared on the spot by the owner's wife. Delicious and very inexpensive.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cos Cob, CT
Mar 20, 2010

Great location and price

Great location, friendly service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top