$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
159 reviews
Food glorious food!

We booked this Playa Del Carmen hotel on the strength of reviews, particularly the food ones, and... See full review

  • David B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
family trip

Aventura Mexicana hotel ,it was the best experience , really clean, very nice staff and helpful,... See full review

  • Mary G.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
Guestroom features a King bed.

Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • *These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option.
    Deluxe Double
    Guestroom features a Two Full beds.
    . Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • *These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option.
    Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
    Features:

  • King bed
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side

  • Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
    Features:

  • Two Full beds
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Family pool side

  • Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Junior Suite
    Features:

  • King bed
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side

  • Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Tour desk
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Mayan Bistro
    Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
    Continental Breakfast
    Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    159 out of 159
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.5

    97% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    doctoroctor
    nottingham, england
    Aug 16, 2012

    gorgeous place!

    stayed in the honeymoon suite! Nots sure why but we didnt complain and it was amazing. lovely kid free adult pool. cracking breakfast included (cakes!). lovely little hideaway suntraps. Nice and quiet. Resteraunt was great (bit pricey). Really close to 5th avenue. hotels beach was a little bit of a walk BUT included sunbeds and towels. Really helpful staff with good english (i know, i know were in mexico but its just soooooo much easier!) helped us book some awesome trips with altournative. GO!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    you'll probably end up on 5th avenue but if you turn LEFT rather than mega busy right its a little cheaper and quieter...

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    justkickit
    Business
    palm beach
    Apr 29, 2010

    Stay Away! Thief working in the Hotel.

    My wife and I have stayed in hotels all of the world and this hotel was a nightmare. I read all the mostly great reviews about this hotel so I decided to book it instead of a resort. My wife and I arrived there around 2pm. Our room wasn't ready yet. The hotel had wifi so I took out my wife's new HP laptop to use in the lobby since I noticed everyone was using their laptops. When I say everyone I mean not just the guest but the lady at the front desk, the workers in the restaurant. It seemed like every worker had a mini netbook that they were using during work hours. We walked to the pool area trying to get the internet connected. It was clear that the lady at the front desk knew that we had a laptop cause she gave me the passcode and helped us get me connected and alot of the women workers were outside walking around and saw us holding the laptop. We checked into our room and then later went to dinner around 7pm. Upon leaving the room she noticed a person in the last room in the corner sitting outside with their hat low on their head . She thought it was a guest because many guests were sitting outside the room.The lights outside the rooms were dim. I locked the door and check 3 times to make sure it was locked. We came back at 8:30pm and the door was still locked. After entering the room I noticed the laptop missing with the charger. I told my wife, she thought I was joking.I checked around the room for 20 minutes. We immediately went downstairs and told the guy at the front desk to call the police. The police came and my wife spoke to them since she speaks spanish. We told them what happened and wanted them to check with the workers. They did nothing and told us that we needed to go to the station to fill out a report and talk about it. They did not care a bit and shook hands with all the workers and left. The guy at the front desk said we had to wait until the manager came the next morning to do anything. I asked him how many keys there were and who has them.He told me 3. I asked him for the other 2. He found 1 But the cleaning lady's key was missing the room key. That is the proof that someone saw us with the laptop, stole the key and gave it their friend to sneak into the room when we left to take the laptop. I asked if they had video of the outside of the room. He said yes and I asked if we could look at it to find out what happened. He said he had to wait until the manager came in the morning at 9am. We went down the next morning and were told the manager is busy and will be in around 10am or so.I guess this wasn't important enough for her to come in on time. When the manager came, she said that they would have to investigate this and talked with everyone cause this never happened before and the workers have been there many years even though we saw many ladies that don't look a day over 18 yrs and she wanted us to go to the police station and spend our vacation there. I knew we wouldn't get our laptop back so I was not gonna go spend my last 2 days talking to the police and I told her at least just refund us the cost of the room.They made it seem like we were lying and were trying to stay there for free.The laptop did cost 2x what we paid for our stay there. She said she will have an answer for us later. When we returned she said that its impossible that someone stole our laptop and that no one went into the room and that it could of been a guest or we could be making it up. That is the biggest BS I have ever heard and that they would only refund 1 night. I asked her to check the video and she said it doesn't work. I asked her why was the key missing and she said cause the original broke and they had to give me the maids key. They made up excuses for everything to protect themselves and made us look like we made this up to get a refund for the room.Later on that night my wife also noticed that her new Ralph Lauren Romance perfume had been stolen also. Do not take anything valuable with you and let anyone see it caus...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    lilycworld
    Business
    Baltimore, MD
    Mar 5, 2013

    Room not as advertised and noise problems

    We stayed here for three nights. The positive is the location is great - a few steps from 5th Ave with all the shops and restaurants, and a few minutes walk to the beach. But before you book, you need to be aware that paying more money doesn't necessarily give you better rooms. When I made the reservation, I chose to pay more for a Deluxe Garden View One Bedroom with Balcony - 1 king bed. After we checked in and got to our room, #2207 (on the "family" side) which is right by the stairway on the second floor, had neither garden view nor balcony. Its window faces the street looking at another building. We immediately returned to the front desk and asked for what happened to what we paid for - a deluxe room with garden view and balcony. The reply was that there was no other deluxe room available, and he asked when we booked the room. I booked the room over a month before our arrival through Orbiz! The only room that would be available was a superior room on the first floor also facing the street. At night, we could hear the noise from the street including people talking, laughing, and people from the next room talking and showering. Early in the morning, we were woken by children running and laughing in the hallway and stairs. In the morning we talked to a woman who is the corporate manager and she told the front desk to find a quieter room for us when we came back that afternoon. But when we came back that evening, the same front desk as the night before said there's no other room available except the other superior we looked at that was on the first floor also facing the street. The second night the noise was worse. We could hear a club or restaurant's music pounding base till late at night, and more people talking and laughing on the street. After two nights of very poor sleep, we were miserable. The next morning, we talked to another gentleman named Luis at the front desk. He looked on his chart, he had a superior room available on the "adult only" side. We went to look at it, and found it's on the third floor, with a sliding door facing the garden (thus garden view), and a window facing a quieter street. We decide to take it, even though it's a much smaller room and would have cost less. The third night, we slept much better. From other reviews, I was prepared for the open bathroom in these adult-side rooms, where the bathroom is not concealed at all and no door. Between no sleep and lack of privacy, we opted for the lack of privacy when using the bathroom. I asked for a refund from Orbi of the difference for the last night since we downgraded our room. Orbi was trying to contact the hotel but no one was responding. We shall see what happens.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you are hungry for steak, we loved El Diez, at the corner of 5th Ave and Calle 30. For modern Mexican, we tried the restaurant diagonal from El Diez and it was excellent. (forgot the name)

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Dec 13, 2010

    Nice staff; ok hotel

    The staff was nice but the hotel was average. We had to look at several different rooms before we found one to be suitable (several smelled musty or the A/C didn't work). The bathrooms were outdated. The pool was good enough (not luxury but nice) and the restaurant was good and accomodating to special requests. The ocean view is really a view of a cruise liner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    NYC, NY
    Apr 29, 2011

    Good clean space to relax

    Aventura Mexicana is central to the Playa del Carmen shopping district, but still retains a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Convenient for those who enjoy strolling along 5th Avenue to do a little shopping on a breezy evening or have a tasty meal. No need for a car, taxis are available at almost every corner and the local buses depot is within walking distance. There were some air conditioning issues with our room but immediately remedied when management was made aware of the problem. We would definitely book with Aventura Mexicana again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Restaurants line 5th Avenue, it's worth your while to be choosy. If traveling on a budget, look for the places where the locals eat or ask for recommendations. Two must tries are El Fogon for local fare on Av Constituyentes and a little Italian place on Calle 24 and Av 10 just down the street from Aventura Mexicana. Do your research and be a little adventureous.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    MIAMI, FL
    May 27, 2011

    The good, the bad, and the really ugly

    MY HUSBAND AND I WHEN FOR A WEEKEND GETAWAY AND WILL GO BACK AGAIN SOON

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    10Josh
    Business
    New York, NY, USA
    Nov 21, 2011

    NIce!

    Hotel was located a block away from 5th ave. Beach is very close. Bed was comfortable. Its a perfect hotel for couple.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Shopping areas are walking distance

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Happy in NM
    Business
    New Mexico
    Jan 13, 2010

    Not frilly, but close to the action

    One reason I chose the hotel is because it offered a continental breakfast; it was pretty bland - just toast and jam with coffee - but it did get us through mornings when we had to be up early for tours and did not have time to go find breakfast. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. The pools were lovely looking, but it was too cold to go swimming on the days we were there. The bathroom area (shower, toilet and sink) had no door and the side wall blocking it off from the bed did not go all the way to the ceiling. Also, the entrance to the hotel was a sliding glass door, from which you could see directly into the bathroom. I'm not sure if all of the rooms are like this or not. One great benefit is that the hotel had an in-room safe. We also got towel cards that could be exchanged for beach towels, which was nice. The staff of the hotel was quite friendly and avaliable most times we needed them. The location of the hotel to 5th St. (the main drag) and the beach was good, although from the online descriptions we read, we did think it would be closer to the beach. I would recommend the hotel based on location and cleanliness, but if privacy is an issue for you, don't go there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Not Applicable

    Dining in Playa del Carmen is not cheap - even if you go off the strip. We paid $25-55 American per couple per meal (tip not included) on 5th St., and not much less off the strip. However, some of the meals are pretty large and we decided to share some which helped out with the cost. You MUST try Mexican Sipping Chocolate at Ah Caco!!! One of my goals was to find some little carts on the side of the street to buy food from, but did not find many (maybe because the weather was pretty dicy when we were there - not sure).

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Hanford, CA
    May 24, 2011

    "Not always as it appears"

    We did not spend much time at the hotel, one reason is that it was very small and not many people using the pool and dining facility. A bigger pool area would have made staying at the hotel more enjoyable, and if the hotel would have been located closer to the center of Avenida 5 it would have been nicer. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Everything there was to expensive!!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

    There is not much money saving there, everything was priced to inflate the peso and the dollar was not worth much. $5.oo for a small scoop of ice cream. A lot of walking involved in everything or take a cab.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Peace seekers
    Business
    West Palm Beach,FL
    Jun 24, 2010

    Ok, for last minute

    We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Houston
    Feb 1, 2011

    Great weekend getaway

    Attractive and charming hotel just off the main tourist shopping and dining street. Quiet and comfortable with attentive and helpful staff. While it is a couple of blocks from the beach, its a pleasant walk. Many of the nearby restaurants are good. The only thing lacking was good coffee for breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Yatche restaurant on Fifth street has interesting and delicious interpretations of Mayan cuisine. Service was superb.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top