$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
231 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cos Cob, CT
Mar 20, 2010

Great location and price

Great location, friendly service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cos Cob, CT
Mar 20, 2010

Great location and price

Great location, friendly service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Jun 30, 2010

Nice little bed & breakfast inn

Nice and clean rooms. Good location. Friendly staff. Everything is great for a 3-star level of hotel/inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel located in 24th St of Playa Del Carment. Within walking distance to 1st St, you can find Ado bus station to Xcarnet/Xel-ha/Tulum or Ferry station to Cozumel. Very convenient.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K.C. Gang
Kansas City, Missouri
May 17, 2012

Good Times

We love this hotel and are already planning to return. The location was perfect - walking distance to the beach and 5th Ave.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the Mayan Bistro was outstanding and the pool area was very pretty and relaxing. Lots of flowering trees and waterfalls. We can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free chairs and umbrella at Kool and Indigo beach for hotel guests.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wasilla
Jun 8, 2008

Convenient location and family friendly

The Adventura Mexicana was very conveniently located, close to the beach access and to shopping on the famous 5th Ave. We got adjoining rooms for our big family which worked out great. We loved the hotel, it was clean and kid friendly, our kids felt safe. We enjoyed the balcony view off of our room to the pool so we could sit out on it and see the kids at the pool. We loved the showers, they were huge. Overall we were very pleased with the price and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop 5th Ave in the evenings and into the night for great entertainment and beautiful lights, etc. The beach by KOOLS off of 5th and 28th was a great place to hang out for the day, great service and you get a chair, umbrella, use of pool and shower for a small fee. The hotel gave us a discount coupon for there also.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wasilla
Jun 8, 2008

Convenient location and family friendly

The Adventura Mexicana was very conveniently located, close to the beach access and to shopping on the famous 5th Ave. We got adjoining rooms for our big family which worked out great. We loved the hotel, it was clean and kid friendly, our kids felt safe. We enjoyed the balcony view off of our room to the pool so we could sit out on it and see the kids at the pool. We loved the showers, they were huge. Overall we were very pleased with the price and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop 5th Ave in the evenings and into the night for great entertainment and beautiful lights, etc. The beach by KOOLS off of 5th and 28th was a great place to hang out for the day, great service and you get a chair, umbrella, use of pool and shower for a small fee. The hotel gave us a discount coupon for there also.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Back to menu Return to top