$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
231 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Montreal, Canada
Nov 25, 2010

Another Fantastic Stay

Our 3rd stay at this hotel and can't find a thing to complain about. It's a beautiful, quiet and friendly place. Our bartender was amazing at giving restaurant suggestions and we loved the great drink specials (2 coronas for $3!) Front desk staff always smiling and helpful and great food. Will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurants right on 5th and save tons! La Pesca, El Fogon and Carboncitos are afordable and amazing... just a short walk away.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Great Value!

The hotel is top notch and well worth the money spent. The location is right off of 5th Avenue and very conveniently located. The beach is a short distance away from the hotel (about 5 minutes). The hotel is immaculate...well maintained and very clean. I would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off of 5th Avenue and explore when looking for places to eat. We found that some of the best restaurants were off the main strip.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cottamgal
Ontario, Canada
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect oasis in Playa

Spent two weeks here at the end of January. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the day we had HOT water coming out of the cold taps.(steamed so badly that it set off the smoke detector).It was rectified the next day and apologies received from Rob. Food and drinks were excellent at the Mayan Bistro....very pleasant atmosphere to socialize with other guests. Room was basic, a little musty and balcony too small for chairs so avoid room 2202 above kids pool if you like sitting out. That said it didn't bother us enough to be bothered asking to move.All in all a fantastic holiday. Love Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants nearby so don't limit yourself to the Mayan Bistro if you are there for more than a few days. Fave..Ajua and Kool Fish

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peoria,IL
Mar 7, 2010

a peaceful oasis

This hotel is so close to shops and restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near several eco-parks

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Montreal
May 16, 2010

A charming hotel in a great location

This was our second stay at this hotel and it doesn't get any better. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area and the property is well maintained and comfortable. They have a great little bistro on site and the food is delicious. We like that the adult side is quiet with a nice pool and the new lounge chairs were a nice bonus. The bed in the standard room was more comfortable than the one in the deluxe we had last time so i slept great. The hotel is right off the main drag but quiet at night if you are not on street level. You're in walking distance to almost all nightlife, restaurants and bars and I like that it's in the north end of town. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Argentinian steakhouse just 2 blocks north called El Diez and the best mojitos at La Hora Feliz can be found one block north (both on 5th ave).

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tchili
Roanoke, VA
Jun 28, 2012

Awesome!

We have been staying here for the past several years and it just gets better every time. The hotel staff are the best ever, always friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help and make your trip the best. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, quiet and overlooked the beautiful gardens. We are already looking to come back next year or even in January or February. They also give you a pass to Kool Beach that is a wonderful, clean beach. Very nice waiters who bring whatever you want or need on the beach. It is our place in paradise! Thank you to all of your wonderful staff at Adventura Mexicana, we love you guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Davison, MI
Dec 31, 2009

Fantastic location

This hotel was ideally located in the northern section of Playa Del Carmen. Just a short walk to a fabulous beach and next to a great Italian restaurant named Pummarolas. Directly across from the hotel is a fantastic fitness center called Evolve. My wife and I had a marvelous time and will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First timer at Playa
New York, NY, USA
Aug 13, 2011

a small pearl

The hotel is small, quiet and beautiful. Believe all it says in the web site. Very clean and the front staff can't do enough to please you. The only possible draw back is that it has three floors and no elevator We were on the third floor and didn't mind (actualy we welcomed the exercise) but make sure you are booked in the main floor (or 2nd floor) if going up stairs is a problem for you. The free continental breakfast is only juice, cofee, toast and danish but the entries on the menu were delicious and a bargain (about $4 US each) considering you are in the 5th Ave area. I was pleasently surprised to get a chair for free at the beach (courtesy of the hotel). Walmart is walking distance. Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behind the hotel there is a Chinese "restaurant" called Shanghai. It's realy only a store front with a table or two, without even air conditioning but don't be mislead, the food is amazing, its Chinese-home- cooking prepared on the spot by the owner's wife. Delicious and very inexpensive.

Back to menu Return to top