$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granby
Jan 3, 2009

Cute hotel, excellent staff

My husband and I stayed at the Aventura Mexicana over New Year's. The location is awesome, only half a block from 5th avenue (lots of restaurants, bars, and shopping) and about 2 blocks from the beach. Pool was OK, water was chilly and only a few lounge chairs. It was well-maintained however. The continental breakfast was small (bread and pastries) but included fresh-squeezed OJ. We had a king size bed, very comfortable. The bathroom was just a toilet and shower, comfortable size. Good size closet/dresser. The staff was very helpful with every request we made, so polite and nice. We're already trying to plan a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Media Luna on Fifth Ave.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Take me back!
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 2, 2009

I want to go back!

The hotel was clean, friendly, welcoming, and had the perfect location along the main strip in Playa: close enough to be convenient yet far enough away to be quiet. You do have to walk a few blocks to the beach but unless you get one of the few beach-front hotels in Playa you can expect to walk a little ways. And trust me, it is worth it once you get to the white sandy beaches and turquois water. Quinta Avenida is filled with shops, restaraunts, art galleries, and travel kiosks that offer several tours/day trips/excursions. There are so many things to do close to Playa that we can't wait to come back. We spent the last 2 nights of our vacation in Cancun at a big resort and found ourselves wishing we were still at the Aventura Mexicana in our quaint poolside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caltravel
Business
NY
Jun 11, 2014

Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary G.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

family trip

Aventura Mexicana hotel ,it was the best experience , really clean, very nice staff and helpful, close to 5ta avenida , It was amazing experience ill will stay againg next on my next trip to Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David B.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Food glorious food!

We booked this Playa Del Carmen hotel on the strength of reviews, particularly the food ones, and we certainly weren't disappointed. My wife has intolerances to wheat and dairy and travelling can be a bit of a nightmare because of this. Trying to find a restaurant each day which understands the problem and is able to cope with it, can be daunting. So, even though we would be eating at the hotel for all eight days of our stay, we chose the VIP all inclusive option and I'm so glad we did. Forget about the typical high-volume buffet meals of so many All Inclusive hotels, the wonderful chefs prepared every meal fresh and, most importantly for us, the staff made sure my wife's dietary requirements were met. I can honestly say that the food was amongst the nicest we have had anywhere, from the Arctic Circle to Hawaii. Drinks. Wow! Again, simply the best, using premium brands, but be warned, the cocktails are strong. Very strong! Our poolside deluxe suite was extremely comfortable. and spacious. Two small adjustments would have made this stay perfect. Coffee after dinner was limited to espresso, whereas I would have preferred a longer drink. Also, there was no full-length wardrobe in our suite, which meant some of my wife's outfits were bunched up on the floor of the unit. Both very minor issues though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karolgee
Business
UK
Feb 14, 2014

Excellent location

Great location. The main restaurant and shopping street is just around the corner yet or it is still very quiet in the hotel. The beaches are easy walking distance and they have a deal with the very nice Indigo beach club which means you don't have to pay to use their sun loungers. When we stayed on the Saturday night another nearby hotel has a disco on the roof, which was a bit noisy. We stayed for 5 days in early February and have already booked to stay again next month after travelling around Mexico, Guatemala and Belize. There is a pretty garden. The staff are friendly. The rooms are rather small and fairly basic for the money and the swimming pools are very small. At $150 usd a night it is more than I wanted to pay but the location makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badfish
Business
Weymouth U.K.
Apr 26, 2014

Something for everyone in PDC

Had a Junior Suite for five nights, made use of the fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Ate in the Mayan Bistro on the first night, very good. Plenty of areas to laze in the sun or shade, nice gardens o.k. pools. Some of the back street restaurants are worth trying. PapaCharly Pasta and Loco Joe for a burger were excellent value. Took the ADO bus to Tulum, split the day between the Mayan site and the beach. Took a taxi to Cenote Chaak Tun for an easy 3 hour excursion. Then used the same taxi driver for our trip to the ferry for Isla Mujeres, 4 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get away from 5th Avenue.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreolard
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great deal, great stay

This hotel is near the end of the main strip (5th Ave), and a bit of a walk from the ADO bus station, so backpacking with a heavy bag or needing to make trips to the other end of the strip was somewhat of a pain (~20 min walk). Overall location was good though - the best foods we found were near us, and the local MEGA market wasn't too far away. Staff was always very helpful, and the room was nicely air conditioned. Hot water was a plentiful, and the hotel overall was nice. Free WiFi was fast, but the signal isn't strong in all areas. One thing that bothered me was that the blinds were almost transparent, and since we were facing the street on the lower floor, it made me a little nervous about who might have been peeking in. The pools were smaller than the picture depicts, but why be in a pool when the beach is a couple blocks away? We also got flea bites, but after having the hotel staff change the sheets the problem was solved. Breakfast was O.K. - food could be better. These factors aside, it was overall a great experience at a great price and I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Oct 13, 2011

close to the main 5th but far from the beach.

this hotel was good for me, 1 block away from 5th av, where all the shops and restaurant are and 10 min. walk to the beach, the beach club is amazing overthere with a buffet style breakfast for 95 pesos, very good food. nice furniture trendy and a magnificent view of the ocean. hotel in general is good but don't compare with the big 4 or 5 stars hotel all inclusive type. this is a different way to take a vacation a la carte. lots of hotel boutiques around near the beach and the 5th ave would be between the 12 and 4th calle norte hotel aventura mexicana is at 24th calle norte. overall good time overthere. the pool can be better.but was ok.(cleanliness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

deal with your hotel for excursion---for insurance purpose and pick-up and drop-off shuttle.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpile
Business
CT
Feb 28, 2012

Good value, nice grounds, staff

We had a good time here. The room was adequate. The location was perfect, just a little bit away from the main drag, and far away enough from the busier part of the main drag. Very little noise. The pools were good, and lots of good locations to sunbathe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carbonocitas

Back to menu Return to top