Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
140 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agustin and Gise
Business
New York, NY
Jan 1, 2014

Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and beaches were the best. The location of the hotel cannot be better. The pools are very nice, the restaurant is very good, and the environment is excellent and peaceful. We strongly recommend this hotel! The free breakfast is good enough, but for very little money you can add from a menu whatever you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Playa Paraiso in Tulum and to Akumal to swim with turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda from Maine
Business
Biddeford, Maine
Oct 18, 2009

Died and gone to heaven!

I hadn't been to Playa in 12 yrs! I hardly recognized it! Still wonderful atmosphere and great areas to drift aimlessly with joy! Our hotel was so close to the action, but felt like an oasis , with no noise and plenty of peace and quiet.[...], the masseuse worked her magic on the stressed body, Bistro staff, especially [...], provided smiling sweetness to daily meals and Happy Hour!We are already planning our trip back within 9 months.Definitely stay at Adventura Mexicana!As I said above, What is not to Love?!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A wonderful Mexican designer called Fernando Rodriguez, is located on 5th.Each piece of his jewelry is unique and a work of art.He would sell out if he were located in NYC.His store is called IDE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davison, MI
Dec 31, 2009

Fantastic location

This hotel was ideally located in the northern section of Playa Del Carmen. Just a short walk to a fabulous beach and next to a great Italian restaurant named Pummarolas. Directly across from the hotel is a fantastic fitness center called Evolve. My wife and I had a marvelous time and will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Mar 21, 2011

Aventura Mexicana - Great Experience!

Great, friendly staff. Clean and not too expensive. A short walk to the main part of 5th ave, but far enough away to be a little less crowded than the main area. Couldn't have asked for a better deal, and [...]at the front desk was beyond helpful when it came to tours and advice. Highly recommended hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Fusion bar for outdoor beach side entertainment. They have an outdoor stage with live music and also put on a fire dancing show on the beach. Not over crowded and very cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 18, 2011

Aventura Mexicana

Aventura Mexicana was amazing! It's located far enough away from the craziness of 5th ave but it's just around the corner. The breakfast that is included is good and the prices if you want to order off the menu are really affordable. Our room was always clean and of course the towel art was fun! The air conditioning worked really well which was good after climbing the temple at Coba. The staff is very friendly and helpful! I would definitely stay here again if I go to Playa again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Bell
Business
West Decatur, PA
Apr 10, 2011

Couldn't have been any better!

7 night stay with a room opening to a garden view. The staff was absolutely the most wonderful I've ever encountered. Jose at the front desk was incredible and the wait staff in the Mayan Bistro were unbelievable. Our room was kept nice and neat each day by Rossy and we go to know the other vacationers while we were there. It is a super location, right off of 5th Avenue and was only two short blocks from the Kool Beach Club. We would definitely go back and stay there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Fogon Restaurant -- authentic Mexico food at a very low price for all the food you received. The food was great and the staff were nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cryy
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oct 23, 2011

Loved this little hotel, very comfortable - would definately stay again

Pulling up to the hotel was not really what I expected when the driver said here we are but once we got in it was a different story altogether. Check in was very easy and a breeze, ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful/ personable. The hotel is very charming and relaxing, it has two water areas, a family side and an adult side. Pools may be on the small side for some but they were perfect for us, very few people were in either at any time and it was great to be able to cool off. There is a community computer with internet to use if you didn't bring your own, took me a bit to switch to english but worked fine once I did. If you want to book tours etc it is very easy to do at the front of the hotel. It is very easy to get around from this hotel and is close to 5th but you don't get the noise, there's an OXXO around the corner for beer smokes etc -- the bar fridge was nice to keep drinks cold for when the bar was closed. The bed was comfortable and the rooms very clean, a/c and fan worked very well, no problems at all. We later stayed at a 4 star all inclusive on Cozumel and I Much rather enjoyed this hotel over that one, Kudos to Aventura and the staff that make it this way. Would come back any time with no hesitation. Mucho Gracias!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cottamgal
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect oasis in Playa

Spent two weeks here at the end of January. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the day we had HOT water coming out of the cold taps.(steamed so badly that it set off the smoke detector).It was rectified the next day and apologies received from Rob. Food and drinks were excellent at the Mayan Bistro....very pleasant atmosphere to socialize with other guests. Room was basic, a little musty and balcony too small for chairs so avoid room 2202 above kids pool if you like sitting out. That said it didn't bother us enough to be bothered asking to move.All in all a fantastic holiday. Love Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants nearby so don't limit yourself to the Mayan Bistro if you are there for more than a few days. Fave..Ajua and Kool Fish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eyegun
Business
Columbia Gorge Oregon
Feb 21, 2012

Awesome little place

This was my second time staying at the Aventura Mexicana (2010 and 2012). Excellent location right next to 5th st where all the action is, but far enough off (about 1.5 blocks) to avoid the noise. Rooms are absolutely sterile. Good TV's, three pools all well maintained. There's a bistro on the property with good food. Never saw a mouse, rat, bug, or even an ant. There's a resident stray calico kitty on the property who is a well-mannered mouser. I'm sure she would enjoy a can of tuna (get it from an Oxxo store nearby). She has issues with her eyes (I think she's partly blind) but is very sweet. She'll keep her distance but if you talk nicely to her she'll approach you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your liquor, soft drinks, and snacks at the nearby Oxxo store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
piincusa
Business
North Carolina, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Great Family Hotel

I just came back from a week-long vacation in Playa Del Carmen and I am very glad that I chose this hotel. All what you have seen in this forum about Aventura Mexicana is true. Great hotel with friendly staff; very well maintained with beautiful gardens and pools with nice bistro inside. Very safe and conveniently located to everything in Playa Del Carmen with free internet and parking. I strongly recommend this hotel for everybody regardless of age and/or trip purpose. In fact, I am already making plans to come back in the Fall to celebrate a special occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for everything, both Fifth Avenue for dining/shopping and the Kool Beach club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top