$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BugVern
Family
Edison, NJ
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent

Great location, awesome restaurant and the best staff. I enjoyed the hotel immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mayan Bistro is GREAT!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cottamgal
Friends
Ontario, Canada
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect oasis in Playa

Spent two weeks here at the end of January. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the day we had HOT water coming out of the cold taps.(steamed so badly that it set off the smoke detector).It was rectified the next day and apologies received from Rob. Food and drinks were excellent at the Mayan Bistro....very pleasant atmosphere to socialize with other guests. Room was basic, a little musty and balcony too small for chairs so avoid room 2202 above kids pool if you like sitting out. That said it didn't bother us enough to be bothered asking to move.All in all a fantastic holiday. Love Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants nearby so don't limit yourself to the Mayan Bistro if you are there for more than a few days. Fave..Ajua and Kool Fish

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eyegun
Business
Columbia Gorge Oregon
Feb 21, 2012

Awesome little place

This was my second time staying at the Aventura Mexicana (2010 and 2012). Excellent location right next to 5th st where all the action is, but far enough off (about 1.5 blocks) to avoid the noise. Rooms are absolutely sterile. Good TV's, three pools all well maintained. There's a bistro on the property with good food. Never saw a mouse, rat, bug, or even an ant. There's a resident stray calico kitty on the property who is a well-mannered mouser. I'm sure she would enjoy a can of tuna (get it from an Oxxo store nearby). She has issues with her eyes (I think she's partly blind) but is very sweet. She'll keep her distance but if you talk nicely to her she'll approach you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your liquor, soft drinks, and snacks at the nearby Oxxo store.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
piincusa
Family
North Carolina, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Great Family Hotel

I just came back from a week-long vacation in Playa Del Carmen and I am very glad that I chose this hotel. All what you have seen in this forum about Aventura Mexicana is true. Great hotel with friendly staff; very well maintained with beautiful gardens and pools with nice bistro inside. Very safe and conveniently located to everything in Playa Del Carmen with free internet and parking. I strongly recommend this hotel for everybody regardless of age and/or trip purpose. In fact, I am already making plans to come back in the Fall to celebrate a special occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for everything, both Fifth Avenue for dining/shopping and the Kool Beach club.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K.C. Gang
Family
Kansas City, Missouri
May 17, 2012

Good Times

We love this hotel and are already planning to return. The location was perfect - walking distance to the beach and 5th Ave.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the Mayan Bistro was outstanding and the pool area was very pretty and relaxing. Lots of flowering trees and waterfalls. We can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free chairs and umbrella at Kool and Indigo beach for hotel guests.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ESmo
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

Aventura Mexicana

This is a very sweet hotel, in a great location, with everything we needed to be happy and comfortable. The staff and restaurant waiters were hard working and friendly, always ready to help with any request. The rooms were an interesting style and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay in Playa and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All varieties of shopping, dining, bars and excursions.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tchili
Couples
Roanoke, VA
Jun 28, 2012

Awesome!

We have been staying here for the past several years and it just gets better every time. The hotel staff are the best ever, always friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help and make your trip the best. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, quiet and overlooked the beautiful gardens. We are already looking to come back next year or even in January or February. They also give you a pass to Kool Beach that is a wonderful, clean beach. Very nice waiters who bring whatever you want or need on the beach. It is our place in paradise! Thank you to all of your wonderful staff at Adventura Mexicana, we love you guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holly N
Couples
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 9, 2012

Perfect!

We loved our room~ it included a microwave, coffeemaker, plates/cups/bowls/utensils, and very large jug of water to refill our water bottles daily ... air conditioning, and a safe for valuables. The front desk staff was wonderful, warm and welcoming. The location was also wonderful~ just a half block from the main drag, and not too far from the bus station from Cancun (you should take a cab from the bus station to hotel, but it's pretty short). The hotel had wonderful character, was clean, and perfect for the price. We just needed a stopover location before heading to Tulum, and this was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you head to the main restaurant drag and turn right, and head down the street about 5-6 blocks, there is a wonderful Cuban restaurant. I can't remember the name, but it was very festive (live music), and had delicious food, desserts, and drinks (order the flan- it's phenomenal!)

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doctoroctor
Couples
nottingham, england
Aug 16, 2012

gorgeous place!

stayed in the honeymoon suite! Nots sure why but we didnt complain and it was amazing. lovely kid free adult pool. cracking breakfast included (cakes!). lovely little hideaway suntraps. Nice and quiet. Resteraunt was great (bit pricey). Really close to 5th avenue. hotels beach was a little bit of a walk BUT included sunbeds and towels. Really helpful staff with good english (i know, i know were in mexico but its just soooooo much easier!) helped us book some awesome trips with altournative. GO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

you'll probably end up on 5th avenue but if you turn LEFT rather than mega busy right its a little cheaper and quieter...

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aleksey and Marina K.
Family
Denver, Colorado
Dec 10, 2012

Great Family Vacation

Very good location, cozy rooma, excellent service, reasonable price. Will recommend to my friends. You will be happy if your room cleaning will be taken care by Lupita. Nicholas is the best in restaurant service, though other guys are very friendly and great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laetitiachile
Couples
San Francisco California
Jan 20, 2013

Very nice

We had a wonderful time in this cozy hotel. People are very nice, willing to help you every time you need it. Nice, clean rooms. The restaurant is right in the middle of the garden, offering a great view.Free breakfast! Nothing Better than sweet bread and Mexican bread. Free wifi! So helpful to keep you conected. And the best, they let us check out at 12pm instead of 11am without extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frida's restaurant just a few blocks Away. Free margarita with ur meal! Just stay away from people trying to bargain you.

Back to menu Return to top