Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
140 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, Texas
Jun 17, 2011

Cute and peaceful place to stay

My family and I went to several places and stayed in different hotels throughout our trip and this one was the cutest and most peaceful hotel we encountered. It is located one block off Quinta Avenida so restaurants and shops are walking distance. Walking into the lobby and towards the pool area, everything is so quiet and peaceful. Pool areas, garden, and restaurant are very well kept. If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach then this one may not be for you. The hotel does have an area on the beach reserved for their guests but you do have to walk quite a distance to get there. Hotel does provide beach towels and beds/chairs/umbrellas on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
futbolenlaplaya
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 19, 2011

5 Min Stroll to the Most Beautiful Beach

We had a wonderful time at Mexicana Aventura this past week. The location was perfect for us - close to the beach and just far away from the big crowds on Ave 5. Two things I would change - check in was slow (especially after a long day of travel), and the beds are very firm. Otherwise, paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 11, 2010

Aventura Mexicana

This was our second visit to Aventura Mexicana. We would come back again. It is a very quite hotel so if you're looking for something laid back and restful this is it. If you're looking for an active busy place with lots of activities for your kids this is NOT it. The hotel grounds are pretty and well maintained. All staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Italian Resturant that is located right next door is excellent. We recommend eating there at least once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farmerta
Business
Oxford, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Charming little hotel

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at Hotel Aventura Mexicana. Admittedly, there are some eccentricities (such as with the plumbing) that one must be willing to overlook or accept with a sense of humor. Everyone on the staff is friendly and helpful. Kudos to those who designed and those who maintain the attractive garden elements. The continental breakfast is elegantly served, but needs a little variation from day to day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 18, 2011

Great hotel. Great vacation.

The hotel is in a great location. Close enough to the beach and 5th street shops and restaurants for easy walking, but far enough away to make it feel like a secluded treasure. The hotel was clean, the food great, the staff friendly. My mattress was not the greatest, but that is the only negative I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off of 5th street sometimes and walk down 10th or 15th. The taco stands are amazing. You will not only save money, but your mouth will thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin America Fan
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Aug 24, 2009

Fun and culturally unique, but....

We loved the 2 different pools and thought the atmosphere was a positive cultural experience. The center courtyard and room layout had more of an international flavor and was a fun place for the family. It was clean the staff was friendly. The only area to improve was the shower in one of our rooms kept loosing pressure due to a water pump failure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from the hotel was the main night-life and tourist street. It is full of everything from souvenirs to food to money exchange to pharmacies to stores. The place was alive....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warshington, DC
Jul 5, 2009

Nice, clean, friendly, good value.

Pleasant, attractive, clean place with helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money. It's at the north end of town, a long-ish walk from bus station. This was the only issue for us. If not traveling by bus, not a problem. I've seen the towels folded into Swans before, but these guys do Elephants too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of eating on 5th Ave. and overpaying in tourist traps playing elevator music, head a few blocks South on 10th Avenue and turn right for a few blocks on Constitution and there's a string of places across from the Mega Supermarket that are a lot better where local people eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2009

Beautiful Tropical Getaway

Our stay was wonderful. Close to everything, nice, clean, quiet, and the staff was very helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the restaurants on 5th Avenue, walk off the beaten path for much better food at a fraction of the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric - Budget Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 26, 2009

Great location

We actually avoided most of the amenities the hotel had to offer (spa, pools, & restaurant) so that we could explore the surrounding area (swimming on the beach, snorkeling, SCUBA diving, sightseeing, and clubbing). There are several good restaurants on the main strip (5th Ave) but we actually liked going to 30th Ave for more local eats. We took a day trip to Cozumel via the passenger ferry for SCUBA diving. This is highly recommended as you get to dive in one of the prettiest reefs in the world. Our biggest complaint is that the bathroom and the bedroom are one and the same (only separated by a tall partial wall). I'm not sure about everyone else, but I definitely do not like listening to my significant other's bowel movements! Finally, be sure to bring/buy bug spray. There are a lot of mosquitoes and we were eaten alive. This was compounded by the fact that one or two somehow found their way into our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adventure away from 5th Ave. There are several good restaurants on 30th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 8, 2010

Aventura Mexican

The hotel is near 5th avenue shopping area but more towards the end.. It's also a short walk from the beach. If you want the shade of an umbrella it's def a bit more pesos for that but def worth it once you get to the beach with just the complimentary towels. The drinks at the bar in the restaurant of the hotel are pretty good. The flautas were tasty. The adult pool is small but is open 24 hours which is rather convenient. The complimentary breakfast is basic with bread jams and juice/coffee. Honestly I stayed at this hotel but walked on a daily basis down to the end of the strip near 1st. I would def go to Cozumel rent a scooter stop in every bar around the island and find a nice beach for your own private swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain your butt off or keep it moving. Don't jump at the first price I've had people drop half the price they started with just because I decided to walk away. The bus is a cheap bet to cancun only about 10 bucks from playa and even the bus to the airport is around that. Drops you off near 2nd st and 5th ave. The rip off is being suckered into a taxi in the airport wait until you are outside and watch those inside because they radio those outside you are coming. They say 90 dollars to playa but you can easily get there for 65 bucks. Or even better take the bus for 10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top