$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laetitiachile
San Francisco California
Jan 20, 2013

Very nice

We had a wonderful time in this cozy hotel. People are very nice, willing to help you every time you need it. Nice, clean rooms. The restaurant is right in the middle of the garden, offering a great view.Free breakfast! Nothing Better than sweet bread and Mexican bread. Free wifi! So helpful to keep you conected. And the best, they let us check out at 12pm instead of 11am without extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frida's restaurant just a few blocks Away. Free margarita with ur meal! Just stay away from people trying to bargain you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peace seekers
Business
West Palm Beach,FL
Jun 24, 2010

Ok, for last minute

We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WiscoCouple
Business
Eau Claire, WI
May 30, 2010

Had a great trip!

This was my first time to Mexico and my fiance had been to 4 other cities in Mexico, but never to Playa. The concierage in the hotel was very friendly, but you are better off going out on your own to find excursions because everything is negotiable on the streets. The cleaning people do not speak a lick of english which is ok because they can walkie talkie someone who does. The location was close to 5th Avenue (the pedestrian walking street) and close enough to the beach, for us :-) Be prepared to do a lot of walking anyway because driving was much different from what I'm used to, which made it rather stressing, but managable. Most of the entertainment in the town is within walking distance and taxis are cheap. Great, great food just about at any restaurant on 5th and you can find great drink specials. We were really limited on cash so we took advantage of going to the gas stations and loading up a backpack full of $1.00 XX Equis and walking around the streets... Our key didnt work a couple of times, once housekeeping had to let us in and the other the maintenence guy was able to "break In" to the room rather easily through the sliding glass door when our key got stuck in the lock. The floors weren't mopped but everything else was fairly clean. The safe is awesome because you can set your own passwords, but would not be large enough to hold a laptop. We didn't come with super high expectations and we certainly aren't accustomed to luxuries. So we didn't let anything bring us down. It was a great trip and probably wouldnt stay anywhere else but Aventura Mexicana next time we come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day for $11.00/person. Rent a moped for the day for no more than $20.00 each. Then ask a local how to get to Bob Marleys Bar. It's a about a 20-30 minute moped ride way on the other side of the island, but the beach drive is undescribable and it is all untampered waters. Pull over anywhere along the beach(we happened to get a flat...but they have roadside assistance constantly driving around to help tourists) The beaches are rocky but you CAN find some sandy areas to swim, cool sea shells and the views/alone time with a significant other is priceless.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, FR
May 29, 2010

Enjoy

Staff very kind, close to the beach, perfect for a week off!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prior Lake, Minnesota
May 27, 2010

Great Stay, Great Price, Great Time

I have been to Mexico many times before this trip, and I have loved every single vacation. Aventura Mexicana was a great hotel, for a great price. It is 2 blocks from the beach, very easy to find, and is very cozy and has an exotic feel on the inside. You would never know you were not on the beach. The staff was beyond friendly and was always willing to help, offer advice, book reservations for tours, just about do anything for you. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Another great thing about this hotel is that it is a 10 min walk to the pier (where the ferry to Cozumel is), it is 1 block from the beginning of the downtown stretch of shops and stands. It is in a great location and we all had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From this hotel, we went to a place called "El Fagon" which is a local spot that many people who live in mexico go to because it is authentic and 3 blocks from the hotel. It was about $5 US for a large plate of fajitas or tacos. There are many restaurants on the way downtown on 5th ave as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Business
Montreal
May 16, 2010

A charming hotel in a great location

This was our second stay at this hotel and it doesn't get any better. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area and the property is well maintained and comfortable. They have a great little bistro on site and the food is delicious. We like that the adult side is quiet with a nice pool and the new lounge chairs were a nice bonus. The bed in the standard room was more comfortable than the one in the deluxe we had last time so i slept great. The hotel is right off the main drag but quiet at night if you are not on street level. You're in walking distance to almost all nightlife, restaurants and bars and I like that it's in the north end of town. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Argentinian steakhouse just 2 blocks north called El Diez and the best mojitos at La Hora Feliz can be found one block north (both on 5th ave).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 8, 2010

Aventura Mexican

The hotel is near 5th avenue shopping area but more towards the end.. It's also a short walk from the beach. If you want the shade of an umbrella it's def a bit more pesos for that but def worth it once you get to the beach with just the complimentary towels. The drinks at the bar in the restaurant of the hotel are pretty good. The flautas were tasty. The adult pool is small but is open 24 hours which is rather convenient. The complimentary breakfast is basic with bread jams and juice/coffee. Honestly I stayed at this hotel but walked on a daily basis down to the end of the strip near 1st. I would def go to Cozumel rent a scooter stop in every bar around the island and find a nice beach for your own private swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain your butt off or keep it moving. Don't jump at the first price I've had people drop half the price they started with just because I decided to walk away. The bus is a cheap bet to cancun only about 10 bucks from playa and even the bus to the airport is around that. Drops you off near 2nd st and 5th ave. The rip off is being suckered into a taxi in the airport wait until you are outside and watch those inside because they radio those outside you are coming. They say 90 dollars to playa but you can easily get there for 65 bucks. Or even better take the bus for 10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2010

Cool, Laid Back Place

This hotel is a block from 5th Ave and 2 blocks from the beach. We walked everywhere. We had a nice breakfat at their restaurant every morning and then off to the beach for the day. We returned to chillout and clean up at the hotel and then off for dinner and shpping on 5th Ave. we loved it....especially Olivia the house cat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Smith
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel and Staff

Great hotel. The staff was very friendly and knowlegable of the area. Only a half a block from 5th Ave. Less than 10 min walk to the beach. The restaurant was excellent. Prices are similar to the places on 5th Ave without the crowds or noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
justkickit
Business
palm beach
Apr 29, 2010

Stay Away! Thief working in the Hotel.

My wife and I have stayed in hotels all of the world and this hotel was a nightmare. I read all the mostly great reviews about this hotel so I decided to book it instead of a resort. My wife and I arrived there around 2pm. Our room wasn't ready yet. The hotel had wifi so I took out my wife's new HP laptop to use in the lobby since I noticed everyone was using their laptops. When I say everyone I mean not just the guest but the lady at the front desk, the workers in the restaurant. It seemed like every worker had a mini netbook that they were using during work hours. We walked to the pool area trying to get the internet connected. It was clear that the lady at the front desk knew that we had a laptop cause she gave me the passcode and helped us get me connected and alot of the women workers were outside walking around and saw us holding the laptop. We checked into our room and then later went to dinner around 7pm. Upon leaving the room she noticed a person in the last room in the corner sitting outside with their hat low on their head . She thought it was a guest because many guests were sitting outside the room.The lights outside the rooms were dim. I locked the door and check 3 times to make sure it was locked. We came back at 8:30pm and the door was still locked. After entering the room I noticed the laptop missing with the charger. I told my wife, she thought I was joking.I checked around the room for 20 minutes. We immediately went downstairs and told the guy at the front desk to call the police. The police came and my wife spoke to them since she speaks spanish. We told them what happened and wanted them to check with the workers. They did nothing and told us that we needed to go to the station to fill out a report and talk about it. They did not care a bit and shook hands with all the workers and left. The guy at the front desk said we had to wait until the manager came the next morning to do anything. I asked him how many keys there were and who has them.He told me 3. I asked him for the other 2. He found 1 But the cleaning lady's key was missing the room key. That is the proof that someone saw us with the laptop, stole the key and gave it their friend to sneak into the room when we left to take the laptop. I asked if they had video of the outside of the room. He said yes and I asked if we could look at it to find out what happened. He said he had to wait until the manager came in the morning at 9am. We went down the next morning and were told the manager is busy and will be in around 10am or so.I guess this wasn't important enough for her to come in on time. When the manager came, she said that they would have to investigate this and talked with everyone cause this never happened before and the workers have been there many years even though we saw many ladies that don't look a day over 18 yrs and she wanted us to go to the police station and spend our vacation there. I knew we wouldn't get our laptop back so I was not gonna go spend my last 2 days talking to the police and I told her at least just refund us the cost of the room.They made it seem like we were lying and were trying to stay there for free.The laptop did cost 2x what we paid for our stay there. She said she will have an answer for us later. When we returned she said that its impossible that someone stole our laptop and that no one went into the room and that it could of been a guest or we could be making it up. That is the biggest BS I have ever heard and that they would only refund 1 night. I asked her to check the video and she said it doesn't work. I asked her why was the key missing and she said cause the original broke and they had to give me the maids key. They made up excuses for everything to protect themselves and made us look like we made this up to get a refund for the room.Later on that night my wife also noticed that her new Ralph Lauren Romance perfume had been stolen also. Do not take anything valuable with you and let anyone see it caus...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The adventurous family guy
Business
Vancouver BC
Apr 26, 2010

Misleading web photos but REALLY nice

Great for accessing ALL the offers of the Mayan Reviera through a central location, knowledgable staff (in terms of excursions), and a quiet alternative to the all inclusives

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top