$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laetitiachile
San Francisco California
Jan 20, 2013

Very nice

We had a wonderful time in this cozy hotel. People are very nice, willing to help you every time you need it. Nice, clean rooms. The restaurant is right in the middle of the garden, offering a great view.Free breakfast! Nothing Better than sweet bread and Mexican bread. Free wifi! So helpful to keep you conected. And the best, they let us check out at 12pm instead of 11am without extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frida's restaurant just a few blocks Away. Free margarita with ur meal! Just stay away from people trying to bargain you.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2010

Nice staff; ok hotel

The staff was nice but the hotel was average. We had to look at several different rooms before we found one to be suitable (several smelled musty or the A/C didn't work). The bathrooms were outdated. The pool was good enough (not luxury but nice) and the restaurant was good and accomodating to special requests. The ocean view is really a view of a cruise liner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eugene, or
Dec 2, 2010

My Review of Aventura Mexicana

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legends sports bar is close by, and its cheaper the 5th ave. there is also a taco place by there and its good too. They are both off of 10th.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Dec 1, 2010

Loved this quite boutigue hotel

This hotel was ausome, we loved it. We walked on the beach, stolled through the many shops, relaxed by the quite pool and ate at the fantastic restaurant. Excellent location and very charming hotel, loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The chef at the hotel restaurant was terrific, the fresh fish specials were the best ever.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Business
Montreal, Canada
Nov 25, 2010

Another Fantastic Stay

Our 3rd stay at this hotel and can't find a thing to complain about. It's a beautiful, quiet and friendly place. Our bartender was amazing at giving restaurant suggestions and we loved the great drink specials (2 coronas for $3!) Front desk staff always smiling and helpful and great food. Will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurants right on 5th and save tons! La Pesca, El Fogon and Carboncitos are afordable and amazing... just a short walk away.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mangiam1
Business
Greenville, SC
Nov 24, 2010

Aventura Mexicana

Hotel experience: very good. Nice room, very good service. they have discount for the beach to rent chairs etc... Ask at the main desk. They give you beach towels too. Rooms are nice and very clean. Beds confortable. Only negative point: the continental breakfast. Really basic and not very good....but not really a problem...there are a lot of good restaurants around...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several club/restaurant on the beach or on 5th avenue. Resaurant Maya at the very corner btw the avenida of the hotel and 5th avenue. One of the most expensive for the city, but very nice....TAKE THE MAYACAFE there....very colorful, good, nice...and a good show when served...

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam
Jul 11, 2010

Very pleasant hotel!

The room ("Moody") was surprisingly big, definitely bigger than expected! It was divided into a living room with a sofa and & big flatscreen TV and a sleeping room with a comfortable king size bed. Although I wasn't on a honeymoon (or even couple) trip, my bed was decorated nicely with towel swans & flowers (and an elephant the other day - attentive detail!). The AC was running fine and helped a lot. On request you could borrow a handy umbrella (unfortunately needed...) and got a discount voucher for the neat gym on the other side of the street. For one day there was no hot water but they repaired it very quickly, well done. The hotel is around the corner to the 5th avenue, the main pedestrian shopping & restaurant area. It is relatively at the beginning of this street, which is actually a pre as it is not noisy but still easy to walk. Breakfast is ok, nothing big, but neither described that way. Service is friendly (maybe a bit too re-active) Only minusses were pool (nice for decoration but much too small for real usage...)and the fact that the promoted "balcony with garden view" is in fact simply the "open hallway" for all rooms on the 1st (European 1st!) floor - thus you don't get a private balcony whatsoever! Wouldn't say that's bad in general, but just don't call it balcony...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Daytours offered by alltournative offtrackadventures are really worth it! They are not offered by the hotel but at a small shop on the right of the 5th avenue (somewhere aroung the 30th calle). You can even get Dutch/German/French speaking guides, next to the English/Spanish ones.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam
Jul 11, 2010

Very pleasant hotel!

The room ("Moody") was surprisingly big, definitely bigger than expected! It was divided into a living room with a sofa and & big flatscreen TV and a sleeping room with a comfortable king size bed. Although I wasn't on a honeymoon (or even couple) trip, my bed was decorated nicely with towel swans & flowers (and an elephant the other day - attentive detail!). The AC was running fine and helped a lot. On request you could borrow a handy umbrella (unfortunately needed...) and got a discount voucher for the neat gym on the other side of the street. For one day there was no hot water but they repaired it very quickly, well done. The hotel is around the corner to the 5th avenue, the main pedestrian shopping & restaurant area. It is relatively at the beginning of this street, which is actually a pre as it is not noisy but still easy to walk. Breakfast is ok, nothing big, but neither described that way. Service is friendly (maybe a bit too re-active) Only minusses were pool (nice for decoration but much too small for real usage...)and the fact that the promoted "balcony with garden view" is in fact simply the "open hallway" for all rooms on the 1st (European 1st!) floor - thus you don't get a private balcony whatsoever! Wouldn't say that's bad in general, but just don't call it balcony...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Daytours offered by alltournative offtrackadventures are really worth it! They are not offered by the hotel but at a small shop on the right of the 5th avenue (somewhere aroung the 30th calle). You can even get Dutch/German/French speaking guides, next to the English/Spanish ones.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jun 30, 2010

Nice little bed & breakfast inn

Nice and clean rooms. Good location. Friendly staff. Everything is great for a 3-star level of hotel/inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel located in 24th St of Playa Del Carment. Within walking distance to 1st St, you can find Ado bus station to Xcarnet/Xel-ha/Tulum or Ferry station to Cozumel. Very convenient.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peace seekers
Business
West Palm Beach,FL
Jun 24, 2010

Ok, for last minute

We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WiscoCouple
Business
Eau Claire, WI
May 30, 2010

Had a great trip!

This was my first time to Mexico and my fiance had been to 4 other cities in Mexico, but never to Playa. The concierage in the hotel was very friendly, but you are better off going out on your own to find excursions because everything is negotiable on the streets. The cleaning people do not speak a lick of english which is ok because they can walkie talkie someone who does. The location was close to 5th Avenue (the pedestrian walking street) and close enough to the beach, for us :-) Be prepared to do a lot of walking anyway because driving was much different from what I'm used to, which made it rather stressing, but managable. Most of the entertainment in the town is within walking distance and taxis are cheap. Great, great food just about at any restaurant on 5th and you can find great drink specials. We were really limited on cash so we took advantage of going to the gas stations and loading up a backpack full of $1.00 XX Equis and walking around the streets... Our key didnt work a couple of times, once housekeeping had to let us in and the other the maintenence guy was able to "break In" to the room rather easily through the sliding glass door when our key got stuck in the lock. The floors weren't mopped but everything else was fairly clean. The safe is awesome because you can set your own passwords, but would not be large enough to hold a laptop. We didn't come with super high expectations and we certainly aren't accustomed to luxuries. So we didn't let anything bring us down. It was a great trip and probably wouldnt stay anywhere else but Aventura Mexicana next time we come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day for $11.00/person. Rent a moped for the day for no more than $20.00 each. Then ask a local how to get to Bob Marleys Bar. It's a about a 20-30 minute moped ride way on the other side of the island, but the beach drive is undescribable and it is all untampered waters. Pull over anywhere along the beach(we happened to get a flat...but they have roadside assistance constantly driving around to help tourists) The beaches are rocky but you CAN find some sandy areas to swim, cool sea shells and the views/alone time with a significant other is priceless.

Back to menu Return to top