$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BugVern
Family
Edison, NJ
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent

Great location, awesome restaurant and the best staff. I enjoyed the hotel immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mayan Bistro is GREAT!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farmerta
Couples
Oxford, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Charming little hotel

We really enjoyed our 5 nights at Hotel Aventura Mexicana. Admittedly, there are some eccentricities (such as with the plumbing) that one must be willing to overlook or accept with a sense of humor. Everyone on the staff is friendly and helpful. Kudos to those who designed and those who maintain the attractive garden elements. The continental breakfast is elegantly served, but needs a little variation from day to day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 3, 2011

Good spot

Located away from the hot spots, but all within walking distance. So when we want peace and quite we can. Unassuming place, definitely no glitz, but clean and neat and the staffers were nice - except for the pressure sell to get us to dine with them on Christmas eve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Dec 17, 2010

Nice stay

Nice hotel. Larger than what it seems from the street. Next to the main avenue (5 AVE) at playa del carmen, where everything happens. Relatively near the beach. More than 2 blocks away, though. Nice staff. In our room the bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a wall that does not go all the way to the ceiling and there is no door. Wasn't a big deal for us, but thought you should know. Not sure if all rooms are this way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2010

Nice staff; ok hotel

The staff was nice but the hotel was average. We had to look at several different rooms before we found one to be suitable (several smelled musty or the A/C didn't work). The bathrooms were outdated. The pool was good enough (not luxury but nice) and the restaurant was good and accomodating to special requests. The ocean view is really a view of a cruise liner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
eugene, or
Dec 2, 2010

My Review of Aventura Mexicana

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legends sports bar is close by, and its cheaper the 5th ave. there is also a taco place by there and its good too. They are both off of 10th.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gig Harbor, WA
Dec 1, 2010

Loved this quite boutigue hotel

This hotel was ausome, we loved it. We walked on the beach, stolled through the many shops, relaxed by the quite pool and ate at the fantastic restaurant. Excellent location and very charming hotel, loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The chef at the hotel restaurant was terrific, the fresh fish specials were the best ever.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CeeLou
Couples
Montreal, Canada
Nov 25, 2010

Another Fantastic Stay

Our 3rd stay at this hotel and can't find a thing to complain about. It's a beautiful, quiet and friendly place. Our bartender was amazing at giving restaurant suggestions and we loved the great drink specials (2 coronas for $3!) Front desk staff always smiling and helpful and great food. Will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the restaurants right on 5th and save tons! La Pesca, El Fogon and Carboncitos are afordable and amazing... just a short walk away.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mangiam1
Couples
Greenville, SC
Nov 24, 2010

Aventura Mexicana

Hotel experience: very good. Nice room, very good service. they have discount for the beach to rent chairs etc... Ask at the main desk. They give you beach towels too. Rooms are nice and very clean. Beds confortable. Only negative point: the continental breakfast. Really basic and not very good....but not really a problem...there are a lot of good restaurants around...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several club/restaurant on the beach or on 5th avenue. Resaurant Maya at the very corner btw the avenida of the hotel and 5th avenue. One of the most expensive for the city, but very nice....TAKE THE MAYACAFE there....very colorful, good, nice...and a good show when served...

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
MD
Jun 30, 2010

Nice little bed & breakfast inn

Nice and clean rooms. Good location. Friendly staff. Everything is great for a 3-star level of hotel/inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel located in 24th St of Playa Del Carment. Within walking distance to 1st St, you can find Ado bus station to Xcarnet/Xel-ha/Tulum or Ferry station to Cozumel. Very convenient.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peace seekers
Couples
West Palm Beach,FL
Jun 24, 2010

Ok, for last minute

We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top