$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
140 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NandM
Ireland
Feb 11, 2013

Excellent

Great location - just around the corner from all the shops, bars, restaurants and beach but step in the door of the hotel and you are immediately in an oasis of quiet and calm, away from the hustle of 5th Ave. Good breakfast, especially the freshly baked sweet bread selection every morning. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our first room was right beside the restaurant but we were moved the following morning as we are not early risers (breakfast starts at 7am). Parking outside the front door - we never arrived without finding an available space. The only issue was that the bathroom in the room had no door and the wall did not reach the ceiling (so really just a partition)...not a level of intimacy we're used to but we worked around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CeeLou
Business
Montreal, QC
Nov 26, 2009

A Fantastic Stay!

The hotel and location were great. Aventura Mexicana is beautifully kept, clean and the staff was very friendly. You are in walking distance to everything and the front desk was very helpful with directions and tips. We only ate there once but food was great and drink prices very reasonable. If I had to find one thing to "complain" about it would have to be the beds. I've stayed in mexico a few times before and know the beds are generally hard...but for whatever reason we found this bed pretty uncomfortable. All in all, this is a great little place and we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The further from the main street (5th ave.) you go, the better the prices! We found so many great restaurants and bars a few blocks from the beach and saved alot of money by buying snacks and drinks at the supermarket (Mega) and taking them to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teinertone
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Aug 11, 2009

great small hotel

Super clean rooms with beautiful grounds. Very pretty hotel. Location was great for us. One block from 5th and about 6 blocks to beach. Phone booth and nice convenience store half block away on 10th. Loved this place and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dinner was at Parrilla Argentina de Manolo Cappelli. Fantastic steaks and seafood. Located at 10th and 24th but moving 9/09 to 5th and 32nd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 10, 2007

Great small Hotel with European Charm.

Overall a very nice place to stay. Friendly and great location but also quiet to sleep. Bathrooms are not the most modern but good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Breakfast buffet for about $5, every morning!! All you can eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Therational
Business
Santa Barbara
Mar 28, 2011

Nice hotel, nice location

The hotel is clean, nice, and in a central location. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

La Bodeguita del Medio: good food and good (live) salsa music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 10, 2009

Private, Cute getaway

I thought the hotel was charming. Our room was spacey and the bed was comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. I would definitely come again. I like to be closer to the beach though. It is about a 10 minute walk. Would go again with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun-seeking Vacationer
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 6, 2010

Great Inexpensive Place to Stay!

Reservations staff and concierge were very friendly and extremely helpful in suggesting places to see and things to do. Cleaning staff was wonderful. The only small complaint is that breakfast service was slow - we had to be pushy and demanding if we wanted to get through breakfast in less than 45 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2010

Cool, Laid Back Place

This hotel is a block from 5th Ave and 2 blocks from the beach. We walked everywhere. We had a nice breakfat at their restaurant every morning and then off to the beach for the day. We returned to chillout and clean up at the hotel and then off for dinner and shpping on 5th Ave. we loved it....especially Olivia the house cat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BMK
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Aug 20, 2009

Great Stay

The hotel is in a good location to 5th Ave. without the noise, and just a 5 minutes to one of the best stretches of beach in Playa del Carmen. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing. The guests staying there were also enjoyable. We stayed for 17 nights and would definitely stay again.We are a couple in our late 40's and early 50's who act younger!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Collectivo's for transportation up and down highway 307. You can see many tourist sights, beaches, cenote's, and out of the way places without having to take the tours or a taxi and spend the money, it's easy just be adventureous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chile Ale
Business
Santiago, Chile
Apr 21, 2010

Great value, pretty neat hotel

Nice, spotless, basic hotel in a quiet location in Central Playa. Beach access is somewhat tricky since there is a monster resort in straight line which forces you to go around, but Playa's beach is so busy we only went once, and rather drove to quieter spots like Tulum, Akumal or XpuHa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RULOTCh
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Great Place to stay while in Playa

We enjoyed our stay at the Aventura Mexicana hotel. The was excellent so helpful and friendly. We decided to upgrade our room once we arrived and had no problem doing so. The price was perfect for this place. Its about a block away from 5th,so its away from all the noise but close enough so you could walk everywhere. Its also about 4 blocks from the beach which was amazing. The continental breakfast was always fresh and the food at the Mayan Bistro was good although too creative at times. Overall the hotel was great. The grounds are kept in superb shape and the staff truly makes it a wonderful place to stay! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at John Gray's Place was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top