$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cottamgal
Business
Ontario, Canada
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect oasis in Playa

Spent two weeks here at the end of January. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the day we had HOT water coming out of the cold taps.(steamed so badly that it set off the smoke detector).It was rectified the next day and apologies received from Rob. Food and drinks were excellent at the Mayan Bistro....very pleasant atmosphere to socialize with other guests. Room was basic, a little musty and balcony too small for chairs so avoid room 2202 above kids pool if you like sitting out. That said it didn't bother us enough to be bothered asking to move.All in all a fantastic holiday. Love Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants nearby so don't limit yourself to the Mayan Bistro if you are there for more than a few days. Fave..Ajua and Kool Fish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
10Josh
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 21, 2011

NIce!

Hotel was located a block away from 5th ave. Beach is very close. Bed was comfortable. Its a perfect hotel for couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping areas are walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cryy
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oct 23, 2011

Loved this little hotel, very comfortable - would definately stay again

Pulling up to the hotel was not really what I expected when the driver said here we are but once we got in it was a different story altogether. Check in was very easy and a breeze, ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful/ personable. The hotel is very charming and relaxing, it has two water areas, a family side and an adult side. Pools may be on the small side for some but they were perfect for us, very few people were in either at any time and it was great to be able to cool off. There is a community computer with internet to use if you didn't bring your own, took me a bit to switch to english but worked fine once I did. If you want to book tours etc it is very easy to do at the front of the hotel. It is very easy to get around from this hotel and is close to 5th but you don't get the noise, there's an OXXO around the corner for beer smokes etc -- the bar fridge was nice to keep drinks cold for when the bar was closed. The bed was comfortable and the rooms very clean, a/c and fan worked very well, no problems at all. We later stayed at a 4 star all inclusive on Cozumel and I Much rather enjoyed this hotel over that one, Kudos to Aventura and the staff that make it this way. Would come back any time with no hesitation. Mucho Gracias!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreolard
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great deal, great stay

This hotel is near the end of the main strip (5th Ave), and a bit of a walk from the ADO bus station, so backpacking with a heavy bag or needing to make trips to the other end of the strip was somewhat of a pain (~20 min walk). Overall location was good though - the best foods we found were near us, and the local MEGA market wasn't too far away. Staff was always very helpful, and the room was nicely air conditioned. Hot water was a plentiful, and the hotel overall was nice. Free WiFi was fast, but the signal isn't strong in all areas. One thing that bothered me was that the blinds were almost transparent, and since we were facing the street on the lower floor, it made me a little nervous about who might have been peeking in. The pools were smaller than the picture depicts, but why be in a pool when the beach is a couple blocks away? We also got flea bites, but after having the hotel staff change the sheets the problem was solved. Breakfast was O.K. - food could be better. These factors aside, it was overall a great experience at a great price and I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montréal, QC, Canada
Oct 13, 2011

close to the main 5th but far from the beach.

this hotel was good for me, 1 block away from 5th av, where all the shops and restaurant are and 10 min. walk to the beach, the beach club is amazing overthere with a buffet style breakfast for 95 pesos, very good food. nice furniture trendy and a magnificent view of the ocean. hotel in general is good but don't compare with the big 4 or 5 stars hotel all inclusive type. this is a different way to take a vacation a la carte. lots of hotel boutiques around near the beach and the 5th ave would be between the 12 and 4th calle norte hotel aventura mexicana is at 24th calle norte. overall good time overthere. the pool can be better.but was ok.(cleanliness).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

deal with your hotel for excursion---for insurance purpose and pick-up and drop-off shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
futbolenlaplaya
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 19, 2011

5 Min Stroll to the Most Beautiful Beach

We had a wonderful time at Mexicana Aventura this past week. The location was perfect for us - close to the beach and just far away from the big crowds on Ave 5. Two things I would change - check in was slow (especially after a long day of travel), and the beds are very firm. Otherwise, paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First timer at Playa
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 13, 2011

a small pearl

The hotel is small, quiet and beautiful. Believe all it says in the web site. Very clean and the front staff can't do enough to please you. The only possible draw back is that it has three floors and no elevator We were on the third floor and didn't mind (actualy we welcomed the exercise) but make sure you are booked in the main floor (or 2nd floor) if going up stairs is a problem for you. The free continental breakfast is only juice, cofee, toast and danish but the entries on the menu were delicious and a bargain (about $4 US each) considering you are in the 5th Ave area. I was pleasently surprised to get a chair for free at the beach (courtesy of the hotel). Walmart is walking distance. Will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behind the hotel there is a Chinese "restaurant" called Shanghai. It's realy only a store front with a table or two, without even air conditioning but don't be mislead, the food is amazing, its Chinese-home- cooking prepared on the spot by the owner's wife. Delicious and very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tchili
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jun 22, 2011

Addition to review of 6/21/11

Just wanted to make sure that [...] were recognized as well as being outstanding front desk staff who were always friendly, informative and eager to help us in any way they could. Thanks so much to everyone there for making our trip wonderful. We can't wait to come back there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 21, 2011

Great Location

The Hotel is close to restaurants, night clubs and stores, and it is also very cozy and clean. The Mayan Bistro has amazing food. You will love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, Texas
Jun 17, 2011

Cute and peaceful place to stay

My family and I went to several places and stayed in different hotels throughout our trip and this one was the cutest and most peaceful hotel we encountered. It is located one block off Quinta Avenida so restaurants and shops are walking distance. Walking into the lobby and towards the pool area, everything is so quiet and peaceful. Pool areas, garden, and restaurant are very well kept. If you are looking for a hotel right on the beach then this one may not be for you. The hotel does have an area on the beach reserved for their guests but you do have to walk quite a distance to get there. Hotel does provide beach towels and beds/chairs/umbrellas on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top