Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
124 reviews
Second time in this hotel

Great location, comfortable, good service, very familiar. Would be nice that the juices be 100... See full review

  • Armando Martos
  • Aug 19, 2015
Food glorious food!

We booked this Playa Del Carmen hotel on the strength of reviews, particularly the food ones, and... See full review

  • David B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Rooms

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Property features

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Nearby attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Policies
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
Guestroom features a King bed.

Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • *These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option.
    Deluxe Double
    Guestroom features a Two Queen beds.
    . Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • *These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option.
    Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
    Features:

  • King bed
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side

  • Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
    Features:

  • Two Queen beds
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Family pool side

  • Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Junior Suite
    Features:

  • King bed
  • Pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side

  • Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed.

    Amenities:

  • Air conditioning
  • Private bath
  • Flat screen TV
  • Lite Continental breakfast
  • Small refrigerator
  • Free WiFi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas)
  • Free beach club access
  • Free beach towel service
  • Free parking
  • Ceiling fan
  • Clock radio
  • Phone
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe deposit box
  • Body lotion,aloe & shampoo

  • Amenities

    • Free internet in room
    • Airport shuttle
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Tour desk
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Transportation
    Airport shuttle
    Parking
    Free parking

    Hotel Map

    20.6317 -87.0697
    Area served
    Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun Cozumel
    Area description
    Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

    Dining

    Mayan Bistro
    Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
    Continental Breakfast
    Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (124)

    Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    124 out of 124
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.6

    96% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Holly N
    Couples
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Jul 9, 2012

    Perfect!

    We loved our room~ it included a microwave, coffeemaker, plates/cups/bowls/utensils, and very large jug of water to refill our water bottles daily ... air conditioning, and a safe for valuables. The front desk staff was wonderful, warm and welcoming. The location was also wonderful~ just a half block from the main drag, and not too far from the bus station from Cancun (you should take a cab from the bus station to hotel, but it's pretty short). The hotel had wonderful character, was clean, and perfect for the price. We just needed a stopover location before heading to Tulum, and this was a great choice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you head to the main restaurant drag and turn right, and head down the street about 5-6 blocks, there is a wonderful Cuban restaurant. I can't remember the name, but it was very festive (live music), and had delicious food, desserts, and drinks (order the flan- it's phenomenal!)

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tchili
    Couples
    Roanoke, VA
    Jun 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    We have been staying here for the past several years and it just gets better every time. The hotel staff are the best ever, always friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help and make your trip the best. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, quiet and overlooked the beautiful gardens. We are already looking to come back next year or even in January or February. They also give you a pass to Kool Beach that is a wonderful, clean beach. Very nice waiters who bring whatever you want or need on the beach. It is our place in paradise! Thank you to all of your wonderful staff at Adventura Mexicana, we love you guys!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    ESmo
    Couples
    Chicago, IL
    May 31, 2012

    Aventura Mexicana

    This is a very sweet hotel, in a great location, with everything we needed to be happy and comfortable. The staff and restaurant waiters were hard working and friendly, always ready to help with any request. The rooms were an interesting style and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay in Playa and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    All varieties of shopping, dining, bars and excursions.

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    K.C. Gang
    Family
    Kansas City, Missouri
    May 17, 2012

    Good Times

    We love this hotel and are already planning to return. The location was perfect - walking distance to the beach and 5th Ave.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the Mayan Bistro was outstanding and the pool area was very pretty and relaxing. Lots of flowering trees and waterfalls. We can't wait to return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Free chairs and umbrella at Kool and Indigo beach for hotel guests.

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    piincusa
    Family
    North Carolina, USA
    Apr 12, 2012

    Great Family Hotel

    I just came back from a week-long vacation in Playa Del Carmen and I am very glad that I chose this hotel. All what you have seen in this forum about Aventura Mexicana is true. Great hotel with friendly staff; very well maintained with beautiful gardens and pools with nice bistro inside. Very safe and conveniently located to everything in Playa Del Carmen with free internet and parking. I strongly recommend this hotel for everybody regardless of age and/or trip purpose. In fact, I am already making plans to come back in the Fall to celebrate a special occasion.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Family

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great location for everything, both Fifth Avenue for dining/shopping and the Kool Beach club.

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RJGONZO
    Couples
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Mar 21, 2012

    Very Nice Hotel

    If you're looking for a mid priced hotel in Playa del Carmen, this is it! The staff is very friendly and will help you out with meal recommendations, beach reservations...anything you need. The rooms were nice, clean and well decorated, but don't expect a 5-star hotel. We would definitely stay there again...and will next year!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    El Fogon. The BEST taco's in Playa del Carmen. This is where the locals go. You won't see too many tourists.

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    cpile
    Couples
    CT
    Feb 28, 2012

    Good value, nice grounds, staff

    We had a good time here. The room was adequate. The location was perfect, just a little bit away from the main drag, and far away enough from the busier part of the main drag. Very little noise. The pools were good, and lots of good locations to sunbathe.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Carbonocitas

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    eyegun
    Business
    Columbia Gorge Oregon
    Feb 21, 2012

    Awesome little place

    This was my second time staying at the Aventura Mexicana (2010 and 2012). Excellent location right next to 5th st where all the action is, but far enough off (about 1.5 blocks) to avoid the noise. Rooms are absolutely sterile. Good TV's, three pools all well maintained. There's a bistro on the property with good food. Never saw a mouse, rat, bug, or even an ant. There's a resident stray calico kitty on the property who is a well-mannered mouser. I'm sure she would enjoy a can of tuna (get it from an Oxxo store nearby). She has issues with her eyes (I think she's partly blind) but is very sweet. She'll keep her distance but if you talk nicely to her she'll approach you.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Get your liquor, soft drinks, and snacks at the nearby Oxxo store.

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cottamgal
    Friends
    Ontario, Canada
    Feb 12, 2012

    Perfect oasis in Playa

    Spent two weeks here at the end of January. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the day we had HOT water coming out of the cold taps.(steamed so badly that it set off the smoke detector).It was rectified the next day and apologies received from Rob. Food and drinks were excellent at the Mayan Bistro....very pleasant atmosphere to socialize with other guests. Room was basic, a little musty and balcony too small for chairs so avoid room 2202 above kids pool if you like sitting out. That said it didn't bother us enough to be bothered asking to move.All in all a fantastic holiday. Love Playa del Carmen.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Friends

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Excellent restaurants nearby so don't limit yourself to the Mayan Bistro if you are there for more than a few days. Fave..Ajua and Kool Fish

    Review of Aventura Mexicana

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cryy
    Couples
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Oct 23, 2011

    Loved this little hotel, very comfortable - would definately stay again

    Pulling up to the hotel was not really what I expected when the driver said here we are but once we got in it was a different story altogether. Check in was very easy and a breeze, ALL the staff were very friendly and helpful/ personable. The hotel is very charming and relaxing, it has two water areas, a family side and an adult side. Pools may be on the small side for some but they were perfect for us, very few people were in either at any time and it was great to be able to cool off. There is a community computer with internet to use if you didn't bring your own, took me a bit to switch to english but worked fine once I did. If you want to book tours etc it is very easy to do at the front of the hotel. It is very easy to get around from this hotel and is close to 5th but you don't get the noise, there's an OXXO around the corner for beer smokes etc -- the bar fridge was nice to keep drinks cold for when the bar was closed. The bed was comfortable and the rooms very clean, a/c and fan worked very well, no problems at all. We later stayed at a 4 star all inclusive on Cozumel and I Much rather enjoyed this hotel over that one, Kudos to Aventura and the staff that make it this way. Would come back any time with no hesitation. Mucho Gracias!!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Back to menu Return to top