$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BugVern
Edison, NJ
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent

Great location, awesome restaurant and the best staff. I enjoyed the hotel immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mayan Bistro is GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PriorGeek
Business
Palo Alto, California
Oct 17, 2013

It was perfect hotel for the price.

The hotel is conveniently located on the middle of 5th Ave and is a short walk to almost any restaurant or store on the 5th Ave and to the beach, yet it is far enough from the clubs on 12th Street, that you don't hear any noises that night. Just need to manage your expectations for the continental breakfast :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilycworld
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 12, 2013

Update to my previous review - professional hotel group manager addresssed issue

This online review doesn't allow update or deleting reviews so I have to write this new one. We were not given a room as advertised and we experienced noise issues that affected our rest. The Aventura Group's manager emailed me directly after I posted my review, and handled it with the highest professional manner. I give them credit for their commitment to best customer service and professionalism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan and Ali
Business
Holland, MI
May 23, 2013

Great hotel

We had a fantastic time here during our stay. Aventura Mexicana provide a personal level of service that larger resort can not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
floquette
Business
Mexico
May 20, 2013

Week-end escape

We were there only for 1 night with our 3 years old daughter. we just wanted a hotel to sleep for the night and enjoy Playa's activities. We found it very convenient location is great, and parking is definitely a plus. Staff is helpful. The mattress is maybe a bit harsh on your back and i found the breakfast poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to try Chez Celine, french boulangerie where you can also have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Economic option and very, very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lilycworld
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 5, 2013

Room not as advertised and noise problems

We stayed here for three nights. The positive is the location is great - a few steps from 5th Ave with all the shops and restaurants, and a few minutes walk to the beach. But before you book, you need to be aware that paying more money doesn't necessarily give you better rooms. When I made the reservation, I chose to pay more for a Deluxe Garden View One Bedroom with Balcony - 1 king bed. After we checked in and got to our room, #2207 (on the "family" side) which is right by the stairway on the second floor, had neither garden view nor balcony. Its window faces the street looking at another building. We immediately returned to the front desk and asked for what happened to what we paid for - a deluxe room with garden view and balcony. The reply was that there was no other deluxe room available, and he asked when we booked the room. I booked the room over a month before our arrival through Orbiz! The only room that would be available was a superior room on the first floor also facing the street. At night, we could hear the noise from the street including people talking, laughing, and people from the next room talking and showering. Early in the morning, we were woken by children running and laughing in the hallway and stairs. In the morning we talked to a woman who is the corporate manager and she told the front desk to find a quieter room for us when we came back that afternoon. But when we came back that evening, the same front desk as the night before said there's no other room available except the other superior we looked at that was on the first floor also facing the street. The second night the noise was worse. We could hear a club or restaurant's music pounding base till late at night, and more people talking and laughing on the street. After two nights of very poor sleep, we were miserable. The next morning, we talked to another gentleman named Luis at the front desk. He looked on his chart, he had a superior room available on the "adult only" side. We went to look at it, and found it's on the third floor, with a sliding door facing the garden (thus garden view), and a window facing a quieter street. We decide to take it, even though it's a much smaller room and would have cost less. The third night, we slept much better. From other reviews, I was prepared for the open bathroom in these adult-side rooms, where the bathroom is not concealed at all and no door. Between no sleep and lack of privacy, we opted for the lack of privacy when using the bathroom. I asked for a refund from Orbi of the difference for the last night since we downgraded our room. Orbi was trying to contact the hotel but no one was responding. We shall see what happens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are hungry for steak, we loved El Diez, at the corner of 5th Ave and Calle 30. For modern Mexican, we tried the restaurant diagonal from El Diez and it was excellent. (forgot the name)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NandM
Business
Ireland
Feb 11, 2013

Excellent

Great location - just around the corner from all the shops, bars, restaurants and beach but step in the door of the hotel and you are immediately in an oasis of quiet and calm, away from the hustle of 5th Ave. Good breakfast, especially the freshly baked sweet bread selection every morning. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our first room was right beside the restaurant but we were moved the following morning as we are not early risers (breakfast starts at 7am). Parking outside the front door - we never arrived without finding an available space. The only issue was that the bathroom in the room had no door and the wall did not reach the ceiling (so really just a partition)...not a level of intimacy we're used to but we worked around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BugVern
Business
Edison, NJ
Jan 27, 2013

Excellent

Great location, awesome restaurant and the best staff. I enjoyed the hotel immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mayan Bistro is GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laetitiachile
Business
San Francisco California
Jan 20, 2013

Very nice

We had a wonderful time in this cozy hotel. People are very nice, willing to help you every time you need it. Nice, clean rooms. The restaurant is right in the middle of the garden, offering a great view.Free breakfast! Nothing Better than sweet bread and Mexican bread. Free wifi! So helpful to keep you conected. And the best, they let us check out at 12pm instead of 11am without extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frida's restaurant just a few blocks Away. Free margarita with ur meal! Just stay away from people trying to bargain you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AradiaC
Business
Seattle
Jan 2, 2013

Great Playa Hotel

We needed to switch out of our hotel in Tulum so we could spend some time in Playa del Carmen. After looking online at a bunch of hotels, we found this one and booked it. We were not sorry. It's conveniently located about a block from the beach, the staff was extremely friendly & helpful, and the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. While Aventura Mexicana is not a super luxury hotel, it wasn't really lacking. It had a nice pool in the lovely open courtyard, cable, and Internet (though internet access is spotty in the rooms). I would definitely stay here again if I wasn't hellbent on a beach resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aleksey and Marina K.
Business
Denver, Colorado
Dec 10, 2012

Great Family Vacation

Very good location, cozy rooma, excellent service, reasonable price. Will recommend to my friends. You will be happy if your room cleaning will be taken care by Lupita. Nicholas is the best in restaurant service, though other guys are very friendly and great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top