$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan and Ali
Holland, MI
May 23, 2013

Great hotel

We had a fantastic time here during our stay. Aventura Mexicana provide a personal level of service that larger resort can not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin America Fan
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Aug 24, 2009

Fun and culturally unique, but....

We loved the 2 different pools and thought the atmosphere was a positive cultural experience. The center courtyard and room layout had more of an international flavor and was a fun place for the family. It was clean the staff was friendly. The only area to improve was the shower in one of our rooms kept loosing pressure due to a water pump failure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from the hotel was the main night-life and tourist street. It is full of everything from souvenirs to food to money exchange to pharmacies to stores. The place was alive....

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warshington, DC
Jul 5, 2009

Nice, clean, friendly, good value.

Pleasant, attractive, clean place with helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money. It's at the north end of town, a long-ish walk from bus station. This was the only issue for us. If not traveling by bus, not a problem. I've seen the towels folded into Swans before, but these guys do Elephants too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of eating on 5th Ave. and overpaying in tourist traps playing elevator music, head a few blocks South on 10th Avenue and turn right for a few blocks on Constitution and there's a string of places across from the Mega Supermarket that are a lot better where local people eat.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2009

Beautiful Tropical Getaway

Our stay was wonderful. Close to everything, nice, clean, quiet, and the staff was very helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the restaurants on 5th Avenue, walk off the beaten path for much better food at a fraction of the price!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric - Budget Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 26, 2009

Great location

We actually avoided most of the amenities the hotel had to offer (spa, pools, & restaurant) so that we could explore the surrounding area (swimming on the beach, snorkeling, SCUBA diving, sightseeing, and clubbing). There are several good restaurants on the main strip (5th Ave) but we actually liked going to 30th Ave for more local eats. We took a day trip to Cozumel via the passenger ferry for SCUBA diving. This is highly recommended as you get to dive in one of the prettiest reefs in the world. Our biggest complaint is that the bathroom and the bedroom are one and the same (only separated by a tall partial wall). I'm not sure about everyone else, but I definitely do not like listening to my significant other's bowel movements! Finally, be sure to bring/buy bug spray. There are a lot of mosquitoes and we were eaten alive. This was compounded by the fact that one or two somehow found their way into our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adventure away from 5th Ave. There are several good restaurants on 30th.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 8, 2010

Aventura Mexican

The hotel is near 5th avenue shopping area but more towards the end.. It's also a short walk from the beach. If you want the shade of an umbrella it's def a bit more pesos for that but def worth it once you get to the beach with just the complimentary towels. The drinks at the bar in the restaurant of the hotel are pretty good. The flautas were tasty. The adult pool is small but is open 24 hours which is rather convenient. The complimentary breakfast is basic with bread jams and juice/coffee. Honestly I stayed at this hotel but walked on a daily basis down to the end of the strip near 1st. I would def go to Cozumel rent a scooter stop in every bar around the island and find a nice beach for your own private swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain your butt off or keep it moving. Don't jump at the first price I've had people drop half the price they started with just because I decided to walk away. The bus is a cheap bet to cancun only about 10 bucks from playa and even the bus to the airport is around that. Drops you off near 2nd st and 5th ave. The rip off is being suckered into a taxi in the airport wait until you are outside and watch those inside because they radio those outside you are coming. They say 90 dollars to playa but you can easily get there for 65 bucks. Or even better take the bus for 10.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kryst3l
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 12, 2014

Couple vacation

The hotel was very beautiful and quiet, despite being half a block away from the very busy 5th avenue, with multiple stores and restaurants. The greenery and layout of the pools and restaurant made it feel like an oasis. There were families with children there too but that never bothered us. We did excursions to Chichen Itza, Tulum and Coba during our stay and had a blast. Also at the other end of 5th avenue ... very long walk... the beach in front of Playacar is absolutely gorgeous with no resorts, only villas, so no crowds. This was our first trip to Playa del Carmen, and it definitely wont be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about the restaurant El Fogon 10min walk away. I have never had better tasting tacos. Specifically tacos al pastor and tacos de chorizo.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diane c.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Great Surprise!

Great hotel-great location This hotel was great! The property was lush with beautiful flowers. Very clean. Would go back any time. We where at a 5 star hotel the week before. I was still happy with this hotel. Staff was great & helpful. Thanks for everything! - The chapmans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place with a great rate! Great staff! Very clean! Close to everything Beach Restaurants Entertainment

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam
Jul 11, 2010

Very pleasant hotel!

The room ("Moody") was surprisingly big, definitely bigger than expected! It was divided into a living room with a sofa and & big flatscreen TV and a sleeping room with a comfortable king size bed. Although I wasn't on a honeymoon (or even couple) trip, my bed was decorated nicely with towel swans & flowers (and an elephant the other day - attentive detail!). The AC was running fine and helped a lot. On request you could borrow a handy umbrella (unfortunately needed...) and got a discount voucher for the neat gym on the other side of the street. For one day there was no hot water but they repaired it very quickly, well done. The hotel is around the corner to the 5th avenue, the main pedestrian shopping & restaurant area. It is relatively at the beginning of this street, which is actually a pre as it is not noisy but still easy to walk. Breakfast is ok, nothing big, but neither described that way. Service is friendly (maybe a bit too re-active) Only minusses were pool (nice for decoration but much too small for real usage...)and the fact that the promoted "balcony with garden view" is in fact simply the "open hallway" for all rooms on the 1st (European 1st!) floor - thus you don't get a private balcony whatsoever! Wouldn't say that's bad in general, but just don't call it balcony...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Daytours offered by alltournative offtrackadventures are really worth it! They are not offered by the hotel but at a small shop on the right of the 5th avenue (somewhere aroung the 30th calle). You can even get Dutch/German/French speaking guides, next to the English/Spanish ones.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples (FL)
Jul 26, 2009

Nice trip

This hotel was quiet and particularly clean. Personal at desk was always welcome and smiling. AT this period of the year (July) it was not at all noisy. Have much appreciated the proximity from the Beaches and 5th ave . More lights in the room should have been appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark/Tam
Business
Lakeland, MN
Feb 2, 2010

"Location, Relaxation"

This was a nice place with an excellent location. The adult pool however located in the center with buildings on each side did not get that much sun and sits next to the bar/restaurant and outside eating area so you would feel like you were being watched. We also had a room that had a connecting door to someone else which was paper thin, it was like the people were in the room with you and there was a toddler over there. The staff though was very nice and helpful and the rooms were kept very clean. It is literally one building off of 5th Ave. and a couple blocks from the beach. Yes, I would consider going there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the new CoCo Bongo now in Playa, for $50.00 you get your entrance and drinks, $65.00 VIP it is like watching a Vegas show and worth it (more so if you are a drinker)..

Back to menu Return to top