$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2009

Beautiful Tropical Getaway

Our stay was wonderful. Close to everything, nice, clean, quiet, and the staff was very helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the restaurants on 5th Avenue, walk off the beaten path for much better food at a fraction of the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 20, 2009

Charming botique hotel near everything

Nice little hotel. We were escorted to our room by a friendly staff member who spoke excellent English. You can get lost in the maze, so make sure pay attention to where your room is! The restaurant/bar serves poolside which is really nice, and the location is near many restaurants and shops, not to mention the best part of beach. The hotel offers discount coupons for Kool beach club but they only work for the plastic lounge chairs (that were never available during our stay). I really enjoyed my stay at Aventura Mexicana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two of the best places to eat are the Cuevo de Chengo (Cave of the Monkey) on 38th St near the beach and El Fogon across from Mega. Cuevo has great service, food and ambiance with a little stream running through the dining area. El Fogon doesn't look like much but the food is excellent and inexpensive. Well worth the walk from 5th Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville, MA
May 3, 2009

Fun times

Great location, clean rooms, pretty pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDobbins
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 23, 2009

Wedding in PDC at Aventura Mexican

The hotel is in a great location, the staff is very friendly and helpful and spoke great English, and the bar had 2 for 1 Happy Hour (more like Happy 8 Hours from 11am-7pm). The only thing I did not like about the hotel was that the bed was hard. The rooms were a little small, but who spends a lot of time in their room when they're in Mexico? That wasn't a big deal, but the bed was still a little hard. Looking back I probably could have asked if they had an egg crate or some extra padding or something, but it wasn't that big of a deal where I HAD to ask for that. All in all I would definitely reccommend to a friend and would consider going back to this hotel if we returned to PDC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place down the street called Bip Bip that was probably the cheapest all around breakfast and lunch spot. The best place for dinner we ate at I can't remember the name, but it was across from Ajua off Calle 4 just off La Quinta (5th Ave.), Playa del Carmen, Q. Roo, México 77710. It was absolutely delicious, quite possibly the best Mexican food I've ever had. FYI - I ordered Shrimp Brochette.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnMV
Business
New Jersey
Mar 3, 2009

Great location

Good location off Ave Quinta, very atmospheric. We had I think a pricier room with great outlook and quiet. We had a car and were able to park at the hotel. We used the Kool beach every day, the hotel has a discount arrangement with Kool but very limited, Kool is hardly expensive. The bathroom arrangements were a little too "European" for my American wife! But we would both return in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granby
Jan 3, 2009

Cute hotel, excellent staff

My husband and I stayed at the Aventura Mexicana over New Year's. The location is awesome, only half a block from 5th avenue (lots of restaurants, bars, and shopping) and about 2 blocks from the beach. Pool was OK, water was chilly and only a few lounge chairs. It was well-maintained however. The continental breakfast was small (bread and pastries) but included fresh-squeezed OJ. We had a king size bed, very comfortable. The bathroom was just a toilet and shower, comfortable size. Good size closet/dresser. The staff was very helpful with every request we made, so polite and nice. We're already trying to plan a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Media Luna on Fifth Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Snohomish
Dec 20, 2008

Great location, great service!!!

Wow, that was my first impression of the hotel. The lobby was very impressive, and then we got our room. It was perfect, very spacious. What I really like was the location to 5th Ave and the beach, but it was very quiet at night. And the hotel staff, especially the guys at the front desk, were very helpful. Try Donna Mare and order the torta mixta and the chicken soup. What a combination. Love it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to 5th Ave, and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 6, 2008

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff

Great hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. About a 5 minute walk from the beach and on a quiet street, but just around the corner from bustling 5th Avenue. Hotel gives you a beach towels and discount coupons for the beach club at the Mamitas Beach, where you can rent a beach chair and umbrellas (totally worth it). Pool and bar with 2 for one happy hour specials (happy hour = 1 pm till closing!) were a real treat! Hotel room was comfy and spacious. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Argentinian restaurant on 10th Ave between Calle 24 and 26, just around the block. Excellent empanadas and dipping sauces

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garza Garcia
Jul 20, 2008

Great hotel near shopping&restaurants/Bars

Great location Friendly Staff Good Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to shopping on 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Great Off-Beach Hotel

Aventura Mexicana turned out to be better than expected for the price. While it wasn't on the beach, it was just around the corner from 5th street and a nice walk to Kool Beach, which we used every time at the beach. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. Although I had read that the beds were hard, my husband and I slept fine, although I can't say the same for our daughters. Besides that, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

just one block from 5th avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top