$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not applicable
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Good Location, Good Price

Location of hotel was great, very close to the main street for dining and shopping. Close to the beach as well. Nice rooms, clean good for two people and service was good. Would not recommend three in a room.Bistro on sight was nice, patio area as well as an indoor area. Nice Happy Hour, very relaxing, great Mojitos! Staff was helpful, [...] was great helping us with our tickets and boarding passes. I would return to this hotel. We were pleased with our experiences there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion Restaurant - on the beach, nice!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teinertone
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Aug 11, 2009

great small hotel

Super clean rooms with beautiful grounds. Very pretty hotel. Location was great for us. One block from 5th and about 6 blocks to beach. Phone booth and nice convenience store half block away on 10th. Loved this place and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dinner was at Parrilla Argentina de Manolo Cappelli. Fantastic steaks and seafood. Located at 10th and 24th but moving 9/09 to 5th and 32nd.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulieMex
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 1, 2009

Aventura Mexicana: Great Hotel

We really liked this hotel. The room was large and clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, and the restaurant food and drinks were good. Aventura is located just blocks from the beach and you can walk just about anywhere in town from this great location. No ocean view, but a nice pool and lovely sun deck are a good substitute for those who don't want to leave the hotel. Free wireless access, continental breakfast and 2x1 happy hour are all nice perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples (FL)
Jul 26, 2009

Nice trip

This hotel was quiet and particularly clean. Personal at desk was always welcome and smiling. AT this period of the year (July) it was not at all noisy. Have much appreciated the proximity from the Beaches and 5th ave . More lights in the room should have been appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples (FL)
Jul 26, 2009

Nice trip

This hotel was quiet and particularly clean. Personal at desk was always welcome and smiling. AT this period of the year (July) it was not at all noisy. Have much appreciated the proximity from the Beaches and 5th ave . More lights in the room should have been appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Tennessee
Jul 25, 2009

THE FINEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN MEXICO

Forget what you read in some of the other reviews posted about this perfect little paradise. Many of them are from borderline illiterates, others from people that should really keep their silly opinions to themselves.This place is the perfect getaway with all the right amenities of a quaint and semi-quiet boutique hotel. Aventura offers you a spotless, quiet, picturesque, and inviting atmosphere with a service staff that provides first class consideration to each and every guest. The location could not be better. A half minute walk will take you to 5th Avenue, the main strip that is Playa's tourist center. Here you will find hundreds of amazing restaurants, shops, nightclubs, and other entertainments.The beaches and beach clubs are less than 5 minutes walking distance from Aventura, and the hotel provides each guest with beach towels and discount cards for the already dirt cheap lounge chairs, beds, and umbrella's at the beach club.The rooms, grounds, and pools of the hotel are spotlessly maintained and absolutely stunning. Gardeners trim the myriad of flowers, plants, grasses, and trees with scissors on a daily basis so as not to disturb the visitors. Housemaids clean and disinfect the rooms daily, the air-conditioning is ice-cold, the security provided by the hotel is remarkable, and the concierge in the lobby will go to any length to provide the guests good deals for taxi service, tours, laundry cleaning, and anything else you might desire.The bistro/restaurant is of 5 star quality. The chef is superbly trained in delivering a high-quality, unforgettable food experience second to none. The waiting staff at the restaurant, [...], [...], [...], [...], and [...] are one of the highlights of my trip. You will fall in love with them as much as the 13 year resident of the hotel, a cat by the name of Olivia. And it is because of them that I will return to Aventura Mexicana over and over again.In summation, this is without a question one of the finest hotels in Mexico, and in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating. I could not find a single thing to fault, and I expect that neither will you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever you want to do with your vacation time, you can do it here, and cheaply at that. Don't forget to buy a can of tuna for the wonderful resident cat Olivia.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great hotel and perfect location

The hotel has everything you need: It's own restaurant, bar, 2 pools. The grounds are really well kept too. It's close to the beach and to all the best restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish, but they speak enough English to meet you half way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on taking cabs try check the fares online first. Cab drivers tend to upcharge tourists. Book your airport transfers online too You shouldn't have to pay more than $40 dollars each way. If you don't book ahead you can spend about $80 to $100 for a cab ride.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great hotel and perfect location

The hotel has everything you need: It's own restaurant, bar, 2 pools. The grounds are really well kept too. It's close to the beach and to all the best restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpful. It helps to know Spanish, but they speak enough English to meet you half way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on taking cabs try check the fares online first. Cab drivers tend to upcharge tourists. Book your airport transfers online too You shouldn't have to pay more than $40 dollars each way. If you don't book ahead you can spend about $80 to $100 for a cab ride.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Jul 14, 2009

good price for good service

the staff were really friendly & the hotel is really clean. Although the pool was not big but it's good enough for family . The hotel is not far from the beach the 5th Avenue were most of the stores & eating places are located. The beds were older but comfortable enough. I wouldn't hesitate going back & staying at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top