$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
140 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NandM
Ireland
Feb 11, 2013

Excellent

Great location - just around the corner from all the shops, bars, restaurants and beach but step in the door of the hotel and you are immediately in an oasis of quiet and calm, away from the hustle of 5th Ave. Good breakfast, especially the freshly baked sweet bread selection every morning. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our first room was right beside the restaurant but we were moved the following morning as we are not early risers (breakfast starts at 7am). Parking outside the front door - we never arrived without finding an available space. The only issue was that the bathroom in the room had no door and the wall did not reach the ceiling (so really just a partition)...not a level of intimacy we're used to but we worked around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NUEVO, CALIFORNIA.
May 13, 2011

AVENTURA MEXICANA REVIEW.

GREAT STAFF. VERY POSITIVE ATTITUDE. UPDATED MY ROOM TO ONE OF THEIR BEST AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. I SHALL RETURN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FOR SOME GREAT TACOS, TRY "EL FOGON" ACROSS FROM "THE MEGA" SUPER MARKET...GREAT FOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanda & Janusz
Business
Gdańsk, Poland
Apr 7, 2011

Perfect option for holidays in tropics

Aventura Mexicana is perfectly located in the middle of vibrant Playa del Carmen and at the same time you are in beautiful quiet garden with lovely swimming pool. Instead of having all inclusive ugly food and drinks you may chose one of hundreds places to eat and entertain, and you are free to explore Mexico and Yucatan in your own way. I strongly reccomend this place where staff is extremely friendly and very supportive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurants with affordable prices and very good food within five minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granby
Jan 3, 2009

Cute hotel, excellent staff

My husband and I stayed at the Aventura Mexicana over New Year's. The location is awesome, only half a block from 5th avenue (lots of restaurants, bars, and shopping) and about 2 blocks from the beach. Pool was OK, water was chilly and only a few lounge chairs. It was well-maintained however. The continental breakfast was small (bread and pastries) but included fresh-squeezed OJ. We had a king size bed, very comfortable. The bathroom was just a toilet and shower, comfortable size. Good size closet/dresser. The staff was very helpful with every request we made, so polite and nice. We're already trying to plan a return trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Media Luna on Fifth Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Take me back!
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 2, 2009

I want to go back!

The hotel was clean, friendly, welcoming, and had the perfect location along the main strip in Playa: close enough to be convenient yet far enough away to be quiet. You do have to walk a few blocks to the beach but unless you get one of the few beach-front hotels in Playa you can expect to walk a little ways. And trust me, it is worth it once you get to the white sandy beaches and turquois water. Quinta Avenida is filled with shops, restaraunts, art galleries, and travel kiosks that offer several tours/day trips/excursions. There are so many things to do close to Playa that we can't wait to come back. We spent the last 2 nights of our vacation in Cancun at a big resort and found ourselves wishing we were still at the Aventura Mexicana in our quaint poolside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garza Garcia
Jul 20, 2008

Great hotel near shopping&restaurants/Bars

Great location Friendly Staff Good Price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to shopping on 5th Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 30, 2010

Fantastic

We enjoyed the using the pool and quiet area in the garden around the pool area. The restaurant and bar area are a big plus because the food quality was super. The continental breakfast was very good and you could order additonal food as well. The location was nice, only 1/2 block off of 5th avenue and only 10 minutes from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you visit Xel-Ha, it was a great way to spend the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mijayo
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 24, 2009

Quaint Hotel, Great Location

Aventura Mexicana was fabulous! We stayed for 6 nights were very pleased with the service, food, location, rooms, and A/C (Playa del Carmen was much more hot and humid than we are used to!). The staff was very helpful and polite. My boyfriend hurt his foot and was on crutches for part of our trip; the staff helped us move to a ground floor room with ease. The wait staff at the Mayan Bistro were also friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast was so-so as you only got toast and beverages, but ordering off the menu was well worth it because the prices were very reasonable and the food was tasty. The location was fantastic. We were just one block away from 5th Ave which is pedestrian-only and lined with trinket shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. We were also only blocks away from the beach. The rooms were charming, clean and comfortable. We never heard the noise from 5th avenue and the hotel itself had a tranquil feel to it. We slept well each of the 6 nights we were there! Highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car. The drivers were a little crazy, but we got to do what we wanted without the time constraints of transportation services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2009

Incredibly Wonderful

Truly beautiful,quiet and clean. We were just there for a long weekend, but I wish we could have stayed much longer. Aventura Mexicana is probably the best hotel I have used any where in Mexico and I travel there frequently since retiring two years ago. It is not so large and remote as many of the resorts, but it is located close to the public beach and the center of shopping and restaurants, all of which I prefer. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mayan cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jealous Snails
Business
San Antonio, TX and Wales UK
May 31, 2009

does not disa[[oint

We were looking for a hotel convenient to shopping, the beach and eating and drinking. We found all that and more at the Adventura Mexicana. The service was friendly and understanding when we locked ourselves out of our room within an hour of our arrival. The decor and beds were relaxing and the rooms and grounds were super clean and well maintained. There was no undue noise and the air conditioner worked great. We would stay there again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk the a beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Great Value!

The hotel is top notch and well worth the money spent. The location is right off of 5th Avenue and very conveniently located. The beach is a short distance away from the hotel (about 5 minutes). The hotel is immaculate...well maintained and very clean. I would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off of 5th Avenue and explore when looking for places to eat. We found that some of the best restaurants were off the main strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top