$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
140 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mijayo
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 24, 2009

Quaint Hotel, Great Location

Aventura Mexicana was fabulous! We stayed for 6 nights were very pleased with the service, food, location, rooms, and A/C (Playa del Carmen was much more hot and humid than we are used to!). The staff was very helpful and polite. My boyfriend hurt his foot and was on crutches for part of our trip; the staff helped us move to a ground floor room with ease. The wait staff at the Mayan Bistro were also friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast was so-so as you only got toast and beverages, but ordering off the menu was well worth it because the prices were very reasonable and the food was tasty. The location was fantastic. We were just one block away from 5th Ave which is pedestrian-only and lined with trinket shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. We were also only blocks away from the beach. The rooms were charming, clean and comfortable. We never heard the noise from 5th avenue and the hotel itself had a tranquil feel to it. We slept well each of the 6 nights we were there! Highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car. The drivers were a little crazy, but we got to do what we wanted without the time constraints of transportation services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RULOTCh
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Great Place to stay while in Playa

We enjoyed our stay at the Aventura Mexicana hotel. The was excellent so helpful and friendly. We decided to upgrade our room once we arrived and had no problem doing so. The price was perfect for this place. Its about a block away from 5th,so its away from all the noise but close enough so you could walk everywhere. Its also about 4 blocks from the beach which was amazing. The continental breakfast was always fresh and the food at the Mayan Bistro was good although too creative at times. Overall the hotel was great. The grounds are kept in superb shape and the staff truly makes it a wonderful place to stay! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at John Gray's Place was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BMK
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Aug 20, 2009

Great Stay

The hotel is in a good location to 5th Ave. without the noise, and just a 5 minutes to one of the best stretches of beach in Playa del Carmen. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing. The guests staying there were also enjoyable. We stayed for 17 nights and would definitely stay again.We are a couple in our late 40's and early 50's who act younger!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Collectivo's for transportation up and down highway 307. You can see many tourist sights, beaches, cenote's, and out of the way places without having to take the tours or a taxi and spend the money, it's easy just be adventureous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2009

Incredibly Wonderful

Truly beautiful,quiet and clean. We were just there for a long weekend, but I wish we could have stayed much longer. Aventura Mexicana is probably the best hotel I have used any where in Mexico and I travel there frequently since retiring two years ago. It is not so large and remote as many of the resorts, but it is located close to the public beach and the center of shopping and restaurants, all of which I prefer. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mayan cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not applicable
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Good Location, Good Price

Location of hotel was great, very close to the main street for dining and shopping. Close to the beach as well. Nice rooms, clean good for two people and service was good. Would not recommend three in a room.Bistro on sight was nice, patio area as well as an indoor area. Nice Happy Hour, very relaxing, great Mojitos! Staff was helpful, [...] was great helping us with our tickets and boarding passes. I would return to this hotel. We were pleased with our experiences there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion Restaurant - on the beach, nice!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teinertone
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Aug 11, 2009

great small hotel

Super clean rooms with beautiful grounds. Very pretty hotel. Location was great for us. One block from 5th and about 6 blocks to beach. Phone booth and nice convenience store half block away on 10th. Loved this place and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dinner was at Parrilla Argentina de Manolo Cappelli. Fantastic steaks and seafood. Located at 10th and 24th but moving 9/09 to 5th and 32nd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulieMex
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 1, 2009

Aventura Mexicana: Great Hotel

We really liked this hotel. The room was large and clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, and the restaurant food and drinks were good. Aventura is located just blocks from the beach and you can walk just about anywhere in town from this great location. No ocean view, but a nice pool and lovely sun deck are a good substitute for those who don't want to leave the hotel. Free wireless access, continental breakfast and 2x1 happy hour are all nice perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples (FL)
Jul 26, 2009

Nice trip

This hotel was quiet and particularly clean. Personal at desk was always welcome and smiling. AT this period of the year (July) it was not at all noisy. Have much appreciated the proximity from the Beaches and 5th ave . More lights in the room should have been appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Tennessee
Jul 25, 2009

THE FINEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN MEXICO

Forget what you read in some of the other reviews posted about this perfect little paradise. Many of them are from borderline illiterates, others from people that should really keep their silly opinions to themselves.This place is the perfect getaway with all the right amenities of a quaint and semi-quiet boutique hotel. Aventura offers you a spotless, quiet, picturesque, and inviting atmosphere with a service staff that provides first class consideration to each and every guest. The location could not be better. A half minute walk will take you to 5th Avenue, the main strip that is Playa's tourist center. Here you will find hundreds of amazing restaurants, shops, nightclubs, and other entertainments.The beaches and beach clubs are less than 5 minutes walking distance from Aventura, and the hotel provides each guest with beach towels and discount cards for the already dirt cheap lounge chairs, beds, and umbrella's at the beach club.The rooms, grounds, and pools of the hotel are spotlessly maintained and absolutely stunning. Gardeners trim the myriad of flowers, plants, grasses, and trees with scissors on a daily basis so as not to disturb the visitors. Housemaids clean and disinfect the rooms daily, the air-conditioning is ice-cold, the security provided by the hotel is remarkable, and the concierge in the lobby will go to any length to provide the guests good deals for taxi service, tours, laundry cleaning, and anything else you might desire.The bistro/restaurant is of 5 star quality. The chef is superbly trained in delivering a high-quality, unforgettable food experience second to none. The waiting staff at the restaurant, [...], [...], [...], [...], and [...] are one of the highlights of my trip. You will fall in love with them as much as the 13 year resident of the hotel, a cat by the name of Olivia. And it is because of them that I will return to Aventura Mexicana over and over again.In summation, this is without a question one of the finest hotels in Mexico, and in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating. I could not find a single thing to fault, and I expect that neither will you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever you want to do with your vacation time, you can do it here, and cheaply at that. Don't forget to buy a can of tuna for the wonderful resident cat Olivia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top