$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
139 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 14, 2009

A great experience.

The hotel is less than one block from 5th avenue which is the main pedestrian mall in Playa del Carmen. It is just a couple of blocks from the beach, and the hotel provides fresh towels for pool and beach. It is a 10 min drive from Xcaret, the water ecopark. Playa del Carmen is halfway betweem Cancun and Tulum making both accessible in 40 min drive either way. There is parking on the premises and a safety box in the room. There is coffee in the lobby all day, and the people are super friendly. The hotel restaurant, the Mayan Bistro, serves great breakfast and dinner at very reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Parilla de Manolo; an Argentinian restaurant on 10th avenue, less than a block form the hotel. Great food.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not applicable
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Good Location, Good Price

Location of hotel was great, very close to the main street for dining and shopping. Close to the beach as well. Nice rooms, clean good for two people and service was good. Would not recommend three in a room.Bistro on sight was nice, patio area as well as an indoor area. Nice Happy Hour, very relaxing, great Mojitos! Staff was helpful, [...] was great helping us with our tickets and boarding passes. I would return to this hotel. We were pleased with our experiences there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fusion Restaurant - on the beach, nice!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric - Budget Traveler
Boston, MA
Aug 26, 2009

Great location

We actually avoided most of the amenities the hotel had to offer (spa, pools, & restaurant) so that we could explore the surrounding area (swimming on the beach, snorkeling, SCUBA diving, sightseeing, and clubbing). There are several good restaurants on the main strip (5th Ave) but we actually liked going to 30th Ave for more local eats. We took a day trip to Cozumel via the passenger ferry for SCUBA diving. This is highly recommended as you get to dive in one of the prettiest reefs in the world. Our biggest complaint is that the bathroom and the bedroom are one and the same (only separated by a tall partial wall). I'm not sure about everyone else, but I definitely do not like listening to my significant other's bowel movements! Finally, be sure to bring/buy bug spray. There are a lot of mosquitoes and we were eaten alive. This was compounded by the fact that one or two somehow found their way into our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adventure away from 5th Ave. There are several good restaurants on 30th.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chile Ale
Santiago, Chile
Apr 21, 2010

Great value, pretty neat hotel

Nice, spotless, basic hotel in a quiet location in Central Playa. Beach access is somewhat tricky since there is a monster resort in straight line which forces you to go around, but Playa's beach is so busy we only went once, and rather drove to quieter spots like Tulum, Akumal or XpuHa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 8, 2010

Aventura Mexican

The hotel is near 5th avenue shopping area but more towards the end.. It's also a short walk from the beach. If you want the shade of an umbrella it's def a bit more pesos for that but def worth it once you get to the beach with just the complimentary towels. The drinks at the bar in the restaurant of the hotel are pretty good. The flautas were tasty. The adult pool is small but is open 24 hours which is rather convenient. The complimentary breakfast is basic with bread jams and juice/coffee. Honestly I stayed at this hotel but walked on a daily basis down to the end of the strip near 1st. I would def go to Cozumel rent a scooter stop in every bar around the island and find a nice beach for your own private swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain your butt off or keep it moving. Don't jump at the first price I've had people drop half the price they started with just because I decided to walk away. The bus is a cheap bet to cancun only about 10 bucks from playa and even the bus to the airport is around that. Drops you off near 2nd st and 5th ave. The rip off is being suckered into a taxi in the airport wait until you are outside and watch those inside because they radio those outside you are coming. They say 90 dollars to playa but you can easily get there for 65 bucks. Or even better take the bus for 10.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladies of the lowland
Amsterdam, NL
Dec 1, 2009

great location and hotel for the price

great location and hotel for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpile
CT
Feb 28, 2012

Good value, nice grounds, staff

We had a good time here. The room was adequate. The location was perfect, just a little bit away from the main drag, and far away enough from the busier part of the main drag. Very little noise. The pools were good, and lots of good locations to sunbathe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carbonocitas

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oreolard
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Great deal, great stay

This hotel is near the end of the main strip (5th Ave), and a bit of a walk from the ADO bus station, so backpacking with a heavy bag or needing to make trips to the other end of the strip was somewhat of a pain (~20 min walk). Overall location was good though - the best foods we found were near us, and the local MEGA market wasn't too far away. Staff was always very helpful, and the room was nicely air conditioned. Hot water was a plentiful, and the hotel overall was nice. Free WiFi was fast, but the signal isn't strong in all areas. One thing that bothered me was that the blinds were almost transparent, and since we were facing the street on the lower floor, it made me a little nervous about who might have been peeking in. The pools were smaller than the picture depicts, but why be in a pool when the beach is a couple blocks away? We also got flea bites, but after having the hotel staff change the sheets the problem was solved. Breakfast was O.K. - food could be better. These factors aside, it was overall a great experience at a great price and I would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetpea and Punkin Carbajal
Fort Worth, Texas
Sep 8, 2009

I would highly recommend this Hotel.

We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great deal and location. We will most definately be staying here again. The Hotel was a few steps from both the 5th Avenue Shopping and the Ocean. On a scale from one to five the room service was a five. The room was the perfect size to house both my husband and myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can step out of your hotel and one block over to the 5th Avenue shopping spree. You can walk to the end of the strip, before your know it, and jump on the Ferry to Cozumel. Beware.. We discovered the better deals at the Playa.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed and Helen
Sweden
Mar 1, 2012

Good service and great location

We stayed 21 days on this hotel. Our experience is very good. A perfect hotel with a perfect location close but not to close to Ave. 5. The personal is frieidly and service minded. The hotel is clean with very comforable beds. You get a good hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search