$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan and Ali
Holland, MI
May 23, 2013

Great hotel

We had a fantastic time here during our stay. Aventura Mexicana provide a personal level of service that larger resort can not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Pennsylvania
Aug 18, 2009

Incredibly Wonderful

Truly beautiful,quiet and clean. We were just there for a long weekend, but I wish we could have stayed much longer. Aventura Mexicana is probably the best hotel I have used any where in Mexico and I travel there frequently since retiring two years ago. It is not so large and remote as many of the resorts, but it is located close to the public beach and the center of shopping and restaurants, all of which I prefer. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mayan cuisine

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teinertone
Business
Sugar Land, TX
Aug 11, 2009

great small hotel

Super clean rooms with beautiful grounds. Very pretty hotel. Location was great for us. One block from 5th and about 6 blocks to beach. Phone booth and nice convenience store half block away on 10th. Loved this place and would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dinner was at Parrilla Argentina de Manolo Cappelli. Fantastic steaks and seafood. Located at 10th and 24th but moving 9/09 to 5th and 32nd.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulieMex
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 1, 2009

Aventura Mexicana: Great Hotel

We really liked this hotel. The room was large and clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, and the restaurant food and drinks were good. Aventura is located just blocks from the beach and you can walk just about anywhere in town from this great location. No ocean view, but a nice pool and lovely sun deck are a good substitute for those who don't want to leave the hotel. Free wireless access, continental breakfast and 2x1 happy hour are all nice perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Tennessee
Jul 25, 2009

THE FINEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN MEXICO

Forget what you read in some of the other reviews posted about this perfect little paradise. Many of them are from borderline illiterates, others from people that should really keep their silly opinions to themselves.This place is the perfect getaway with all the right amenities of a quaint and semi-quiet boutique hotel. Aventura offers you a spotless, quiet, picturesque, and inviting atmosphere with a service staff that provides first class consideration to each and every guest. The location could not be better. A half minute walk will take you to 5th Avenue, the main strip that is Playa's tourist center. Here you will find hundreds of amazing restaurants, shops, nightclubs, and other entertainments.The beaches and beach clubs are less than 5 minutes walking distance from Aventura, and the hotel provides each guest with beach towels and discount cards for the already dirt cheap lounge chairs, beds, and umbrella's at the beach club.The rooms, grounds, and pools of the hotel are spotlessly maintained and absolutely stunning. Gardeners trim the myriad of flowers, plants, grasses, and trees with scissors on a daily basis so as not to disturb the visitors. Housemaids clean and disinfect the rooms daily, the air-conditioning is ice-cold, the security provided by the hotel is remarkable, and the concierge in the lobby will go to any length to provide the guests good deals for taxi service, tours, laundry cleaning, and anything else you might desire.The bistro/restaurant is of 5 star quality. The chef is superbly trained in delivering a high-quality, unforgettable food experience second to none. The waiting staff at the restaurant, [...], [...], [...], [...], and [...] are one of the highlights of my trip. You will fall in love with them as much as the 13 year resident of the hotel, a cat by the name of Olivia. And it is because of them that I will return to Aventura Mexicana over and over again.In summation, this is without a question one of the finest hotels in Mexico, and in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating. I could not find a single thing to fault, and I expect that neither will you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever you want to do with your vacation time, you can do it here, and cheaply at that. Don't forget to buy a can of tuna for the wonderful resident cat Olivia.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and Lisa T
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 20, 2009

Excellent locale for family vacation

The location was excellent. We hope to stay there again. Yes, there are larger resort hotels, some right on the beach, but I prefer to spend our money on activities, not on a room in a palatial building in which we only spend a short time. However, at Aventura Mexicana we did get "palatial" treatment. I can't imagine being made to feel more welcome and comfortable than the staff at Aventura made us feel. Along with friendly service every day, they assisted us with getting a rental car for our day trip to Chichen Itza. They were ready with towels every time we went to the beach. They assisted us in getting a taxi lined up for our early (5:15am) pick up to the airport for our flight home. The building may not be huge but that's a plus in this case. You get a quaint welcome home feeling when you walk into the open air lobby. The staff members are friendly and attentive. The pool areas are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, neat and functional. Our balcony looked out over the pool. I loved the step-in shower with beautiful tile. The walk to the beach was a good 2 blocks but it wasn't a problem at all. There's plenty of local scenery to keep you busy along the way. And we used the Beach Club discount to get beach chairs with umbrellas and enjoyed being served by the beach club staff. Shopping was just around the corner from Aventura along with an amazing assortment of restaurants. Also I have to mention that the staff members at the hotel's restaurant, the Mayan Bistro were a delight. We enjoyed practicing our Spanish each morning at breakfast. The only critical thing I can say about the hotel is that my family thought the beds were a little bit hard. I thought they were fine myself and had no problem sleeping. All in all it was a fantastic vacation and we definitely hope to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy anything the first day, unless you've got an unlimited amount of funds. For instance there's such an assortment of jewelry that if you buy right away, you'll see something you like even better at the next shop.. or the next. And have fun bargaining with the vendors. Never accept the first price they give you. We had a delightful time.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warshington, DC
Jul 5, 2009

Nice, clean, friendly, good value.

Pleasant, attractive, clean place with helpful, friendly staff. Good value for money. It's at the north end of town, a long-ish walk from bus station. This was the only issue for us. If not traveling by bus, not a problem. I've seen the towels folded into Swans before, but these guys do Elephants too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of eating on 5th Ave. and overpaying in tourist traps playing elevator music, head a few blocks South on 10th Avenue and turn right for a few blocks on Constitution and there's a string of places across from the Mega Supermarket that are a lot better where local people eat.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carlos the traveling Dad
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 14, 2009

A great experience.

The hotel is less than one block from 5th avenue which is the main pedestrian mall in Playa del Carmen. It is just a couple of blocks from the beach, and the hotel provides fresh towels for pool and beach. It is a 10 min drive from Xcaret, the water ecopark. Playa del Carmen is halfway betweem Cancun and Tulum making both accessible in 40 min drive either way. There is parking on the premises and a safety box in the room. There is coffee in the lobby all day, and the people are super friendly. The hotel restaurant, the Mayan Bistro, serves great breakfast and dinner at very reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Parilla de Manolo; an Argentinian restaurant on 10th avenue, less than a block form the hotel. Great food.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Take me back!
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 2, 2009

I want to go back!

The hotel was clean, friendly, welcoming, and had the perfect location along the main strip in Playa: close enough to be convenient yet far enough away to be quiet. You do have to walk a few blocks to the beach but unless you get one of the few beach-front hotels in Playa you can expect to walk a little ways. And trust me, it is worth it once you get to the white sandy beaches and turquois water. Quinta Avenida is filled with shops, restaraunts, art galleries, and travel kiosks that offer several tours/day trips/excursions. There are so many things to do close to Playa that we can't wait to come back. We spent the last 2 nights of our vacation in Cancun at a big resort and found ourselves wishing we were still at the Aventura Mexicana in our quaint poolside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jealous Snails
Business
San Antonio, TX and Wales UK
May 31, 2009

does not disa[[oint

We were looking for a hotel convenient to shopping, the beach and eating and drinking. We found all that and more at the Adventura Mexicana. The service was friendly and understanding when we locked ourselves out of our room within an hour of our arrival. The decor and beds were relaxing and the rooms and grounds were super clean and well maintained. There was no undue noise and the air conditioner worked great. We would stay there again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk the a beautiful beach.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, WA
May 27, 2009

Aventura Mexican a hidden gem

We stayed a AM for 4 nights. It was a very nice, low key place. They have two small pools, but my 10 year old daughter loved both of them. Front desk people were very welcoming and helped us with anything we needed. They had free internet. The continental breakfast was pretty basic but nice. We would definitely stay there again. The only slightly bad thing was that it was on 24th Ave, and when the bus drops you off at 1st, that is some walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue. Go towards town, or up Constitution Ave. We had several great dinners. One at El Fogon and another at El Pesca. We also went to the papaletta stand every night and bought popsicles for 10 pesos, or.80 that were made with real pineapple, mango, coconut.

Back to menu Return to top