$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan and Ali
Holland, MI
May 23, 2013

Great hotel

We had a fantastic time here during our stay. Aventura Mexicana provide a personal level of service that larger resort can not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy in NM
Business
New Mexico
Jan 13, 2010

Not frilly, but close to the action

One reason I chose the hotel is because it offered a continental breakfast; it was pretty bland - just toast and jam with coffee - but it did get us through mornings when we had to be up early for tours and did not have time to go find breakfast. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. The pools were lovely looking, but it was too cold to go swimming on the days we were there. The bathroom area (shower, toilet and sink) had no door and the side wall blocking it off from the bed did not go all the way to the ceiling. Also, the entrance to the hotel was a sliding glass door, from which you could see directly into the bathroom. I'm not sure if all of the rooms are like this or not. One great benefit is that the hotel had an in-room safe. We also got towel cards that could be exchanged for beach towels, which was nice. The staff of the hotel was quite friendly and avaliable most times we needed them. The location of the hotel to 5th St. (the main drag) and the beach was good, although from the online descriptions we read, we did think it would be closer to the beach. I would recommend the hotel based on location and cleanliness, but if privacy is an issue for you, don't go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining in Playa del Carmen is not cheap - even if you go off the strip. We paid $25-55 American per couple per meal (tip not included) on 5th St., and not much less off the strip. However, some of the meals are pretty large and we decided to share some which helped out with the cost. You MUST try Mexican Sipping Chocolate at Ah Caco!!! One of my goals was to find some little carts on the side of the street to buy food from, but did not find many (maybe because the weather was pretty dicy when we were there - not sure).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, NH
Jan 11, 2010

Very nice location for the price

The restaurant served very flavorful food at an excellent price. The location was quiet, yet right in the heart of the tourist "5th Avenue". The beaches were excellent, one for the single party crowd and the other for family. The pools were very limited on location and would have been inadequate if the weather was at peak season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davison, MI
Dec 31, 2009

Fantastic location

This hotel was ideally located in the northern section of Playa Del Carmen. Just a short walk to a fabulous beach and next to a great Italian restaurant named Pummarolas. Directly across from the hotel is a fantastic fitness center called Evolve. My wife and I had a marvelous time and will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davison, MI
Dec 31, 2009

Fantastic location

This hotel was ideally located in the northern section of Playa Del Carmen. Just a short walk to a fabulous beach and next to a great Italian restaurant named Pummarolas. Directly across from the hotel is a fantastic fitness center called Evolve. My wife and I had a marvelous time and will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 29, 2009

Fantastic location

We spent a week in Playa and it was great. The location was really good, just seconds away from the main street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can get anywhere by taking the bus for only 30 pesos (less than $3), you do not need to spend hundreds of dollars in expensive excursions. Just go to the bus station, ADO, in the main street and ask for destinations (Tulum, Xel-Ha, Xcaret...).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leon and Millie
Business
New Jersey
Dec 21, 2009

Highly recommended, you can't go wrong

This hotel has it all; great staff, great location, great rates. Just returned yesterday and already planning another trip with family members so that they too can experience Adventura Mexicana and the wonder of Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Cozumel, don't miss it. Rent a jeep or VW bug and explore the island. Isla Mujeres, you gotta go. We took a snorkle catamaran from Cancun but you can take an inexpensive ferry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 4, 2009

Great value for your money

If you'd like a break from all inclusives this is a great option. Close to shopping, restaurants and beach. Aside from a few things like low shower water pressure, you can't beat the price for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There are great restaurants, bars and shopping all around the corner, but the hotel has just as good drink specials and food quality as the rest. (Visit the hotel spa - $25/hr., fabulous). (Hotel arranged a return cab for $50, we paid $65 to get there).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamie HV
Business
Qc, Canada
Dec 3, 2009

Nice place to stay !

Very nice place to stay, very quiet and good staff. Wifi Internet didn't work always and acceptable free breakfast:orange juice, coffee, teast and pastries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Los Amigos, 30e Avenue...very good and none expensive !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 2, 2009

cute boutique hotel

great location right off of 5th avenue. friendly staff. love the free internet in lobby. we didn't use the daily maid service or pool. wish breakfast was do-it-yourself grab-n-go instead of sit down cuz it's just continental. the service is nice though if you have the time for it. we were in a hurry with tours departing in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladies of the lowland
Business
Amsterdam, NL
Dec 1, 2009

great location and hotel for the price

great location and hotel for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top