$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
231 reviews
Wonderful stay in the Riviera Maya

Great hotel, awesome location, excellent breakfast, helpful hotel staff! See full review

  • Caltravel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel!!

We loved Aventura Mexicana! The staff was extremely nice and their suggestions of restaurants and... See full review

  • Agustin and Gise
  • Jan 1, 2014
Value boutique hotel in the heart of Riviera Maya’s Playa del Carmen
The Aventura Mexicana is located two blocks from the beach and one block from Playa del Carmen's thriving downtown. This boutique hotel boasts lush greenery, courtyard, waterfall, two pools, three sundecks and a spa. Guests also enjoy free continental breakfast. There are options for in-room massages and airport transportation. Many amenities are within walking distance, including a world-class gym, yoga studio, shopping and additional dining. Fees apply for most activities at Aventura Mexicana.
Highlights:
  • Boutique hotel close to the beach Playa del Carmen
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet in the restaurant and lobby
  • Hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service
Rooms:

Each suite at the Aventura Mexicana is decorated with a different touch. Guests can expect colonial hacienda construction with eclectic, elegant and traditional Mexican accents. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, TVs, phones, private bath, small refrigerator and bathroom amenities. Guests can choose from a Deluxe King/Double, Deluxe King/Double with a view and Junior Suites with a view.

Features:

Location, location, location! The Aventura Mexicana is close to downtown Playa del Carmen and the beach. Discounted day passes to Evolve Gym and Yoga by the Way are available for health-conscious guests. If you would rather stay on site, a lounge offers daily happy hour drink deals. The Aventura Mexicana's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Wireless Internet is available in the restaurant and lobby for free. The Beauty Korper Spa boasts in-room massage and spa services (fees apply). The resort also offers a personal wedding planner.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (60 minutes)
Attractions
  • Tulum ruins (50 mi/80 km)
  • Chichen Itza (240 mi/386 km)
Business­
  • Business center and concierge available (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in the restaurant and lobby
Policies and fees
  • Extra-person charges may apply. Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.
  • All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking is permitted in open areas only.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6317 -87.0697
Area served
Cancun 60 min drive Cancun airport 45 min drive Various Mayan ruins Tulum 30-45 min drive Coba 60 min drive Chichen Itza 4 hours drive And the famous islands Cozumel and Isla Mujeres just a hop away by ferry.
Nearby airports
Cancun Cozumel
Area description
Highway 305 Cancun-Playa del Carmen Ferry to Playa Carmen-30 min.

Aventura Mexicana Rooms

Deluxe King
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features a King bed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double
These rooms are located on the 24th street side of the hotel, so if you are a light sleeper we would NOT recommend this room option. Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people) on the Family pool side. Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe King Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features a King bed with a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Deluxe Double Pool or Garden View
Guestroom features two Full beds (accommodates up to 4 people), a pool/garden view and patio and patio/veranda on the Family pool side Rooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican decor with tranquil hues and earthy tones. Amenities include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen tv, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.
Junior Suite
Guestroom features a King bed and separate sitting area, a pool/garden view, patio or veranda on the Adult pool side. Most of these rooms have a very modern bathroom design with a 3/4 height wall and door, they are not fully enclosed. Amenities include water dispenser, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning, private bath, Lite Continental breakfast, small refrigerator, free wi/fi (lobby, pool, restaurant areas), free beach club access, free beach towel service so you can leave your bulky beach towels at home, free parking, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, clock radio, phone, hairdryer, safe deposit box, body lotion, aloe, & shampoo.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Mayan Bistro
Mayan Bistro Restaurant and Bar! Wine and dine in our bistro and bar serving Mexican & International cuisine. Don't miss out on our wonderful seafood dishes, a specialty our chef, Marco Maffezzoni.
Continental Breakfast
Includes whole wheat toast, crossaint, fresh squeezed orange juice, strong mexican coffee and herb teas. A full breakfast menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Amsterdam
Jul 11, 2010

Very pleasant hotel!

The room ("Moody") was surprisingly big, definitely bigger than expected! It was divided into a living room with a sofa and & big flatscreen TV and a sleeping room with a comfortable king size bed. Although I wasn't on a honeymoon (or even couple) trip, my bed was decorated nicely with towel swans & flowers (and an elephant the other day - attentive detail!). The AC was running fine and helped a lot. On request you could borrow a handy umbrella (unfortunately needed...) and got a discount voucher for the neat gym on the other side of the street. For one day there was no hot water but they repaired it very quickly, well done. The hotel is around the corner to the 5th avenue, the main pedestrian shopping & restaurant area. It is relatively at the beginning of this street, which is actually a pre as it is not noisy but still easy to walk. Breakfast is ok, nothing big, but neither described that way. Service is friendly (maybe a bit too re-active) Only minusses were pool (nice for decoration but much too small for real usage...)and the fact that the promoted "balcony with garden view" is in fact simply the "open hallway" for all rooms on the 1st (European 1st!) floor - thus you don't get a private balcony whatsoever! Wouldn't say that's bad in general, but just don't call it balcony...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Daytours offered by alltournative offtrackadventures are really worth it! They are not offered by the hotel but at a small shop on the right of the 5th avenue (somewhere aroung the 30th calle). You can even get Dutch/German/French speaking guides, next to the English/Spanish ones.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Jun 30, 2010

Nice little bed & breakfast inn

Nice and clean rooms. Good location. Friendly staff. Everything is great for a 3-star level of hotel/inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel located in 24th St of Playa Del Carment. Within walking distance to 1st St, you can find Ado bus station to Xcarnet/Xel-ha/Tulum or Ferry station to Cozumel. Very convenient.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MD
Jun 30, 2010

Nice little bed & breakfast inn

Nice and clean rooms. Good location. Friendly staff. Everything is great for a 3-star level of hotel/inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel located in 24th St of Playa Del Carment. Within walking distance to 1st St, you can find Ado bus station to Xcarnet/Xel-ha/Tulum or Ferry station to Cozumel. Very convenient.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peace seekers
West Palm Beach,FL
Jun 24, 2010

Ok, for last minute

We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peace seekers
West Palm Beach,FL
Jun 24, 2010

Ok, for last minute

We arrived at the Bus Station the 1st week of June 2010. We walked 14 blocks and picked up our rental car that night. Taxis are available, but we wanted to walk and check out the stores and restaurants. The hotel staff was friendly. Unfortunately, we were given a lower floor room which was pretty noisy since it was close to the pool. We heard screaming kids in the pool late at night and constant traffic from other guests. The room was clean, liked the mini fridge and good AC. The hotel has limited parking, like 4 spots, and if u get there late, u have to park on the street. Breakfast was good, fresh breads, juice and coffee. We saw no security guard on grounds, but several security cameras. The main street-5th ave is 1 block away, plenty of restaurants to choose from. Beach access was 4 blocks away.Overall it was an ok experience for travellers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WiscoCouple
Eau Claire, WI
May 30, 2010

Had a great trip!

This was my first time to Mexico and my fiance had been to 4 other cities in Mexico, but never to Playa. The concierage in the hotel was very friendly, but you are better off going out on your own to find excursions because everything is negotiable on the streets. The cleaning people do not speak a lick of english which is ok because they can walkie talkie someone who does. The location was close to 5th Avenue (the pedestrian walking street) and close enough to the beach, for us :-) Be prepared to do a lot of walking anyway because driving was much different from what I'm used to, which made it rather stressing, but managable. Most of the entertainment in the town is within walking distance and taxis are cheap. Great, great food just about at any restaurant on 5th and you can find great drink specials. We were really limited on cash so we took advantage of going to the gas stations and loading up a backpack full of $1.00 XX Equis and walking around the streets... Our key didnt work a couple of times, once housekeeping had to let us in and the other the maintenence guy was able to "break In" to the room rather easily through the sliding glass door when our key got stuck in the lock. The floors weren't mopped but everything else was fairly clean. The safe is awesome because you can set your own passwords, but would not be large enough to hold a laptop. We didn't come with super high expectations and we certainly aren't accustomed to luxuries. So we didn't let anything bring us down. It was a great trip and probably wouldnt stay anywhere else but Aventura Mexicana next time we come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day for $11.00/person. Rent a moped for the day for no more than $20.00 each. Then ask a local how to get to Bob Marleys Bar. It's a about a 20-30 minute moped ride way on the other side of the island, but the beach drive is undescribable and it is all untampered waters. Pull over anywhere along the beach(we happened to get a flat...but they have roadside assistance constantly driving around to help tourists) The beaches are rocky but you CAN find some sandy areas to swim, cool sea shells and the views/alone time with a significant other is priceless.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WiscoCouple
Eau Claire, WI
May 30, 2010

Had a great trip!

This was my first time to Mexico and my fiance had been to 4 other cities in Mexico, but never to Playa. The concierage in the hotel was very friendly, but you are better off going out on your own to find excursions because everything is negotiable on the streets. The cleaning people do not speak a lick of english which is ok because they can walkie talkie someone who does. The location was close to 5th Avenue (the pedestrian walking street) and close enough to the beach, for us :-) Be prepared to do a lot of walking anyway because driving was much different from what I'm used to, which made it rather stressing, but managable. Most of the entertainment in the town is within walking distance and taxis are cheap. Great, great food just about at any restaurant on 5th and you can find great drink specials. We were really limited on cash so we took advantage of going to the gas stations and loading up a backpack full of $1.00 XX Equis and walking around the streets... Our key didnt work a couple of times, once housekeeping had to let us in and the other the maintenence guy was able to "break In" to the room rather easily through the sliding glass door when our key got stuck in the lock. The floors weren't mopped but everything else was fairly clean. The safe is awesome because you can set your own passwords, but would not be large enough to hold a laptop. We didn't come with super high expectations and we certainly aren't accustomed to luxuries. So we didn't let anything bring us down. It was a great trip and probably wouldnt stay anywhere else but Aventura Mexicana next time we come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the ferry to Cozumel for a day for $11.00/person. Rent a moped for the day for no more than $20.00 each. Then ask a local how to get to Bob Marleys Bar. It's a about a 20-30 minute moped ride way on the other side of the island, but the beach drive is undescribable and it is all untampered waters. Pull over anywhere along the beach(we happened to get a flat...but they have roadside assistance constantly driving around to help tourists) The beaches are rocky but you CAN find some sandy areas to swim, cool sea shells and the views/alone time with a significant other is priceless.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paris, FR
May 29, 2010

Enjoy

Staff very kind, close to the beach, perfect for a week off!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paris, FR
May 29, 2010

Enjoy

Staff very kind, close to the beach, perfect for a week off!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prior Lake, Minnesota
May 27, 2010

Great Stay, Great Price, Great Time

I have been to Mexico many times before this trip, and I have loved every single vacation. Aventura Mexicana was a great hotel, for a great price. It is 2 blocks from the beach, very easy to find, and is very cozy and has an exotic feel on the inside. You would never know you were not on the beach. The staff was beyond friendly and was always willing to help, offer advice, book reservations for tours, just about do anything for you. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Another great thing about this hotel is that it is a 10 min walk to the pier (where the ferry to Cozumel is), it is 1 block from the beginning of the downtown stretch of shops and stands. It is in a great location and we all had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

From this hotel, we went to a place called "El Fagon" which is a local spot that many people who live in mexico go to because it is authentic and 3 blocks from the hotel. It was about $5 US for a large plate of fajitas or tacos. There are many restaurants on the way downtown on 5th ave as well.

Back to menu Return to top