$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Aventura Mexicana

3 stars
View map of CALLE 24 ENTRE 10 Y 5 AV, COL. CENTRO, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aventura Mexicana

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Nice Getaway Spot

Quick stop (2 nights) in Playa on the way to Cozumel. Charming hotel,friendly staff and great location within walking distance to almost everything you could want. Hope to make a return visit and spend a little more time in Playa. The only thing that could have been improved upon would be the addition of a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a seperate, full service gym across the street which is accessible for a fee.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hey honeymooners!
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 8, 2009

honeymoon in la playa

Our room was a great escape from the heat. We were conveniently located off the strip by a block, which I think helped keep it nice and quite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 22, 2009

An Excellent Experience

Aventura Mexicana was an excellent choice for us. We knew we wanted a "value" hotel, and that is exactly what we got. Great price, good service. Within just a few steps from the hotel was the "5th Avenue" of Playa del Carmen with literally hundreds of restaurants. The beach is only a 5 minute walk. If you are looking for a full-service hotel this is not the right choice. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, relatively simple rooms, this is it. The restaurant had great, very well-priced food. The massage also was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 10, 2009

Couldn't have been better!

Stayed in room 401, could have cooked as it had a kitchenette

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampico, México
Sep 8, 2009

Nice

Excellent for the price. The breakfast could be better, we only took it once in 5 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric - Budget Traveler
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 26, 2009

Great location

We actually avoided most of the amenities the hotel had to offer (spa, pools, & restaurant) so that we could explore the surrounding area (swimming on the beach, snorkeling, SCUBA diving, sightseeing, and clubbing). There are several good restaurants on the main strip (5th Ave) but we actually liked going to 30th Ave for more local eats. We took a day trip to Cozumel via the passenger ferry for SCUBA diving. This is highly recommended as you get to dive in one of the prettiest reefs in the world. Our biggest complaint is that the bathroom and the bedroom are one and the same (only separated by a tall partial wall). I'm not sure about everyone else, but I definitely do not like listening to my significant other's bowel movements! Finally, be sure to bring/buy bug spray. There are a lot of mosquitoes and we were eaten alive. This was compounded by the fact that one or two somehow found their way into our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Adventure away from 5th Ave. There are several good restaurants on 30th.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mijayo
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 24, 2009

Quaint Hotel, Great Location

Aventura Mexicana was fabulous! We stayed for 6 nights were very pleased with the service, food, location, rooms, and A/C (Playa del Carmen was much more hot and humid than we are used to!). The staff was very helpful and polite. My boyfriend hurt his foot and was on crutches for part of our trip; the staff helped us move to a ground floor room with ease. The wait staff at the Mayan Bistro were also friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast was so-so as you only got toast and beverages, but ordering off the menu was well worth it because the prices were very reasonable and the food was tasty. The location was fantastic. We were just one block away from 5th Ave which is pedestrian-only and lined with trinket shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. We were also only blocks away from the beach. The rooms were charming, clean and comfortable. We never heard the noise from 5th avenue and the hotel itself had a tranquil feel to it. We slept well each of the 6 nights we were there! Highly recommended!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car. The drivers were a little crazy, but we got to do what we wanted without the time constraints of transportation services.

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin America Fan
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Aug 24, 2009

Fun and culturally unique, but....

We loved the 2 different pools and thought the atmosphere was a positive cultural experience. The center courtyard and room layout had more of an international flavor and was a fun place for the family. It was clean the staff was friendly. The only area to improve was the shower in one of our rooms kept loosing pressure due to a water pump failure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from the hotel was the main night-life and tourist street. It is full of everything from souvenirs to food to money exchange to pharmacies to stores. The place was alive....

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RULOTCh
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 21, 2009

Great Place to stay while in Playa

We enjoyed our stay at the Aventura Mexicana hotel. The was excellent so helpful and friendly. We decided to upgrade our room once we arrived and had no problem doing so. The price was perfect for this place. Its about a block away from 5th,so its away from all the noise but close enough so you could walk everywhere. Its also about 4 blocks from the beach which was amazing. The continental breakfast was always fresh and the food at the Mayan Bistro was good although too creative at times. Overall the hotel was great. The grounds are kept in superb shape and the staff truly makes it a wonderful place to stay! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at John Gray's Place was amazing!

Review of Aventura Mexicana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BMK
Business
Vancouver, BC Canada
Aug 20, 2009

Great Stay

The hotel is in a good location to 5th Ave. without the noise, and just a 5 minutes to one of the best stretches of beach in Playa del Carmen. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere was very quiet and relaxing. The guests staying there were also enjoyable. We stayed for 17 nights and would definitely stay again.We are a couple in our late 40's and early 50's who act younger!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Collectivo's for transportation up and down highway 307. You can see many tourist sights, beaches, cenote's, and out of the way places without having to take the tours or a taxi and spend the money, it's easy just be adventureous.

Back to menu Return to top