$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

4 stars
Calle 28 NTE Entre Calle 26 Y Ave, Cozumel Col, Centro, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
45 reviews
nice hotel

nice hotel for families, friends, good location. good service. nice staff See full review

  • marybeth d
  • Dec 18, 2013
Nice Hotel

I would stay again in this hotel. Its near everything, all the good things to do is in a walking... See full review

  • Gustavo Guimaraes
  • Sep 8, 2013
Luxury resort inspired by Thai-Balinese style in Playa del Carmen
The Aldea Thai Resort and Residences is located 45 minutes from Cancun's International Airport in the heart of downtown Playa del Carmen. The hotel borrows heavily from eastern Thai influences with Buddha statues and calm, flowing water. The hotel features pools, a pool bar, wedding planning services and Wi-Fi in rooms (fees may apply). The convenient location of the hotel is just steps away from the famous Mamita Beach Club. Enjoy the tranquility of the surroundings or step outside for the hustle and bustle of Playa del Carmen.
Highlights:
  • Convenient location
  • Interesting architecture and design
  • Access to Mamita Beach Club
Rooms:

Guests at Aldea Thai Resort and Residences choose from a number of rooms with impressive features. Decor in the rooms mirrors the same tranquility and zen of the rest of the hotel with clean lines, white furnishing, earth-tone accents and dark wood. All rooms include king-sized bed or two double beds, private balcony, marble bathrooms, plasma TVs and Teva bath products. Other rooms include breakfast, full kitchens, additional bathrooms, living rooms, bedrooms and private pools. The Penthouse boasts a king-sized canopy bed, shower, bathtub and second bedroom with full private bath. All rooms at Aldea Thai Resort and Residences have access to the hotel's Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply).

Features:

Guests at Aldea Thai Resort and Residences receive VIP treatment at a number of locations around Playa del Carmen including La Santanera Nightclub and Bar, Evolve Gym and Diablito Cha Cha Cha, a local club. For guests looking more for relaxation, the Aldea Thai Resort offers spa treatments including massages, poolside or in the privacy of your suite. Guests also receive complimentary sun beds and a 15 percent discount on food and beverages at Mamita's Beach Club.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (8 mi/13 km)
  • Xel-Ha (25 mi/41 km)
Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet is available in-room and at reception (fees may apply)

Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Rooms

Superior Lockoff
157 Sq. Ft. Tastefully decorated to make you feel like in your own home, this room offers a King size bed, a full bathroom with bathtub and shower among a world of other conveniences such as a plasma TV, telephone, safety deposit box, radio-alarm clock and luxury toiletries. This unit has a maxim capacity of 2 adults.
Luxury Suite
Enjoying a perfect balance of luxury, functionality and comfort, it promotes complete relaxation with the carefully thought-out design that includes a fully furnished bedroom with 2 double beds, bathroom, and living room, as well as a totally equipped kitchen with oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave oven, crockery, crystal ware and cutlery. Its splendid balcony captures an enchanting view.
Junior Suite
This luxurious space is carefully designed with exclusive details that can be appreciated in every corner of the room, appointed with a fully furnished kitchenette, a King size bed, a full bathroom and first class toiletries. The balcony offers a lovely view.
Master Suite
Both comfortable and elegant, the Master Suite is designed with the purpose of pleasing to the slight detail. It offers an endless list of amenities and luxuries such as a fully furnished bedroom with a king size bed, a second bedroom with 2 double beds and 2 full bathrooms that include a bathtub.For your convenience, it also features a well-appointed living-dining room and a kitchen with oven, refrigerator, coffee maker, blender, microwave oven, crockery, crystal ware and cutlery. A breath-taking view of the surroundings can be admired from its balcony.
Pent House 2 Bedrooms with private pool
Room with one king and one double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color Tv, crockery/ cutlery, DVD Player, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, stove/ oven, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and toaster.
Pent House 3 bedroom with private pool
Room with two king and two double bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color Tv, crockery/ cutlery, DVD Player, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, stove/ oven, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and toaster.
Two Bedroom Pool Master Suite
Provided with luxury and comfort, easily appreciated in its fully furnished rooms such as a lounging and dining area, master bedroom with King-sized bed, and a second spacious bedroom with two double beds as well as two bathrooms with bathtub, shower and high quality toiletries. The kitchen is totally equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, oven, microwave oven, crockery, crystal ware and cutlery.
Privileged amenities of Two Bedroom Pool Master Suite
-Spacious, private terrace with a swimming pool and comfortable furniture
-King sized-bed and 2 double beds
-Living/dining room for 6 persons
-Fully -appointed marble bathrooms with shower and bath, hair dryer, exclusive toiletries and telephone.
- Plasma TV's, with 42" and 25" screens
-2 telephones with outside and long distance access.
-TV with 70 channels, in several languages
-CD and DVD player
- Quality bath products: Teva
-Safety deposit box
-Iron and ironing board

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

20.6314 -87.0667
Area served
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in Playa del Carmen, on 28th street just a few steps form the Mamita's Beach Club.

Dining

Restaurant
Festive, casual restaurant featuring International dishes and decor. Bar. Indoor and outdoor dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
cedar park, tx
Feb 8, 2010

bad service

The hotel is in a great location, unfortunately, the room they gave us was not. It was right next to the pump room, which was extremely loud. When I called to the front desk, they seemed unconcerned and said they had nothing else available. Next, I folded back the sheets to find what looked like blood stains on them. Finally, when i went into the bathroom and turned on the sink, a dead bug came out, and when I looked in the tub, there was a black hair waiting for me. I am considering buying a condo in Playa, and stayed here because I wanted to check these out because I know they are for sale, but now, I wouldn't even stay there one more night or recommend anyone else to, much less buy one, because the person at the front desk didn't seem to care about my complaint and didn't do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary
Mar 16, 2010

Misrepresentation By [...], Aldea Thai

[...] represented the room we booked as a 4 star superior room with a king sized bed. The room was actually a 10 x 13 foot bedroom with a bed, and bathroom to the side. Once we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a deluxe room for $370 per night extra. [...] and the Aldea Thai reservation manager would not refund us our money so that we could find another option - after 2 days of arguing and being unhappy, we finally paid a $149 per night upgrade. [...]Aldea Thai's manager ([...]) was extremely rude.The complex itself is very nice and the location is very good but this experience set us back financially and ruined a good portion of our holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
cedar park, tx
Feb 8, 2010

bad service

The hotel is in a great location, unfortunately, the room they gave us was not. It was right next to the pump room, which was extremely loud. When I called to the front desk, they seemed unconcerned and said they had nothing else available. Next, I folded back the sheets to find what looked like blood stains on them. Finally, when i went into the bathroom and turned on the sink, a dead bug came out, and when I looked in the tub, there was a black hair waiting for me. I am considering buying a condo in Playa, and stayed here because I wanted to check these out because I know they are for sale, but now, I wouldn't even stay there one more night or recommend anyone else to, much less buy one, because the person at the front desk didn't seem to care about my complaint and didn't do anything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary
Mar 16, 2010

Misrepresentation By [...], Aldea Thai

[...] represented the room we booked as a 4 star superior room with a king sized bed. The room was actually a 10 x 13 foot bedroom with a bed, and bathroom to the side. Once we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a deluxe room for $370 per night extra. [...] and the Aldea Thai reservation manager would not refund us our money so that we could find another option - after 2 days of arguing and being unhappy, we finally paid a $149 per night upgrade. [...]Aldea Thai's manager ([...]) was extremely rude.The complex itself is very nice and the location is very good but this experience set us back financially and ruined a good portion of our holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tried to see the positive
San Francisco, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

beware

last year i stayed at this hotel and loved it. i was very excited to go back but was very disappointed. supposedly the ownership changed and was not good. i booked the same room as last year but did not get the same this year very wrong. the first room they put me in leaked in the bathroom all night about 2 inches on the floor and didn't fix. the next room smelled like mold. the final room i was stuck with was missing a shower curtain and many other wrong things. i hate writing bad things and usually never do but felt i really needed to vent since no one at the hotel managing level cared. very disappointed because i wanted to go back to this location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nedmoya
Boston, MA
Feb 18, 2010

Nice, but TINY room

Apparently, this place rents out full-size apartments, but when they are not taken, they try to sell each individual bedroom as a hotel room. We happened to get one of these rooms, and all I can say is that it is the smallest room I have stayed in. It was a lovely bed, wonderful bathroom with jacuzzi tub (the bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom), but we expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant: Media Luna. A lot of the restaurants on 5th Ave in Playa del Carmen are cheesy places catering to [*] who would rather drink bud and eat nachos than sample local cuisine or learn about local culture. Media Luna was a nice compromise between the touristy vibe and some good fresh local seafood. It was a lot lower key, pleasant place to sit.

Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
pachuca hidalgo
Apr 8, 2010

Aldea Thai Resort & Residences

This is a very beatiful hotel, we were greeted with champagne and a very friendly staff member, its decoration is top notch but it still missing just a few details (although understandable because its new) like there is just one phone with no tags outside the room, the shower doesn't have a place to hold shampoo and humidity tends to exacerbate bad odors from the bathroom and the maid forgot to clean the jacuzzi zone as there were some cigarretes left on the floor. Beds were really confy, there were also 2 plasma tvs in the room, 1 40+" with a dvd in the living room and 1 20+" in the bedroom, the kitchen was filled with good quality microwave and oven, just as the forks and knives, although it had just 1 frying pan. At first we arrived at a 1 king size bed room, it was microscopic and was located near the machine room, this room's doors and windows were deficient in isolating noise from its own machine room and speakers from the playa mamitas beach club, then we moved to a junior suite with no noise problems at all. One thing that seemed to be odd for a hotel of this kind, is the fact that it doesn't have a beach of its own, although its in the border of the hottest beach of playa del carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of good restaurants within a 20 meters radio, the 5th avenue (the mainstreet in playa) is a couple of hundred mts away but you'll see lots of beatiful buildings and the streets are packed with cool stores in the way to this fantastic street which is filled with classy restaurants and bars.

Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nedmoya
Boston, MA
Feb 18, 2010

Nice, but TINY room

Apparently, this place rents out full-size apartments, but when they are not taken, they try to sell each individual bedroom as a hotel room. We happened to get one of these rooms, and all I can say is that it is the smallest room I have stayed in. It was a lovely bed, wonderful bathroom with jacuzzi tub (the bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom), but we expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant: Media Luna. A lot of the restaurants on 5th Ave in Playa del Carmen are cheesy places catering to [*] who would rather drink bud and eat nachos than sample local cuisine or learn about local culture. Media Luna was a nice compromise between the touristy vibe and some good fresh local seafood. It was a lot lower key, pleasant place to sit.

Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
pachuca hidalgo
Apr 8, 2010

Aldea Thai Resort & Residences

This is a very beatiful hotel, we were greeted with champagne and a very friendly staff member, its decoration is top notch but it still missing just a few details (although understandable because its new) like there is just one phone with no tags outside the room, the shower doesn't have a place to hold shampoo and humidity tends to exacerbate bad odors from the bathroom and the maid forgot to clean the jacuzzi zone as there were some cigarretes left on the floor. Beds were really confy, there were also 2 plasma tvs in the room, 1 40+" with a dvd in the living room and 1 20+" in the bedroom, the kitchen was filled with good quality microwave and oven, just as the forks and knives, although it had just 1 frying pan. At first we arrived at a 1 king size bed room, it was microscopic and was located near the machine room, this room's doors and windows were deficient in isolating noise from its own machine room and speakers from the playa mamitas beach club, then we moved to a junior suite with no noise problems at all. One thing that seemed to be odd for a hotel of this kind, is the fact that it doesn't have a beach of its own, although its in the border of the hottest beach of playa del carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of good restaurants within a 20 meters radio, the 5th avenue (the mainstreet in playa) is a couple of hundred mts away but you'll see lots of beatiful buildings and the streets are packed with cool stores in the way to this fantastic street which is filled with classy restaurants and bars.

Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2011

Nice and comfortable in a great location

We were looking for a high quality hotel that was not an all-inclusive resort and the Aldea Thai was the perfect fit. The room quality was nice, staff was helpful and the overall quality of the hotel was great. It's a short walk to all the restaurants & shops on fifth avenue and it's just steps away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top