$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Quinta Real Oaxaca

4 stars
View map of 5 De Mayo St. #300, Col. Centro, Oaxaca, 68000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
32 reviews
Great hotel and staff

The staff were very nice and attentive to us. We received a room upgrade without even asking and... See full review

  • donald p.
  • Aug 4, 2015
Great location

This hotel meets expectations. The location is great and the hotel is beautiful. I think that for... See full review

  • Ya que mas
  • May 5, 2015
Ranked by CONDE NAST as Number 5 Hotel in Mexico and Central AmericaThe capital city of the State of Oaxaca is one of the most beautiful capital cities of the country. It is recognized as the most Mexican city of the Republic. Its many markets and those in the nearby towns make Oaxaca a cultural and commercial paradise.

Quinta Real is always in the lead and trying to offer the best service to our guests, whom in this case can take pleasant walks through the hotel. For these and many other reasons, Quinta Real Oaxaca is a jewel property for Quinta Real Hotels, for the people of Oaxaca, and for Mexican people who can boast it to the rest of the world.

It has 91 suites, including 8 Grand Class Suites, each room is different from one another, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the city streets. All rooms provide comfort in a colonial setting.We also offer modern details such as satellite TV, safety box, hairdryer, mini bar, air-conditioning, and direct-dial telephone system.

Amenities:
  • Non smoking rooms
  • Wireless Internet access with extra charge.
  • Restaurant.
  • Pool.
  • Concierge.
  • Room service.
  • Babysitting (on request with extra charge)
  • Conference facilities
  • Banquets.
  • Laundry


  • Parking at Cost 24hrs 140 pesos
    Open from Monday to Saturday From 7am to 11pm AND Sunday From 8am to 8pm, only 2 blocks from the hotel

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Quinta Real Oaxaca also booked these hotels.

    ★★★
    $66
    4.0 / 5 3 reviews
    ★★★
    $39
    4.5 / 5 2 reviews
    ★★★★
    $64
    4.2 / 5 15 reviews
    ★★★
    $84
    4.0 / 5 7 reviews
    ★★★
    $98
    4.7 / 5 7 reviews
    ★★★
    $50
    3.0 / 5 1 reviews
    ★★★
    $80
    4.1 / 5 8 reviews
    ★★★
    $92
    3.9 / 5 7 reviews
    ★★★
    $53
    3.9 / 5 7 reviews

    Quinta Real Oaxaca Rooms

    Exterior Suite
    Rooms overlooking the streets of Oaxaca, king or twin beds, warm lighting feature, equipped with safe, minibar, wardrobe, air conditioning, room service 24 hours, hair dryer and toiletries free, clock radio, wireless Internet cost.
    Interior Suite
    Rooms offering lovely views of the gardens and courtyards, king or twin beds, equipped with safe, minibar, wardrobe, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, clock radio, air conditioning, wireless internet cost room service 24 hours, wake up.
    Exterior Master Suite
    Rooms overlooking the streets of Oaxaca, available in king or two double beds, are equipped with safe, air conditioning, minibar, television with satellite, room service, hair dryer and luxury amenities, including American breakfast and Internet.
    Interior Master Suite
    Rooms overlooking the gardens and interior courtyards, available in king or twin beds, equipped with safe, air conditioning, minibar, television with satellite, room service, hair dryer and luxury amenities, including American breakfast and internet.
    Grand Class Suite
    Spacious rooms overlooking the streets of Oaxaca or gardens, available in King, equipped with safe, air conditioning, minibar, television with satellite, room service, hair dryer and luxury amenities, including American breakfast and the Internet.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Pool
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Conference facilities
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking

    Dining

    EL REFECTORIO
    The most select international cuisine, as well as the most famous regional dishes, served in an atmosphere steeped in history. It is decorated with an attractive wall of embedded pitchers. Capacity: 70 persons. Open daily from 7:00 am till 10:30 pm.
    LAS NOVICIAS
    It is an ideal place to have a drink facing the quiet gardens in a unique Colonial atmosphere. You can enjoy intimate moments surrounded by live music. Capacity: 40 persons. Monday - Saturday 05:00 am till 12:00 pm Sunday 10:00 am till 06:00 pm

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    The hotel has 4 meeting rooms that combine modern facilities with a timeworn atmosphere. Two of these are located inside the chapel and can accommodate up to 600 persons.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Overall score

    4.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    17 out of 32
    Amenities:
    4.3
    Cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    88% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    donald p.
    Couples
    San Pedro garza Garcia
    Aug 4, 2015

    Great hotel and staff

    The staff were very nice and attentive to us. We received a room upgrade without even asking and turned out to be the best room at the hotel. We had our own private terrace overlooking the church. The room was very nice and upscale, so we figured we were getting value for what we paid. The only one thing we wish were better is the internet. We were told we could only connect one gadget at a time and would have to wait 24 hours to connect a second one without being charged. I disliked the rule and let them know I needed to use my laptop and cell and my wife had a cellphone. They said they would not charge more as long as we only connected 2. The extra charge was to be $150 pesos per day per gadget. So no harm done there. The speed was horrible though. I ended up not even using it because I was taking so much time. I decided to take my computer to a restaurant and do my work there. So don't expect to use the internet at all. This should be that important as while in Oaxaca you are expected to be out and exploring the beautiful city.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Ya que mas
    Couples
    N/A
    May 5, 2015

    Great location

    This hotel meets expectations. The location is great and the hotel is beautiful. I think that for the money, the value is low. The hotel needs painting. The bathroom ir our room did not work very well. It smelled very bad.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Lola
    Couples
    N/A
    Apr 21, 2015

    Historic Hotel worth seeing

    The experience of the hotel did not match the beauty of the hotel. It was noisy with lots of kids running around yelling. Wifi was intermittent, which was not that important at the time. However, them missing our 4am wake up call to get to the airport was. We were told that someone would be able to get us a cab at that hour at the desk. We called a number of times from our room and no one answered the phone. We then went to the desk and no one was there. Service was definitely lacking for a hotel of that caliber.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Don Pedro
    Couples
    Guilford, CT, USA
    Mar 2, 2012

    A Beautiful and Historic Hotel

    This has to be the best hotel in Oaxaca. It is a former sixteenth century convent that has been beautifully restored and converted in a beautiful property. The rooms are spacious, but, having been nuns' cells, they have few windows and are a bit dark. However, this keeps the street noise out. If one is looking for a slick modern hotel, this is not your place, but if history and beauty are your thing, you can't miss here. Staff is exceptionally attentive. Location is great for exploring the wonderful city of Oaxaca.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Zocalo is THE place to relax and watch the world go by. Lots of nice places to enjoy a coffee, a beer or a meal while watching. Live music frequently. Street vendors are plentiful, but they don't pester you if you say no.

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Guerita Chula
    Couples
    Santa Barbara, CA, USA
    Jan 19, 2012

    Great Location/Cold Pool

    We liked the beautiful architecture of this hotel and the location was great to walk everywhere. The pool was freezing and the bar opens late Overall though we did enjoy it!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    NY, NY
    Feb 4, 2011

    Great hotel

    Great hotel, wonderful service, beautiful building and rooms...only issue was our first room overlooked a road with a bar on the other side, which was very noisy late at night (had to change rooms). Other rooms nice and quiet and beautiful

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Ernesto R.
    Couples
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Feb 28, 2010

    Colonial Oaxacan Treasure

    Staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. If there was any issue, they'd address it very professionally. Rooms were clean. Chocolate treats were from a local Mexican company and very delicious. Outstanding hotel! (Do not expect a breakfast.) Would go back in a heartbeat.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

    Visit Mitla.

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Oaxaca fan
    Couples
    Chicago
    Feb 19, 2010

    Best in Oaxaca

    Clearly the best hotel in Oaxaca, though also the most expensive by around 50%. I may try one of the other hotels next time (this is our third trip to Oaxaca) because I suspect there are hotels that are close in quality for much better prices. Still, this is the best, and is generally acknowledged as such, even by the comptetition.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    Sante Fe, NM
    Nov 23, 2009

    Great building, Poor Room

    We booked and paid in advance for a club interior room (highest price room.)All very fine in public areas, but room was way too small. Only about 16 inches of room to hang clothes in closet, and room was too small to have any place to store or put out of the way our luggage. Too small to allow for reading lamps on both side of bed so one could not read in bed. The bath room was not very large and there was barely enough room for one sitting chair. It could be that the hotel charged for the highest rated room but gave us an economy room. If so,this was dishonest. The room was so small for a first class hotel I cannot recommend a couple staying at this hotel for more than one or two nights and then only with a small amount of luggage. I suggest that any guest planning on staying more than two nights reserve the right to inspect the room before paying. A minor note: The room was furnished with a coffee maker, but the hotel charged about $3.00 US for each small packet of coffee. A small matter but under scores the room disappontment.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of Quinta Real Oaxaca

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Couples
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Jun 14, 2009

    A beautiful hotel

    This is a truly special experience, staying in a converted 16th century convent. The pool area is lovely, the rooms are nice and the staff helpful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Back to menu Return to top