Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

3 stars
Av Jalisco No. 15 Zona Residencial San Felipe, San Felipe Del Agua, Oaxaca, 68020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
6 reviews
Above it All

The hotel/restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. They came to greet us by name and the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 9, 2010
1st time to Oaxaca

The hotel staff were great. They provided us with a play pen that served as a crib. Their tours... See full review

  • AnaVee
  • Nov 18, 2010
Located in an exclusive residential area, 10 minutes away from the historical center of Oaxaca, Mision Oaxaca San Felipe offers to the guests 154 rooms, garden grounds, outdoor pool, regional cuisine restaurant, and the best view of Oaxaca city, due to the hotel's privileged location above "El Fortin" mountain.

It will take you a few minutes to reach the ancient Olmeca ruins of Monte Alban (15 km) and the oldest tree of Mexico, "El Tule".

Swimming pool - outdoor, complimentary newspapers in lobby, restaurant, room service (limited hours), breakfast available (surcharge), coffee shop or café, nightclub, town car service available, parking (secure), meeting rooms (small groups), banquet facilities, conference room(s), audio-visual equipment, business services, internet access in public areas, 24-hour front desk, porter/bellhop, express check-out, express check- in, multilingual staff, gift shop or newsstand, currency exchange, tour assistance, medical assistance available, dry cleaning service, laundry facilities, patio, air-conditioned public areas, wedding services, smoke-free property and airport transportation (surcharge).

Hotel Map

17.0814 -96.7141
Area served
Oaxaca.
Nearby airports
Benito Juarez de Oaxaca International Airport (OAX), Oaxaca City Airport.
Area description
Mision Oaxaca San Felipe is located near to the local attractions of Oaxaca Historical Center and Architecture, Olmeca ruins of Mitla and Monte Alban and El Tule tree.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mision Oaxaca San Felipe also booked these hotels.

Mision Oaxaca San Felipe Rooms

Standard King
The room offers 1 King Bed with cable/satellite TV, balcony, climate control, air conditioning, bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), iron/ironing board (on request), in-room safe, television and sofa bed.
Double
The room offers 2 Double Beds with cable/satellite TV, balcony, climate control, air conditioning, bottled water in room (complimentary), wake-up calls, housekeeping daily, shower/tub combination, child care (in room, surcharge), iron/ironing board (on request), in-room safe, television and sofa bed.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet

Dining

El Jardin Restaurant
El Jardin Restaurant serves international plates and the very specialty of the hotel, the delicate mix of ingredients of Mexican high cuisine, featuring dishes like the famous "Mole Negro".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnaVee
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 18, 2010

1st time to Oaxaca

The hotel staff were great. They provided us with a play pen that served as a crib. Their tours were pretty awesome. We did have a small issue when we arrived that they could not find our reservation but by the time we came back after having breakfast, it was taken care of. Although check in time was 3 pm, because we had a red eye, they were able to accomodate us into our room by 9am without an extra charge. The center of town is about 10-15 minutes away but because the hotel is in a residential area, it was very quiet and relaxing. Taxis arrived within 10 minutes of being called and the fare to downtown is not bad. We were very glad that we included breakfast in our reservation because that allowed us to eat good food prior to going on tours. The food at the hotel was very good. Especially the breakfast buffet they have on Sundays and holidays. The prices are reasonable. one other hiccup we had was laundry done at the hotel. They actually sent the clothes out and two articles of clothing were returned unwashed. When we explained to the reception desk, they discounted that without an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Tx
Aug 24, 2010

Nice and Cozy Family Getaway

This is a very nice Hotel, cheap with friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield MO
Aug 9, 2010

Above it All

The hotel/restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. They came to greet us by name and the waiters even anticipated my wife's morning fruit plate. The restaurant opens promptly at 7:00 and serves very good coffee. We had the breakfast buffet once but found that the menu was both cheaper and offered fresher options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can catch the bus downtown (Centro) at the little store on the corner two blocks from the hotel. The return bus (San Felipe) travels north along Crespos street about every 30 minutes. Catch it one block north of Las Casas. Also, ride that bus to the end of the line, north of the hotel, to San Felipe for a spectacular view of Oaxaca. The fare is 4.5 pesos each way. After a bit of experience, catch the (Rayon) bus at the store on Thursday morning. Get off on Rayon and walk several blocks west on Rayon to Bustamonte. Turn left (south) two blocks where you'll find a bus on the left side of the street for Zaachila, about ten miles south of Oaxaca. Your reward will be an incredible native market next to a small, intimate ruin. Don't be surprised if somebody boards leading a goat or carrying a live turkey. Finish the trip with lunch at the town's only restaurant, La Capilla. You won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, Missouri
Aug 8, 2010

Quiet location away from downtown

The hotel was our center for going out on day trips to ruins, other villages, or downtown. What we really liked was that it was located in a quiet residential area. It was a relief to return to a quiet oasis after the hustle and bustle of the large noisy city. The only real downfall for us was that there wasn't a business center with computers and internet access. We didn't bring our own computers, so the wireless internet wasn't what we could use. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel restaurant was very good. There was a lot of variety, even to include many typical Oaxacan dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Superman & Wonderwoman
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2010

Outdated and in need of remodeling

Our first time in Oaxaca and enjoyed the town very much. The housekeepers do the best with what they have to work with (even though my wifes shampoo was diluted for some reason). Room was small for what I expected to be "executive". Beds mattress was tired and just was set on a platform base with no foundation. Breakfast was fine and staff was pleasant. Expected alot more from the facility for what I paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monte Alban is very close. Tours are available for a small fee or go it on your own with a Taxi. A must see for anyone traveling to Oaxaca. Wear sunscreen!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mision Oaxaca San Felipe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baja Rebeca and John
Rosarito, Baja Mexico
Apr 11, 2010

we would stay here again

we traveled to the historical sites. The whole town and valley is a museum. The sites, the various Cathedrals house artifacts a thousand plus years before Christ. The main center of town is kept as it was at it's origin. The people at the Hotel were more than helpful. It was our Honeymoon (I'm 66 and my wife is 51) and we both can not remember a more interesting, or exciting trip. I called the hotel before arrival to arrange for flowers and a card to be in the room upon our arrival. What they did was beyond my expectations. They had a very large vase of roses and other flowers, they have arranged a heart shape of rose petals on the bed, the had created two swans rising up from the center of the heart, they also had a bottle of chilled wine in the bucket on the table. It was all done over and above my small request. For all this and the work it must have taken to create they charge me only approximately $30.00.(I had told them in advance I would pay for the cost of flowers and a card and fully expected to pay more than that for the minimum) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the people at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search