$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

2 stars
Bustamante 103, Downtown, Oaxaca, 68000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
12 reviews
Perfect balance between Value and Location

Right on the Plaza of Oaxaca, perfect location a couple of mins away from the mercado. The hotel... See full review

  • Matteo
  • Sep 22, 2011
loved it!

great location, great room, no restaurant (but youre right next to the zocalo so it doesnt matter) See full review

  • colourmerad
  • Nov 13, 2010
Located in the heart of the historic center across the street from the main square in the traditional city of Oaxaca. The hotel is surrounded by true gems of colonial architecture, as well as plenty of culture, entertainment, restaurants, bars and concept stores.

Hotel Gala Oaxaca is a modern place with a rustic traditional atmosphere, as well as an attractive array of service and facilities such as a restaurant-bar, elegant function rooms for social or business events, room service, and wireless Internet.

The 36 rooms and suites at Hotel Gala Oaxaca have a simple, charming decor with rustic style wood furnishing. They are optimal for the vacationer looking to explore Oaxaca and its surroundings or for the business person needing lodging after a day of negotiations.

The hotel does not have restaurants inside the property, the three restaurants are around the block by the Zocalo, Terranova Restaurant, Taco Inn Restaurant and Shushitto Restaurant, guest will get discount coupons to exchange at any of these Restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Gala De Oaxaca also booked these hotels.

Hotel Gala De Oaxaca Rooms

Standard Room
The room offers one double bed with bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, hairdryer, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Junior Suite
The room offers two double beds and a sofa bed with bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV; color TV, hairdryer, non smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harry
Not Provided
Feb 10, 2011

The location was ideal, central,

The location was ideal, central, close to many points of interest and good restaurants. Convenient access to the zocalo and free concerts there was a big plus. The interior is also very interesting and tasteful. However renovation work on the governor's palace, just across the street, made for some nightime noise. We found the staff to be friendly courteous helpful and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert5
Business
San Jose Ca
Jul 16, 2014

vacation

First of all, the location is perfect! However, the staff is not very professional. When I arrived, they didn't have my reservation/room ready. I had to show them my confirmation on my phone. Second of all, you can hear even a coin drop from inside the room. No privacy at all. It was difficult to get a good night's sleep. At night people were walking in and out of the hotel and you could hear everything. My recommendation, if you want to be near the Zocalo and don't mind the high noise levels, then stay. If you want to enjoy your stay, don't mind paying a little more and want a good night's sleep, then don't stay here. You're better off somewhere else. Not staying there ever again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Mercado 20 de Noviembre for lunch or dinner. They have tons of eating posts. You can buy stake and tortillas and they will grill it infront of you. Also, you can taste some of the Mezcal before buying it.Make sure to ask for a free sample.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matteo
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Perfect balance between Value and Location

Right on the Plaza of Oaxaca, perfect location a couple of mins away from the mercado. The hotel has all you need and the staff is helpful and courteous. When I go back to Oaxaca I will definitely go back there. The price was great for what I got and as far as the location goes, I couldn't really ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Miguel de Allende
Apr 6, 2011

Good location, large room

Somewhat noisy because only a short walk to the zocalo and music goes on late as well as loud passerbys. Very good service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Terranova outdoor cafe on the zocalo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Mar 22, 2011

Nice place, perfect location

The hotel Gala is well maintained and is very clean. The staff is very nice and will answer any questions you have. My wife was concerned since the hotel only has ceiling fans, no air conditioning, but with temps of 87/55 the nights are cool and the days are very comfortable. The hotel is located approximately 30' from the Zocalo (town square) where all the action is. The nights can be noisy, but worth it you get the first look at what celebrations will occur, so you can jump and attend the event. The hotel also has dining options with one of the restaurants in thr Zocalo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

My wife and I enjoyed almost all of our tours. The tour of Monte Alban was great. We also enjoyed El Tule, Mitla, the Mezcal factory, the making of black pottery, seeing how the native weaving is done and how the colors are made. We also enjoyed seeing Hierve el agua but having to travel a narrow dirt mountain road was not fun. We also enjoyed walking Oaxaca to see all the church's, President Benito Juarez's home, relaxing & dining at the Zocalo and meeting the very friendly people of Oaxaca. Both my wife and I enjoyed our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
colourmerad
Business
az
Nov 13, 2010

loved it!

great location, great room, no restaurant (but youre right next to the zocalo so it doesnt matter)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Galion, Ohio
Oct 16, 2010

Glad we stayed

We stayed in a junior suite which was a good size and had a nice sized bathroom with walk in shower. Friends staying at a high priced hotel complained about the sizes of theirs. We recommend choosing this size room at the Gala. Our beds were comfortable, and we took earplugs and slept well. Being two doors off the Zocalo, the area is quiet from 2:00 A.M. - 5:30 A.M. only. Everything is within walking distance. Staff were very good to us, but very few knew any english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There are so many places to see and go. We reccommend taking tours, which cost about 24.00 USD/person. Turismo El Convento & Turismo Marques del Valle are the best with english speaking guides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I didn't choose Insomnia
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2010

sleepless in Oaxaca

The price and location make it popular w/ Tour Groups, who come in at night shouting and drunk and then leave yelling and noisy in the morning.We were on the inside ,facing three levels of noise centrally.I asked three different times to change rms.Staff smiled looked at a screen and said sorry nothing.Once he had just finished telling a walk in he had rooms in a different part of the hotel.He forgot I spoke spanish I guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Pilar Cabrera's La Olla.Its behind the Camino Real Hotel by 2 bks.Great gourmet take on oaxacan traditional ingredients.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 7, 2010

hotel review

the room needs a/c this hotel only has celings fans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CANCUN, MEXICO
Apr 9, 2010

"EXCELLENT VALUE"

jUST NEXT TO THE MAIN SQUARE, ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM THE CATHEDRAL AND THE MARKETS... AT NIGHT IT WAS KIND OF NOISY, BECAUSE WE HAD A ROOM FACING THE MAIN SQUARE AND SINCE THEY DONT HAVE A/AC WE HAD TO LEAVE THE WINDOW OPENED. THE SERVICE WASNT SO GREAT AND THEY DIDNT KNOW THE PHONE NUMBER OF RESTAURANT CASA OAXACA... BUT, STAFF SHOWED FRIENDLY ALWAYS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DONT MISS HAVING TRADITIONAL OAXACAN CUISINE AT CASA OAXACA RESTAURANT. ITS NOT CHEAP BUT YOU WONT REGRET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Gala De Oaxaca

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. Yaroslavsky
Business
Groningen, The Netherlands
Oct 19, 2009

A good option for the price

The hotel is located downtown in the very centre, which is great. There is free wireless internet.Negative points: the beds are not really comfortable, as there is some kind of plastic cover on the mattresses. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top