$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Villa Varadero

2 stars
View map of Retorno Nayarit Lote 83 & 84, Villa 5, Nuevo Vallarta, 63732

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
45 reviews
Perfect hotel for a quiet family vacation

This hotel is perfect for those looking for a true mexican experience, away from all the American... See full review

  • NUEVO VALLARTA
  • Mar 30, 2012
Paradise...

This was our sixth stay at Villa Varadero and I'm exceedingly reluctant to talk about how great it... See full review

  • Michael Green aka Miguel Verde
  • Feb 8, 2011
Mexican beachfront resort pairs luxury with family-owned friendliness
Enjoy the luxury of a Nuevo Vallarta beachfront resort and the warmth of a family-owned hotel at Villa Varadero. Vacation worry-free with the all-inclusive option, which offers full dining and drinks at the two on-site restaurants, plus access to bikes, kayaks, body boards and in-room Wi-Fi. Most guest rooms offer some ocean views, and one-bedroom suites provide full kitchens. Make it a family getaway, or book a custom or package wedding event. The hotel beach is one of the largest in the area.
Highlights

  • Enjoy a worry-free vacation with all-inclusive service for dining, drinks and selected activities
  • Swim at the beach right in front of the hotel or at the on-site pools, with one just for the kids
  • Easily reach nearby Puerto Vallarta from the airport-area hotel to explore Mexican culture

Location
Villa Varadero is in Nuevo Vallarta on the Riviera Nayarit, 10 minutes north of the airport and 20 minutes from central Puerto Vallarta. The beachfront resort fronts renowned Bahia de Banderas.
Rooms
Choose from standard, superior and one-bedroom suites across three buildings at Villa Varadero, each decorated in fresh and contemporary style or rustic Mexican tones. Many feature a partial ocean and pool view, while others look out onto the Nuevo Vallarta Marina and mountains of Puerto Vallarta. Superior rooms offer panoramic ocean views. All include air conditioning, satellite TV, a mini refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee-maker, a hair-dryer and bath amenities. Suites include a full kitchen and a balcony. Wi-Fi is free with an all-inclusive stay.
Features

Enjoy all-inclusive dining at Villa Varadero. La Mesa del Capitan features indoor, air-conditioned buffet dining three meals a day, plus floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the pool and beach. La Palapa Drake's serves lunch and snacks. The reservation-only Drake's Specialty Restaurant is exclusively for all-inclusive guests staying three nights or longer, and will even serve candlelight dinners on the beach.

 

Villa Varadero offers swimming pools, spa services (fees apply), board games and all-inclusive equipment rentals such as bikes and kayaks. Guests who have not elected the all-inclusive option may rent equipment for a fee.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta International Airport (Aeropuerto Internacional de Puerto Vallarta Lic. Gustavo Diaz Ordaz) (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions

  • Bucerias (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta (11.3 mi/18.2 km)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (Jardines Botanicos de Vallarta) (13 mi/20.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Varadero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Villa Varadero Rooms

One Bedroom Suite Meal Plan
The bedding options for the room is two double beds in the bedroom and 3 single sofa beds on the living room Suite offers bedroom, living room and dining with a full kitchen, air-conditioning Tv, telephone. Balcony with ocean view. Bathroom with shower
One Bedroom Suite with breakfast
The bedding options for the room is two double beds in the bedroom and 3 single sofa beds on the living room Suite offers bedroom, living room and dining with a full kitchen, air-conditioning Tv, telephone. Balcony with ocean view. Bathroom with shower
Standard Meal Plan
The bedding option for the room is two double beds. Room offers air-conditioning Tv, telephone, microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge, marina, pool or moutain view and bathroom with shower.
Standard with breakfast
The bedding option for the room is two double beds. Room offers air-conditioning Tv, telephone, microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge, marina, pool or moutain view and bathroom with shower.
Superior Meal Plan
The bedding option for the room is two double beds and one sofa bed or one king size bed and sofa or two double. Room offers air-conditioning Tv, telephone, coffee maker, mini fridge, Ocean View and bathroom with shower.
Superior with Breakfast
The bedding option for the room is two double beds and sofa bed or one king size bed and sofa or two double. Room offers air-conditioning Tv, telephone, coffee maker, mini fridge, ocean view and bathroom with shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Drakes
Snack Bar during the day and A/a carte restaurant in the evening.
La Mesa del Capitan
Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Villa Varadero

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
willA PV traveler
Business
seattle
Nov 30, 2014

good value average rooms

The breakfast and free water made it affordable. Older hotel rooms small and dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stops across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49er fan and best mom
Business
woodland, CA
Jan 30, 2014

veradero muy bien

I really enjoy this hotel. The staff is lovely. The breakfast was perfect! I don't like the beds. They are too hard. and the new tiny refridgerator that replaced the old ones are too small to put even a to go box into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

dheck out Buceries. it is a 40 min walk down thebeach. it is real old Mexico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexico travelpros
Business
BC
Dec 29, 2013

Noisy, crowded and ordinary

Granted, we were there in the Christmas break, and it was raining, but we found it noisy, uncomfortable and ordinary. The price seemed too high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new happy mom
Business
jalisco
Oct 2, 2013

days of relax

a few amazing days for us to stay there, first time of my little baby at the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skt54
Business
Arkansas, USA
Sep 19, 2013

Second time at Villa

I have stayed at this quaint, small Mexican hotel just North of Puerto Vallarta twice and love it. It is small, has a great beach with plenty of palapas, and lots of room to walk. It is next to the marina, which is lovely and interesting and provides an area for more walking. There is a plaza nearby, an OXXO, Fenix Massage and several restaurants, as well as condos and apts. There is a bus stop to town less than a block away where one can ride to Wal-Mart, hop on an El Centro bus and be in downtown PV...for under $2. Villa has a nice pool area, provides towels for pool/beach use and free bottled water in the rooms. Both times I have been, I paid for the least expensive room and was upgraded upon my arrival. The rooms are spotless, and with a partial and/or oceanview, the windows open to enjoy the sea breeze. There is a tiny refrig in all rooms and a microwave in some. I took the AI option because it is very inexpensive and I could still eat out if I wanted. Most of the food is typical Mexican fare, which I love. Beans, tortillas, yogurt, peppers/onions, oatmeal, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, fresh fruit and a pancake/omelet station in the morning. All very good. I did not eat lunch, but just had a hamburger , taco or salad, etc. from the beach grill. Dinner was usually chicken and/ or pork with different sauces, salads and a dessert offering. If you stay for 3 nights, then you will have a "special dinner" (4 course dinner) cooked in the kitchen instead of buffet. Depending on the number of people at the hotel the special dinner is set up with tablecloths, wine, etc. in the daytime grill area or on the beach just around sunset. Good food and gorgeous sunset! The bartenders were not stingy with the alcohol...once they determined what you liked..."con mucho tequila, por favor," and were adept at making most any drink you might want. I do not care for the dining room because it is not Colonial Mexican décor...it is newer and has plastic chairs/tables and reminds me of a cafeteria. I usually ate my breakfast and/or dinner at an outside table. In fact after I did it twice, the waiters opened the door for me, brought me my drinks and checked on me often while I dined outside. Excellent service. The entire staff is kind, polite, friendly and caring at Villa Varadero...in fact the staff may be their strongest point. HOWEVER, please don't go to Villa expecting a Marriott, a RIU, a Mayan or any other huge, "Disneyland" hotel. It is not that, nor would I trade it for one of those. Though they do have kayaks and bicycles for use, TV's in the rooms, and gameboards for the lobby area, the major attraction is the beach. If you need to constantly be entertained by an outside source, or constantly be in the company of Americans/Canadians then this is most likely not the hotel for you. If you delight in finding a small, quaint, well-located , Mexican oriented hotel on a beautiful beach for a wonderful price. This is it. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask abut the bus into Puerto Vallarta.., it is a short, inexpensive trip to downtown/Centro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NUEVO VALLARTA
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Perfect hotel for a quiet family vacation

This hotel is perfect for those looking for a true mexican experience, away from all the American tourists and the big all-inclusive hotels. We had breakfast included with our package, it was incredible! A buffet with made-to-order omelets, pancakes, sweet bread, juices, beans, potatoes and much more. The beach is clean, safe and quiet. The hotel has boogie boards that the kids loved, they played in the ocean for hours! They provide beach towels, and there are always chairs available on the beach. Nuevo Vallarta is a small town, safe to walk around and with some nice places to visit. You can easily take a taxi to Puerto Vallarta, where you'll find vendors, markets and many more people. There are taxis across the street from the hotel, they are safe and charge fair prices. They'll take you anywhere you want to go and also give you very good recommendations. Our favorite places were the ones the locals recommended. For fish and seafood we suggest "El Titis" ($6.00 taxi ride, 10 minutes from the hotel). One block from the hotel is "Tacos el muelle", on the marina, a great taco place. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make our vacation wonderful, they were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Tacos el muelle" on the marina, close to the hotel. The owner cooks the meat on the grill right there, and tacos are only $1 each. Their specialty is "molcajete". Very tasty tacos and friendly servers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meg N.
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Good location - food needs improvement

The location can't get better - right off of the beach. There is only one restaurant, not a whole lot of selection, however, when you stay more than 3 nights, you get a special dinner on the beach, which was great. For what you pay, it is a great deal, however, the food could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue Z Q
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 13, 2012

Could Have Been Better

The only complaint I have is the food. Mind you I didn't starve but the food, if your not Mexican, was a small choice. Beans at every meal is not my idea of breakfast. Some night there wasn't anything that was appealing to me. Other than the food the location was great, rooms very clean,and staff wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are 4 or 5 resturants right in the area you can walk to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Footbalista
Business
Kelowna, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

Good location

The location is perfect - wonderful beach. However the food is not at all good. Not enough selection. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Varadero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sweetlou
Business
Grand Island, NY
Jan 10, 2012

Great Location

This hotel is located right on the beach in Puerto Vallarta. The beach was clean and tidy. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top