$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Paseo Cocoteros L-K, Nuevo Vallarta, 63732

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Crete,il
Nov 6, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

The pool area was nice. The food was good. It was an enjoyable trip. The kids and adult entertainment was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wana
Family
Seattle, WA
Oct 23, 2009

Great hotel

Palace-style hotel with beautiful grounds and a great beach. Large variety of food although very similar among the restaurants. Breakfast is luxurious. Great pool. Overall I would recommend. We've stayed at Mariott resorts and this is a great value considering that all the food/drinks included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
St. Louis Fireman
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Oct 19, 2009

Average experience

The resort itself was nice. However, our experience was average. There are very limited activities, a small pool and a "nothing" nightlife. The food in the buffet was "ok". They closed the restaurants the day after we arrived, because of the lower occupancy (over 1000 people checked out the day after we arrived). I guess they forgot to tell [...] us or anyone else traveling from outside Mexico that during Columbus week, they offered rooms to native Mexicans for 200 Pesos for 3-days for a family. When we booked this trip, it was advertised as having the restaurant options open. We would go back to Puerto Vallarta, but not to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend from the ATX 2009
Couples
Austin Texas
Oct 18, 2009

Very disappointed Texans

When my friend and I first arrived at the resort on Sunday we were shock by the large number of kids and local residents. Apparently the resort was offering a discount for the locals because the resort was 90 percent locals. We arrived around 4:00pm and the only restaurant open was the one on the beach. [...] there was little to no food available, there were kids everywhere. I was able to scrape up a piece of chicken and two hot wings. Dinner the first night was the exact same, not enough food. There were too many locals and the staff did not prepare enough food to accommodate. Oh yeah I forgot to mention the kids was at the buffet unattended, putting their dirty hands in all the food and also there were some adults with chips in there hands sampling the food as if they were at home and this was their own private dish. Very dirty eating environment. The food situation got better on Tuesday after all he locals left. The pool area was so crowded the first three days we were not able to get in the pool. The bars were very crowded because not all bars are open at the same time. So after waiting for 20 kids to order soda and frozen drink at the bar we were finally able to order a drink. KIDS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED AT THE BAR TO ORDER DRINKS! After two days of this madness I finally went to the front desk and complained about the overcrowded restaurants, bars and pool area. I was told about the discount for the locals and things will be better on Tuesday or Wednesday. Things did get better but three days of my vacation was from HELL. The entertainment was average. The entertainment staff for the games only allowed you to play one game and then they left. The board said the games were for one hour but they went maybe thirty minutes. We did the rifle shooting, horseshoes and darts. We met two wonderful bartenders, [...]. They were located directly in front of the entertainment area. Also, the Bell-person [...] was wonderful. xyz travel provided a free shopping tour and this was absolutely wonderful. The guy from xyz travel never showed back up for us to book our ATV tour so we had to book through another xyz travel. Overall the vacation was fair to average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Olathe, KS
Oct 14, 2009

NV, Mexico 2009

The hotel and staff was nice, but the website was deceptive. It states that there are 5 places to eat, but they were not all open. Buffet was offered every day for every meal, but the places that you have to make reservations were limited, only one open a night. It was also annoying because the sign outside the pool says "Adults only" but it was not enforced. Over the weekends, the pool was filled with kids. When we would complain, the people at the front desk would say its not an adult only pool. The staff would often cater to the locals staying at the resort over the tourists. I will not be returning to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you buy the different activities from the hotel (snorkeling, night cruise, etc.) you will pay more than if you buy them directly from the company downtown. For snorkeling, we paid 55/person whereas others on our trip only paid 30/person.

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kansas City
Oct 11, 2009

Disappointing Family Vacation

They closed most of the specility resturants so it was the general buffet about every day. The Hotel was also very noisy and staff did nothing to curtail the noise and children running wild and fillling the adult only pool.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rhythm of the night cruise and show was very good

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Oct 2, 2009

the best place for the price

it was a wonderful vacation. the food was fantastic and I love the idea of all inclusive. it is worth it. I am already planning my next vacation there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colorado Cid
Family
Denver, CO
Aug 31, 2009

Nice but be careful...

Good tasting food with good variety of selections. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There were a lot of activities and the staff was very friendly. The pools were not kept as clean as they should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Attend the entertainment and participate in the activities. You will be suprised at how much fun that you have.

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lakewood, California
Aug 19, 2009

best deal of a getaway

we had the best time ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Jalisco All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St.. Louis, MO
Jul 22, 2009

Great Hotel, Good Price, But Crowded

The hotel was nice but extremely crowded. There were tons of small children, many who were unsupervised in the restaurants and pool areas. The pools were WAY too small for the number of people crowding them. In fact, the swim up bar was usually so crowded (sometimes with small children and their rafts) that we never even got to sit and enjoy. The food was good, but not exceptional. There were two smaller less crowded restaurants, but you had to make reservations at 8am on the day that you wanted to attend. The staff was very friendly and willing to help as much as possible. The rooms were clean, but the beds were very firm, and rather uncomfortable. The entertainment was great, and the members of the entertainment team were AWESOME! The drinks were plentiful and refreshing, and the bartenders were very friendly. Overall it was a fun trip, but the overcrowding of the hotel was one major blemish on Riu Jalisco's record.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Adventure Canopy/ ATV/ Tequila tour was a blast and well worth the $100 per person. It lasted from 9am-3:30pm. We booked it through a representative in the hotel lobby.

Back to menu Return to top