$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

4 stars
Paseo Los Cocoteros 18, Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta, 63732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
33 reviews
Our great vacation

Had a great time. Indulged in the great food and drinks while taking in the fantastic view of the... See full review

  • heckeypoo
  • May 17, 2014
romantic getaway

Amazing time! Did not want to leave. Great friendly staff. Wonderful accommodations and location. A... See full review

  • MEG FROM COLORADO
  • May 2, 2014
All-inclusive Nuevo Vallarta beachfront resort with ocean-view rooms
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta – All Inclusive resort graces a white-sand beachfront in Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit. All-inclusive service means a hassle-free stay with freedom to explore the various restaurants, bars, activities and entertainment on-site. Guests can join in tennis, water polo, kayaking, swimming and more, or pay extra for golf, massage services or scuba diving. The resort also features theater-style meeting space. Guest rooms with cheery Mexican touches offer a garden, a pool or an ocean view plus air conditioning and satellite TV.
Highlights

  • Choose an all-inclusive stay to easily enjoy unlimited dining, including alcohol, plus a variety of activities
  • Drop kids ages 4-12 off at Allegro's Kids Club for supervised activities at no extra charge
  • Experience one of most beautiful stretches of white-sand beaches in Mexico, right in front of Allegro Nuevo Vallarta

Location
Occidental Grand Resort is on the Riviera Nayarit in Nuevo Vallarta, about 15 minutes north of the airport and 25 minutes from Puerto Vallarta. The beachfront resort looks out onto the beautiful Banderas Bay (Bahia de Banderas).
Rooms
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta features 270 guest rooms with cheery, easygoing Mexican flair. Choose from a Deluxe room with pool or garden view or a Deluxe ocean-view room for a panorama to remember for a lifetime. All rooms include air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi access (surcharge), a coffee-maker, a hair-dryer, a safe, an iron/ironing board and a direct-dial phone, plus a marble floor and either one king bed or two double beds.
Features

Enjoy all-inclusive dining at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, with unlimited meals, snacks and beverages at any one of three restaurants and three bars. At Topacio, guests experience an open-air atmosphere and international buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Caruso's Trattoria brings an Italian dinner menu to the table, and La Troje serves Mexican dishes nightly.

Occidental Grand Resort offers a variety of all-inclusive recreation ranging from tennis to volleyball, beach soccer, biking, darts, aqua aerobics and body boarding. The resort also has two swimming pools. Additional activities such as scuba diving and golf require extra fees.
Transportation
  • Puerto Vallarta International Airport (Aeropuerto Internacional de Puerto Vallarta Lic. Gustavo Diaz Ordaz) (8 mi/12.9 km)
Attractions

  • Bucerias (6.9 mi/11.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta (12.5 mi/20 km)
  • Vallarta Botanical Gardens (Jardines Botanicos de Vallarta) (14.2 mi/22.8 km)

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Club Luxury
Room measures 312 square feet (29 square meters). Includes 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a stocked mini-fridge, safety deposit box, shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, cable TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.The exclusive club-like atmosphere of The Royal Club offers executive level service. Discerning guests seeking superior service and highly personalized attention within the privacy of the resort can enhance their business or vacation experience with plush accommodations, elegant facilities and added amenities. The Club offers In room; Mini bar with daily replenishing, Coffee maker, Safety deposit box, Wi-Fi, Stereo with CD player, DVD, Iron, Ironing board ab Personal scale
Deluxe Room Ocean View
Deluxe Rooms includes 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a stocked mini-fridge, safety deposit box, shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, cable TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.
Grand Concierge Ocean View
Room measures 312 square feet (29 square meters). Includes 2 double beds or 1 king bed, a stocked mini-fridge, safety deposit box, shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, cable TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.Offers service "concierge" who will help you during your stay in planning a memorable vacation, booking restaurants, tours info, etc.. Also with a wireless connection (surcharge), fruit basket, bottle of wine, turndown service, plush bathrobes and 10% discount on Spa treatments.
Grand Romance Deluxe Room Ocean View
Room measures 312 square feet (29 square meters). Includes 1 king bed, a stocked mini-fridge, safety deposit box, shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, cable TV, and telephone with data port. Each mini-fridge has water, beer and soft drinks that are replenished every other day.Even the romantic moments are included. Enjoy a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival, 1 hour couples massage in the room, first breakfast in bed, turndown service, a romantic dinner, 10% discount on Spa treatments, surprise gift, special amenities designed for unforgettable moments.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6955 -105.2958
Area served
Nuevo Vallarta, Nayarit, Mexico
Nearby airports
Puerto Vallarta Airport
Area description
Excellent diving and water sports, Nuevo Vallarta nightlife, restaurants, golf nearby, and shopping.

Dining

Le Buffet
International buffet-style dining. Breakfast 7:00 - 11:00 am;, Lunch 1:00 - 4:00 pm and Dinner 6:30 - 10:00 pm
Los Olivos
Italian cuisine and Mediterranean-style a la carte dining. Dinner 6:30 - 9:30pm. Reservations required. *. For stays of 7 nights, one dinner in each themed restaurant. Stay 3 nights, dinner at one of the two theme restaurants * Dress code required for gentleman, long trousers and closed shoes * The restaurant hours are subject to change
La Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
authentic Mexican culinary specialties. Dinner 6:30 - 9:30 pm. Reservations required. * For stays of 7 nights, one dinner in each themed restaurant. Stay 3 nights, dinner at one of the two theme restaurants * Dress code required for gentleman, long trousers and closed shoes * The restaurant hours are subject to change
The Royal Club Restaurant
A la carte dining. Open for breakfast, and dinner from 7:00 am - 10:30 am and 6:30 to 9:30 pm Open to The Royal Club guests only.
Beach Club Bar
Light lunch and snacks and bar. Bar open 10:00 am - 01:00 am. Snacks available from Noon - 4:30 pm
Piano Bar Lounge
Open 12:00 pm - 01:00 am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WATERMAN101
LOS ANGELES, CA
May 17, 2013

Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Very bad. Severely overcrowded with local families. It seems to me each room contained 10 to 12 people. The pool was swarmed all day with people and kids. Heavy amounts of visible grease were in pool at night after closing. The dining area was outdoors and was swarmed with blackbirds and seagulls trying to steal your meal. There was bird defecation on the seats and chairs. Their was aggressive, rude staff trying to sell you timeshares In the penthouse daily. They wouldn't take no for an answer. Gourmet meals were only allowed 1/3 of the nights of your stay. Although very good, the portions were very small. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Steer clear. Some staff very friendly. DO NOT BOOK RENTAL CARS. I GOT A 10 YEAR OLD BEATER FOR AN ECONOMY CAR. UPGRADED TO A AUTOMATIC, NEWER MODEL, AND ACCIDENTALLY DENTED A BUMPER. I BOUGHT EXTRA INSURANCE THROUGH THE ORDER AND DECLINED AVIS INSURANCE IN MEXICO. AS A RESULT I PAID AND EXTRA $300 FOR THE CAR. HOWEVER, WITHOUT MY SIGNATURE AND THEIR ESTIMATE OF $675 DAMAGES, THEY BILLED MY CARD A TOTAL OF $2175. I WILL HAVE TO FILE FOR CHARGE BACKS TO MY ACCOUNT. THEY DID THIS WITHOUT MY SIGNATURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE MALDECON FOR CHOICE MERCANDISE AND CHEAPER PRICES.

Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cierarosey
Texas
Jan 2, 2014

Terrible!!

Let me start by saying that I am not hard to please! As a all inclusive resort- was terrible,!! Food was terrible and on,y thing we thought was good was omelette bar in am. Other than that it was just bad.. We tried buffets, snack bars, restaurants even our "upgrade. Royal club " was terrible! Dried , cold food on buffets and if ordered off menu wasn't delivered as ordered or just not tasty. Room air was on a motion control with 5 min timer so at night while sleeping would go off and room would get warm. No HOT water- only Luke warm to shower.. The extra cost for "royal club " was a joke! ,nothing special except more room iin room .. Service staff was not good.. Restaurants would frequently forget to being us our drinks and would have to get them ourselves or remind them. Could go on and on.... Don't waste your money!! Bttw I witnessed at least 2 other families complaining to staff about similar issues so really not sure how they have 4+ stars! Very disappointed to have taken my whole family for a holiday and terrible experience! We did enjoy ourselves and beautiful place but we stayed out of resort much more then intended and ate of site.. Very costly,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ShrShr Dreamer
Lakeport, California
Aug 2, 2012

A Closet Surprise

The hotel is in Nuevo Vallarta. It is a ways from town. We paid $23.00 each way to Puerto Vallarta. This area is very nice. It has grown quite a bit. It now has an indoor mall, starbucks, Baskin Robbins, subway, dominos pizza, boutiques, and other retail stores. If you go with a family it's very convienent. It was across the street from our resort which was Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta. We wanted to go somewhere all inclusive and no so expensive. Well, we got what we paid for. Although, the employees were all very kind and helpful, the resort definitely still needs some work (supposedly the remodeled). There is only one pool, one beach bar, no swimup pool bar, and one buffet. If you want any other food you have to make a reservation for Mexican night or Italian night. These spots fill up quickly. Even though the resort did get a makeover, it is a small resort with minimal amenities. When we got there and went to put our clothers away in the closet we got quite a surprise. One side of the closet had the room safe and a place to hang your close and the other side of the closet when you slid the door open was the bathroom shower. Quite hysterical. One more thing, the food and drinks were terrible. We are experience travelers and travel two or three times a year. We will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NewMrs.
USA
Oct 18, 2012

Honeymoon Elsewhere

We booked this trip solely based on the great reviews. We had looked at other hotels to spend our honeymoon and this seemed higher rated than others. Wow - we were wrong! Let me start by saying we paid over $300 extra for the Grand Romance Package and complimentary Honeymoon Package. Here's what we should have received: Honeymoon – The complimentary honeymoon amenities include a special check-in, congratulatory flower arrangement in room upon arrival, continental breakfast in room, special recognition announcement, 10% couples massage discount and turn down service nightly. Grand Romance – Include complimentary bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, 1 hour massage per couple, continental breakfast in bed (book with guest services at main lobby), romantic dinner, turndown service, 10% massage discount and special amenity for romance occasion. We checked like any normal person (no special check-in like it states) and then they showed up to our room. Right off the elevator on the 6th floor. Really? For a honeymoon couple. We bit our tongue and thought they must be nicer rooms. I think they were smaller than anything off to either side. I must mention the bell boys were great – arriving and leaving! Once left in our room no congratulatory flower arrangement, no champagne or strawberries and definitely no mention of the package we purchased after check-in. For two days we tried to track down the concierge about our Grand Romance Package and what was included and what we needed to do to receive what we paid for. We had asked the Front Desk and they kept telling us they couldn’t help us – the concierge would. They never bothered telling us she was off for 2 days. Finally we went upstairs to the Royal Club concierge and she sent us down the champagne and strawberries. She told us she doesn’t really handle this stuff and we’d still need to talk to the concierge. Once we talked to the concierge she scheduled our 25 min. “mini” massages – not an hour like we had paid for, told us that our room would be stocked everyday (it wasn’t), arranged breakfast in bed (cold coffee), turndown service (never mentioned/never happened, but we paid for it), special amenity for romance occasion (again – paid for in the romance package, but never received) and dinner up in the Royal Club. Dinner at the Royal Club was ok. Server was great, but the concierges told him we were coming the day before yet our reservation clearly stated Sunday. No communication between staff members at all. We were put in the private room where there’s a lamp unplugged in the corner with no shade on it. Looked like we were sitting in a storage room. Again our server was great. Back to our room by the elevator…they do entertainment inside the hotel until at least 10pm. The night they did karaoke (well past 10pm) you could barely hear the TV on the 6th floor. We were trying to have an early night as we had an excursion the next day at 6am. You could not sleep. Was so loud!! So much for a romantic honeymoon when people downstairs who can’t sing are singing. Was extremely disappointed with the hotel. Staff members obviously don’t communicate very well and don’t bother paying extra for any packages. You get what everyone else did who paid less than you. Maybe if I didn’t have such high expectations or it wasn’t our honeymoon it would’ve been a nice place to vacation. Just don’t go with expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hudsonbrinkley
la ca
Jul 30, 2013

solo experience

overall this property was a delight to stay at. very friendly staff and beautiful guest rooms. the food was a big let down. only two restaurants to choose from, which you had to make reservations at, and for the six nights i stayed, i could only dine two times, although walking by them at any given time they were half full. every other meal had to be enjoyed at the buffet. needless to say, i never dined at either one of those restaurants, but instead went across the street to dine. don't bother with this property if you are a foodie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luisatje
mexico
Sep 1, 2013

Good location

The beach front is nice and clean, You have to belong to their member club in order to receive certain amenities like wifi access otherwise you have to pay an expensive rate to have internet , For other amenities you also have to be a club member, I think that is fine, but it should be posted on their web because otherwise it becomes way below your expectations once you are there .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is good quality and they do have variety

Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krida
seattle
Nov 20, 2013

great all around

great location, great beach and friendly staff close to casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sand seeker
Calgary
Feb 10, 2014

Sand seeker

The beach was our highlight of this trip. The staff at the hotel are excellent. A balcony would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The beach is excellent, safe, busy and fun.

Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacay 123
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2014

Couple Winter Getaway

The Occidental Grande was a great value. The staff was personable and friendly. Overall, a good experience. We wished the Ocean view rooms had balconies and offered free WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Trip to Malecom boardwalk was worth the $15 cab ride.

Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeanie0707
USA
Jul 30, 2012

The good and bad

What we liked: We stayed five days and found the staff and service to be excellent. Our room was lovely. Special thanks to Erik at the buffet and Arnulfo at Los Olivos restaurant for great service, and also to the bartender in the lobby bar.. There are other staff I would like to mention but can't remember their names. Thought the food was very good at the buffet and at the specialty restaurants. We didn't have children with us but it looked like they had a great children's program for kids between 4 and 12/ Things we didn't like--#1 would be jeaniethe pressure to attend a presentation for their Vacation Club; we were told it would take no more than 90 minutes because they "respect our time" and it went much longer and was very high-pressure, we were promised vouchers for tours of Puerto Vallarta for attending the presentation but at the end we were transferred to another sales representative who tried to talk us into attending another sales presentation at another hotel instead of getting tour vouchers. Save yourself time and aggravation and don't go to the presentation no matter what they promise you. There is only one pool and it got crowded, you have to get up early to save a lounge chair or you will have nowhere to sit. One of our biggest disappointments was how dirty the ocean water was--one morning we walked down the beach to the south and found that the channel a few hundred yards away was being dredged and the sediment all being dumped into the bay not far from our hotel, no wonder it was dirty. Hate to think what else was in that water. We're not sorry we went as overall had a very good time but would probably look at other hotels if going back to Puerto Vallarta. As far as whether or not I'd recommend it to a friend, I would say it is a great place to have a relaxing vacation as long as you stay away from the sales people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's easy to get to the Centro in Puerto Vallarta by bus if you are willing to take the 30-40 minute bus ride. Saves a lot of money on transportation and everyone is friendly and helpful on the bus and glad to answer questions. Get instructions from the staff at the hotel about which buses to take.

Back to menu Return to top