$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Casa Iguana Hotel

2 stars
View map of Ave. 5 de Mayo, Mismaloya, 48394

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Iguana Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Duluth, MN
Feb 10, 2011

same great place! same great value

a great place to get away when you might be burned out on the beach in Puerta Vallarta. A great place to end the week for a couple of nites to really relax by the pool or head down to Boca de Tomatlan to the quaint fishing town and beach. Amazing seafood up the cobbled street in Mismaloya at Tony's family restaraunt. Pool area can be noisy if a holiday or guests with children are present. great hiking and birdwatching across the river in the forest on roads. The zoo and tequila tasting houses are just up the street a couple of blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony's Family Restaruant in Mismaloya!! best shrimp/seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Duluth, MN
Feb 10, 2011

same great place! same great value

a great place to get away when you might be burned out on the beach in Puerta Vallarta. A great place to end the week for a couple of nites to really relax by the pool or head down to Boca de Tomatlan to the quaint fishing town and beach. Amazing seafood up the cobbled street in Mismaloya at Tony's family restaraunt. Pool area can be noisy if a holiday or guests with children are present. great hiking and birdwatching across the river in the forest on roads. The zoo and tequila tasting houses are just up the street a couple of blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony's Family Restaruant in Mismaloya!! best shrimp/seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chehalis, WA
Jan 16, 2011

A step away from the crowds

La Casa Iguana sits just off the main highway running south out of Puerta Vallarta, but one would not know it by the relative peace and quiet of the village it is a part of. The staff is very friendly, working hard to keep the grounds clean and guests happy. The rooms in the hotel are fairly soundproof. Outside most rooms is a balcony with a small table and chairs, perfect for morning coffee or late afternoon drinks while overlooking the pool and grounds. The onsite restaurant serves a good meal, and [...], the owner, will be sure to sing a couple of popular Mexican songs in an above-average voice, with mucho gusto! I would encourage you to take a few minutes to walk further up the road into the village or else go across the highway and experience other restaurants situated across the river and accessible by pedestrian bridges. La Casa Iguana is a good bargain for those who want to get away from the crowds of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk about a block out to the main highway, you can catch a public bus to Puerta Vallarta going North (1/2 hour), or to Boca de Tomatlan beach a couple of miles south. The bus fare is cheap, the buses run several times an hour, and the locals are more than willing to help you find your way. From Boca de Tomatlan you can catch a water taxi to villages accessible only by water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bend Oregon
Dec 29, 2010

Great place to enjoy a vacation from.

Great place to stay and take daily excursions from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant at hotel serves a great breakfast and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Casa Iguana Hotel is Great Hidden Gem

This was a comfortable, clean establishment with a friendly staff and low-key vibe. If you want super pampering and attention like you get at a luxury resort, this is not the place for you. I loved that it is in a real neighborhood and near the zoo. A highlight was the restaurant adjoining the hotel, Serrano Restaurant. The manager, [...], is a welcoming host who just happens to have a great singing voice and a wonderful chef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Nov 20, 2010

casa iguana vacation

The hotel was all two bedroom units with kitchenettes. It was kept spotlessly clean. At this time of year the pool area was uncrowded and very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in hotel was exceptional. The food was very good and the restaurant manager took very good care of us. The maitre d', [...] "Sinatra", serenaded us, strumming his guitar as we ate. Dinners were quite an experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Machismo
Business
Healdsburg, Ca
May 28, 2010

great location, nice budget resort

Booked the Iguana with my girlfriend for a week. Out of four levels the upper three were unavalible getting painted and renovated, the first level rooms were a bit dark and of course lacked balconies. That meant the restaurant and bar were only open briefly during our week stay, the hot tub was only running one time during a private party. I had no knowledge of the three floors unavalibility apon booking. The positives were we had the place to ourselves for the most part and the staff was friendly exept for one of the two desk girls, forgot her name, the other girl [...] was very nice and helpful. There were other small annoyences such as the water heater going out, bad tv reception and the constant presence of the cleaning staff that tended to be a bit noisy at times. All and all the experience was a good one, loved the location adjacent to the jungle and small cobblestoned street community and a nice beach with several cool beach restaurants in short walking distance. Reliable bus and cab service was also conviniently close by. We would definitly stay at Casa Iguana again if they keep their prices reasonable apon completing renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
Dec 1, 2009

Our November 2009 Casa Iguana vacation

This is a great location. I discovered Mismaloya beach 4 years ago while trying to escape the hotel district and DT Puerta Vallarta and the non-stop haggling and pressure from timeshare/condo sales and adventure trip pushers. You'll get a little of it here but not nearly as much. Casa Iguana is for sale and is in a transition. We chose it because it had kitchens and the rooms were a decent size. From the outside this place looks spectacular; great pool, hot tub, restaurant, and the staff is absolutely excellent. If you are planning on saving $ and cooking for yourself, a major update needs to be done to the kitchens. The stove was awful and there was no oven or microwave. If you can handle very very rustic kitchen facilities you'll be just fine. When we complained we were given a suite (probably the best room in the place) and we had a great vacation overall. The present owner ([...]) will take good care of you if you have any problems. The hike from Boca to Animas was very enjoyable but be prepared for steep precipices and watch your step. Path isn't the best marked just stay to the left(beach). Plus, arrange for a water taxi at Boca before heading out so you'll have a ride back. Hike is 2 hours to 2 hours and 20 minutes. The buses are a great cheap way to get back and forth from town or wherever you want to go. Don't miss the Huitchl Indian art (the peyote people) from the mountains. It's unbelievable and a must have, esp. the yarn pictures and bead covered sculptures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste a day of your vacation no matter what deal you are promised for excursions. A two hour viewing will easily turn into an entire day wasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edfa
Business
San Francisco
Sep 8, 2009

The Mexico Adventure

This was our(my wife and I) belated honeymoon. We had been looking forward to this for months. Before we left we(mainly my wife) had done our research on the hotel and the area surrounding it. After 2 adventurous bus trips from the airport to PVR and PVR to the hotel we found ourselves dropped off at what can be best described as a stony trail( little did I know this was way all the streets were) The hotel was a 2 minute walk from the bus stop. The bus service was fantastic. Cheap, simple an easy. We were greeted at the reception by the friendly [...]. He checked us in quick and fast. Unfortunately owing to the low season he told us the bar and restaurant was closed......bummer......but there was an in-hotel mini mart that sold the essentials i.e. agua y cerveza......sweet. The room was basic but adequate, especially A/C in both bedrooms and sitting room plus ceiling fans. Ahhhhh cool air. The best part of the hotel was the fantastic Wi-Fi. This was essential for us as we wanted to skype home to our 15 month old daughter plus my wife had some online quizzes to take for school. The facilities were nice - pool, hot tub, spa, lounging area around pool and the grounds were kept very, very clean. Casa Iguana is located in Mismaloya, about 20-25 minutes by bus/taxi from PVR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to and from Puerto Vallarta. Cheap and very reliable and very frequent. 6 pesos compared to 130 pesos for a taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Iguana Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmpidonaxKurt
Business
Riverside, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Great hotel in a quiet location

Nice hotel in a quiet location. It's about a 20-30 minute busride to Puerto Vallarta and Mismaloya is sowewhat limited in services, but the location is restful and there are lots of outdoor things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top