$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

W Mexico City

5 stars
Campos Eliseos 252, Chapultepec, Polanco, Mexico City, 11560
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Hotel

Hotel is located in a really nice neighborhood. Close to public transportation. Staff is great.... See full review

  • DannyJM
  • Jun 24, 2013
Amazing hotel

The staff is amazing . The room is outstanding. Taking a shower with the waterfall in front of the... See full review

  • Mirabell3454
  • Mar 10, 2013
Five-star hotel in Polanco district blends modern design with comfort

Located off Paseo de la Reforma in the hip Polanco neighborhood, with chic shops, galleries, and nightlife just around the corner, W Mexico City promises a cutting-edge hotel experience. Bold colorful decor blends modern design with creature comforts in all 237 guest rooms and suites. The Zen-like experience throughout includes reflective koi ponds, a spa employing ancient rituals to invoke balance and harmony, and silk hammocks suspended over bathtubs.

Highlights
  • Condé Nast Traveler Gold List hotel
  • Spa, fitness center, and indoor pool
  • Business center
  • Pets Are Welcome signature pet program
  • Wi-Fi throughout (fee applies)
Rooms

All rooms feature 32-inch plasma television with cable channels, DVD player with DVD collection, CD player and CD collection, and oversize desk, and Wi-Fi access (fee applies). A mini-bar, snack box, and signature W beds with down comforter and 300-count linens are also standard in-room comforts. Bathrooms boast oversized tubs with relaxing silk hammock, hairdryer, and signature Bliss lemon-sage toiletries. 

Features

The bright-red oversized W outside is just a prelude to the bold decor inside this stylish Mexico City hotel. Cherry red walls, sleek ebony furniture, and a palette of colors define this unique hostelry.

 

Solea restaurant serves contemporary Mexican seafood and steak specialties. The Whiskey is a bar serving light fare and drinks until 2 a.m. The Red Lounge is another place for frosty domestic and international beverages.

 

Away Spa and Fitness Center draws on ancient renewing rituals including sessions in the Temascal a traditional adobe sweat lodge. Invigorating facials and other revitalizing body treatments to restore balance and positive energy are available. The fitness center features state-of-the-art exercise equipment with a great view.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (11.19 mi/18 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Chapultepec Park (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Archaeological Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Metropolitan Cathedral (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Historic Center (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Plaza of Three Cultures (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 9 meeting studios totaling 7,700 square feet, accommodating up to 340 guests
Policies and fees
  • Wi-Fi access: $15/day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Mexico City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W Mexico City Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Shops/Commercial services
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • IPADE: 0.4 mi
  • Campo Marte: 0.6 mi
  • Chapultepec: 1.2 mi
  • El Ángel: 1.7 mi
  • Parque España: 1.8 mi
  • Parque México: 2.1 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 2.3 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 3 mi
  • Arena México: 3 mi
  • Plaza México: 3.4 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 3.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • El Zocalo: 4.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 4.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 4.3 mi
  • IPADE: 0.4 mi
  • Campo Marte: 0.6 mi
  • Chapultepec: 1.2 mi
  • El Ángel: 1.7 mi
  • Parque España: 1.8 mi
  • Parque México: 2.1 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 2.3 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 3 mi
  • Arena México: 3 mi
  • Plaza México: 3.4 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 3.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 3.7 mi
  • El Zocalo: 4.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 4.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 4.3 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 4.4 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 5.8 mi
  • Film University: 6.1 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 6.4 mi
  • Foro Sol: 6.5 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 7.3 mi
  • Perisur: 8.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 8.9 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 8.9 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.3 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 10.2 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.3 mi

Dining

Living Room
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless High-Speed Internet Access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
Solea
Solea, our signature restaurant, offers an innovative steak and seafood menu designed by our executive chef, who has enlightened each recipe with a contemporary vision and a clever interpretation of Mexican flavors.
The Terrace
A sophisticated and stylish nightspot. Offering a mix of seductive ambiance and stylish décor it creates the ultimate playground.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
01:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for W Mexico City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mxtraveler
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2012

aWesome hotel

We had a fantastic weekend at the W Hotel in Mexico City. The location was great and the staff was super friendly and they always went beyond their normal duties to offer superior service. We had an amazing room with a fantastic view of Mexico City. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at in Mexico City and did not want to leave on Sunday. The Whiskey bar located in the lobby was awesome too for a nice relaxing cocktail after a long day of traveling. We are ready to return soon to W Hotel Mexico City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great Spanish restaurant about 3 blocks away with amazing food called Chiringuito. Go there and enjoy the wine and great tapas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C and G
Business
USA & Mexico
Apr 30, 2014

C and G Weekend

Nice hotel but quite a bit different by design from Starwood's Weston or Sheraton Hotels. We stayed during Easter week which is traditionally a slow week for this hotel thus many of the facilities were undergoing maintenance. One note is the beds advertised as 2 queens are really 2 double beds based on my measurements. The location is great, the food adequate and the rooms clean but like Marriott, Starwood is now charging what I consider to be outrageous fees on a per device basis for WiFi service. As a business traveller I expect any good hotel to include reliable secure WiFi as part of their room charge and so I will not be returning to this hotel on my next visit to Mexico City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums are outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Global Latin American
Business
Panama
Jan 4, 2014

Definitely a disappointment!

The hotel is classified as a 5-star hotel but it is definitely not a 5-star hotel. The room interior looks and feels over-used. White floor tiles used to look sleek and clean and now look old. We were not told that the ground floor bar, which was one of the coolest bars in Mexico City was being remodelled. So there was no reason to stay in the evenings at the hotel. Definitely not a good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of excellent restaurants around the hotel is a plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ana May 10
Business
Los Angeles, California
Dec 29, 2013

Family Christmas Getaway

My family and I decided to stay in Mexico a few more days after Christmas. We decided to stay in the Polanco area which was great, because there were great surrounding restaurants and museums. We were looking forward to staying at the W hotel because if the chains reputation. Unfortunately this hotel did not live up to its reputation. When we arrived the bathroom wasn't clean along with some parts of the room. We did notify the hotel and they were very attentive and apologetic about the matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Roma Condessa Corridor was a great area to have a drink and also good for night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DannyJM
Business
Chicago, Il
Jun 24, 2013

Great Hotel

Hotel is located in a really nice neighborhood. Close to public transportation. Staff is great. Rooms were great. Nice view if you are on a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Need to go to dinner at Pujol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chilaquiles
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2013

Great location!

The W was in a perfect location. There was a great park and many wonderful restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were comfortable. The only parts of our stay that we did not enjoy were the excessively loud music in the lobby and elevators and the dark hallways (especially when coming/going at night), although that was a small price to pay for everything else being great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Cafe Ivoire. It was so good we ate there twice in one weekend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jegsco
Business
Guatemala, Guatemala
Apr 29, 2013

Great Hotel

Everything was great. If I really have to say something bad it would be that it takes them forever to clean your room. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BelloPuerto... delicious seafood and great drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tcow
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Apr 8, 2013

I think this hotel used to be "cool" - but it needs a reno

The hotel is in a FANTASTIC location - - you could not ask for a better place - right in Polanco near lots of attractions, parks and places to eat -- upscale shopping if you are into that too. The hotel really needs to be updated. It almsot looks like it has not been touched since it first opened. The rooms are rather dark due to lack of windows and red painted ceilings -- so it is not very fresh. I like hip hotels - -but this one kind of misses the mark in today's market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Naino
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 4, 2013

Check in time

My hotel confirmation said check in was at 13:00. When I tried to do so, I was told by the front desk staff the room would not be ready until 15:00. When I tried again at that time, the room was still not ready. I was informed by one of the front desk staff members that she would notify me when the room would be ready, and it would only take a few more minutes. After waiting in the lobby for almost an entire hour, I finally went back to the front desk to ask about the room. The staff member finally gave me my room key, but did not apologize or give an explanation about why I had to wait so long to check in. During the time I spent waiting, I had actually planned to do other activities in the city. But because I was not able to check in until 3 hours later, it was a wasted day as I waited in the lobby for the room to be ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Bajio across the street has a great selection of delicious traditional Mexican cuisine at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVTravelers
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 16, 2013

Awesome hotel but renovations are needed.

The location, staff, and everything else regarding the hotel are great. I only had a problem with the obvious need for repair in their rooms. The lighting fixture was cracked, the counter tops were chipped and dirty, and worst of all the walls had marks on them. Once I spoke to the Welcome Desk they were able to help but the hotel needs some minor renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Maserik Street is a short walk away from the hotel and you can find anything there. There is also an outside market on Saturdays in the park near the hotel. Great place to VISIT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Mexico City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ffbrussels
Business
Lima,Peru
Mar 11, 2013

Staying at week end is good deal

Nice hotel, good located. Just the the water in the bathroom goes out on the floor, and dirty a little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top