$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Hotel Imperial Reforma

3 stars
View map of Paseo De La Reforma #64, Col. Juarez, Mexico City, 06600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Imperial Reforma

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmmm
texas
Oct 6, 2012

Great location for Family fun

Room was clean. Staff was friendly. They did not bother you at all. They called to ask for convienient time to clean room. Parking was hassle free (Valet). Location was great. Had many places to visit in walking distance. Would definately stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores & restaraunts everywhere..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix Arizona
Jun 18, 2010

Unbelievable deal

We were amazed at this hotel. Only paid $40 a night and seemed like a 5 star to us. Room was Beautiful, clean and plenty of room. 2 bottles of water a day, room service,right on Paseo de Reforma, so a great location. not noisy at all and we like a window open. The staff was very professional. Had a suburban waiting for us to go to the airport at 6:00am with a ton of luggage and only cost 300P for the trip with individual care. Shuttle was 230P. Worth the difference. Didn't eat in the restaurant but seemed very nice. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked everywhere but the bus is right on the main drag for 4 or 5P. The Reforma has all of the monuments at each intersection and restaurants everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romantic Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Would stay again if could get softer bed

Hotel is nice and all the staff is very professional and extra friendly. Mexican style breakfast and lunch buffet always good. I would stay again, but would request they update their mattresses on the beds as they are hard and uncomfortable. I changed rooms because of paint fumes from another room being redone and the king size bed had a ridge in the middle and two valleys on each side of the bed. I think the rooms need recarpeting as my bare feet got black on the bottom. Besides those small complaints the hotel is a great value and great location and I would stay again, like I said, if I could get a softer mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking down the Avenue Reforma (Paseo de Reforma) just a short walk of around 8 blocks is quite enjoyable and when you get to the Zona Rosa there are all kinds of restaurants....especially enjoyed the Argentinian steakhouses where the meats are cooked over a smokey flame grill...MMMMMMMMMM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 12, 2010

Noisy!

I got sick and they sent a doctor right away... But the hotel is super noisy...and the a/c does not quite work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long-Haul Hero
Business
Mérida, Yucatán
Jun 9, 2010

Best Bargain for Exceptional Tourists

Since childhood I've visited Mexico City once or twice a year and I've stayed in everything from five-star hotels to very modest small places unknown to foreigners. I recently spent four days at the Hotel Imperial Reforma and, as someone who's familiar with and loves Mexico City, I think it's an excellent hotel for people who want to get to know Mexico City in a non-touristy way and also appreciate how Mexicans from the provinces enjoy the capital. For me, the most interesting thing about the Imperial Reforma is that with its swanky late-19th century exterior, which is a textbook example of the European style promoted by President Porfirio Díaz, and with its well-maintained interior, which seems to have been refurbished in the early 1970s, the Imperial Reforma gives foreign guests a very accurate idea of the kind of "respectable" hotel once favored by educated upper-middle-class ladies from the provinces who escaped to Mexico City to shop, visit museums, go to concerts, and attend Mass at the cathedral or at one of the other ancient churches in the Centro Histórico. If you can imagine the tastes and needs of these guests, you can predict all the Imperial Reforma's advantages. It's very safe and clean and in walking distance to the cathedral, to museums such as Bellas Artes and the Franz Meyer, and to a major subway station, Hidalgo, that makes trips to fashionable areas like San Ángel, Coyoacán, and Condesa very quick and easy. Even better than Hidalgo station, just across the street from the Imperial Reforma, you can catch a bus that takes a fast, direct route to the national auditorium, Chapultepec Park (and all its extraordinary museums), and to Polanco, which is a group of wealthy, elegant neighborhoods where you find pretty outdoor cafes, good restaurants and, on Alejandro Dumas Street, the famous El Péndulo bookstore, which many people consider among the world's finest. Although it seems to me that the Imperial Reforma has ultimately become a hotel for businessmen and bureaucrats, its service is still formal and polite in an old-fashioned Mexican way. And the rooms and their closets are big enough to accommodate the large suitcases that provincial guests needed for their big-city shopping sprees. The only potential drawback to the Imperial Reforma is that it has traditionally served Mexican, and not foreign, visitors. Because the staff is used to Spanish-speaking guests who can find their way around town on their own, the hotel's staff seem a little unsure about how much guidance, if any, they ought offer foreign guests. But the young man who runs the jewelry shop near the front desk knows Mexico City, its subway system, bus routes, and neighborhoods, extremely well and always seems happy to offer detailed directions and advice to anyone who asks. If you're an adventurous eater, be sure to ask this young man on a Saturday or Sunday how to get to the market in Coyoacán where you'll find the best chicken and beef tostadas in all of Mexico. And also ask him for directions to the little place just around the corner from the Imperial Reforma that makes fresh delicious quesadillas filled with things like squash blossoms or spicy beef or just simple and tasty refried beans. Because central Mexico City is now becoming trendy again, my longtime favorite hotel has raised its rates by THREE HUNDRED percent! Since I'd rather spend my money on good food and books, the Imperial Reforma, with its large, inexpensive rooms and very good location, has become my new favorite hotel in the capital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexico City's public transport system is so extensive, clean, safe, and cheap, that it's often foolish to waste your time and money on a taxi. Subway fare is 3 pesos, or twenty-five cents. A ride on an express bus costs 5 pesos, or forty cents. As in any super-big city, common sense applies, especially during rush hour: make sure your wallet or purse isn't pickpocket bait. But the vast majority of Mexico City residents practically dote over tourists and seem to get a kick out of offering accurate, lengthy directions to foreigners who've lost their way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, OR
Jun 7, 2010

[...]

Booked the Imperial via the internet and found it a great value. I did immediately change rooms as the first was on Reforma with a lot of traffic and the air cond was noisy. Unfortunately construction going on but not a problem if you're out all day sightseeing. Mini frig needed time to cool and toilet leaked a little bit but 2 free waters every day. About a 40 min walk to the Zocalo and only about 10 mins to the metro. Helpful staff. Didn't try their restaurants and you had to get ice from the bar. Plan for a free bike on Reforma if you're there on a Sunday. 2 Starbucks within a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As typical in Mexico, walking time is usually longer than one is told but if you like to walk, stroll through Alameda Park, see Belle Artes and have dinner or lunch at Tacuba. Also the cafe in Belle Artes was wonderful, have the gazpacho. There is a short walk to La Habana for coffee, bfst, or lunch-great old time atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 2, 2010

Imperial - May

I've stayed here before and as usual everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Querétaro, Qro.
May 29, 2010

Good location, good service

Excellent service, friendlly people, but too old, need to change carpets and some furniture. Breaksfast was quiet good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wildspirit
Business
Tucson, Arizona
May 27, 2010

good location on main street

Very good location. Rooms and hallways nicely done and all updated. Check in desk did not find our reservation at check-in but was able to locate it later that evening. Gave us a room facing demolition initially, but moved us to a different room upon our request. Rooms were nice, but small with a chandelier making them a bit more eloquent. Bathtub was deep for a relaxing bath. Bed was exceptionally hard! Hard pillows were replaced upon request with semi hard pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
corpus christi, Tx
May 24, 2010

Awesome!!!

Enjoyable, great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friffer
Business
Okemos, Mich.
Apr 29, 2010

Imperial Reforma

Enjoyed our stays at the Imperial. Right on Reforma. Metro stop at Juarez is just a short walk away. Hotel about 100 yrs old but nicely remodeled. Neighborhood 'feels' safe. Bath tubs require you to take a giant step up to get in. Front desk and service personell friendly and competent. Check out the surprising little jewelry shop in the lobby. Unique, reasonable, and made in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk down Madera to the clean (but ancient) Habana Cafe for reasonable breakfast menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top