Hotel Imperial Reforma

3 stars
Paseo De La Reforma #64, Col. Juarez, Mexico City, 06600
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
97 reviews
best deal in the D.F.:

Perfect location!! Large clean rooms! Great spanish food! Near the NIBA! Near the Alameda! Help... See full review

  • Expat USA
  • Jun 17, 2014
best hotel for a great price!

The hotel was so clean, friendly staff and awesome location to the mexico city. See full review

  • Lolaisfly
  • Jun 4, 2014
Elegant hotel combines history with modern amenities

This historic hotel opened in 1904 by and has hosted a number VIP guests in its day. Much of the history is showcased in a collection of photos displayed in the Golden Dome cafeteria. Vestiges of its past are reflected in the ornate French 19th-century-style architecture. A prime location on the Paseo de la Reforma makes Hotel Imperial Reforma ideal for visitors who wish to explore some of the Mexican capital's important sites.

Highlights
  • Business center
  • Concierge
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Room service
Rooms

Rooms are basic but functional, furnished with two twin beds or one king-size. Features include television with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, air conditioner, complimentary bottled water, and in-room safe. Marble bathrooms include shower with tub, hairdryer, and toiletries.

Features

Cafeteria Cupula de Oro serves breakfast buffet daily and lunch buffet Monday through Friday. Gaudi restaurant and bar serves in Spanish cuisine daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. and features with live music. Other features include an on-site business center and two banquet rooms.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (5.4 mi/8.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • Monument to the Revolution (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Ciudadela Handicraft Market (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Palace of Fine Arts (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Mexico City historic center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • National Anthropological Museum (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Chapultepec Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • Business center with computers, laser printer, scanner, fax machine, and available secretarial services
  • Small meeting rooms
  • Banquet facilities
  • Technology help desk
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi

Hotel Imperial Reforma Rooms

Standard Single
Room offers 1 king bed with air conditioner, safety deposit box, relaxing decoration, cable TV, Internet access, bathtub, hairdryer, radio, alarm clock, telephone, valet service, balcony/terrace, room service.
Standard Double Room
Room offers twin bed with air conditioner, safety deposit box, relaxing decoration, cable TV, Internet access, bathtub, hairdryer, radio, alarm clock, telephone, valet service, balcony/terrace, room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

19.4335 -99.1538
Area served
Mexico City
Nearby airports
Benito Juarez International Airport
Area description
With an strategic location, nearby to managerial and cultural places, nearby to Zona Rosa, Historical center, the most important locations, as Mexican Chamber of commerce.

Nearby points of interest

  • Teatro Metropólitan: 0.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 0.5 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.9 mi
  • Arena México: 1 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 1 mi
  • El Ángel: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 1.3 mi
  • El Zocalo: 1.3 mi
  • Parque España: 1.4 mi
  • Zócalo: 1.6 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 1.6 mi
  • Parque México: 1.9 mi
  • IPADE: 2.4 mi
  • Campo Marte: 3.2 mi
  • Chapultepec: 3.4 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 0.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 0.5 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.9 mi
  • Arena México: 1 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 1 mi
  • El Ángel: 1.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 1.3 mi
  • El Zocalo: 1.3 mi
  • Parque España: 1.4 mi
  • Zócalo: 1.6 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 1.6 mi
  • Parque México: 1.9 mi
  • IPADE: 2.4 mi
  • Campo Marte: 3.2 mi
  • Chapultepec: 3.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.1 mi
  • Foro Sol: 4.2 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.2 mi
  • Film University: 6.9 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 8.2 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.4 mi
  • Perisur: 9.5 mi
  • Six Flags México: 9.9 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 10 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 10 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.7 mi

Dining

Golden Dome Cafeteria
The Golden Dome cafeteria shows a valuable collection of the Hotel's and surroundings pictures, across 100 years of history.Gaudi Restaurant is one of the biggest attractions of the hotel, offering a High Spanish quality cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Imperial Reforma

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jul 7, 2010

The Imperial in Mexico City

I wish 3.5 stars was an option. For 40-ish dollars a night [...] it was a steal. Everyone was nice. There were fridges in the room and they gave us free water every day. But there was one day when the beds had been changed and there was blood on the sheets or maybe wine? Also, they were demolishing a building next door that smelled funky--request a street view! The doorman got us a cab that ripped us off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico City Lover
Puerto Vallarta
Jul 5, 2010

excellent location

Excellent location and very friendly/helpfull staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Staff willing to help you with any direccion around and outside the city....includding direccion how to use the subway transport system.......good buffet breakfast for the price, but it needs more food items. Get breakfast early in the morning as the morning progress it get short of food

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

A week of (hotel) disappointment

I stayed at the Imperial Reforma hotel for 7 days. I chose it because of the central location and architecture. In these two areas, I was not disappointed. In most others, I was completely disappointed. The problems ranged from lack of internet connectivity (resolution: I had to do all my work in the noisy, public computer room each day) to the same lamp breaking three times (literally, breaking in two) just from turning the switch (resolution: the first two times, they attempted to fix it by hand for about ten minutes. The third time they finally replaced it). A word on location: The front of the hotel is conveniently located on Avenida Reforma. No problems there. The back of the hotel, where my room was located, faced two buildings. The building on the right was undergoing a process of demolition, complete with crane and an army of workers. The building on the left, the federal institute of housing, enjoyed a multitude of protesters marching and chanting every morning for hours until I left. The hotel staff could best be described as young children that begrudgingly do the bidding of their parents. No interest whatsoever in courteous friendly help. I might add that I speak Spanish, so all interactions were conducted in their native tongue- nothing lost in translation. Just a complete and utter lack of interest. This is actually the first review I am writing, although I have traveled to countries around the world. The service at this hotel consistently was poor and for a hotel that appears to look nice, it was no less than embarrassing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Ballet Folklorico up Reforma at the museo antropologico. In te other direction, check out el palacio de bell artes.

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Jun 29, 2010

Sleepless in Mexico City

Great staff & service, as this was a 22 hour layover stop we opted for a historical site, unfortunately it included an antique mattress. Older room decor, no big deal. Physical building was great, Many historic sites within walking distance, Metro stop same block as hotel. Would stay again if assured of having a new mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check local map and hotel staff for directions, walk as taxis can be kind of expensive. Metro during the day can be fun, keep in mind it is crowded and no A/C but is known for its cheap fare(way less than 10 pesos)

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 23, 2010

Beautiful from the outside...

Truly elegant from the outside, but inside, although modernized, it was somewhat dull. There was a very strong smell of sweat, as if the carpets had not been well washed, or the room thoroughly aired. The window (which couldn't be opened to let in fresh air) looked out onto a very noisy construction site. Overall, I was not that impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix Arizona
Jun 18, 2010

Unbelievable deal

We were amazed at this hotel. Only paid $40 a night and seemed like a 5 star to us. Room was Beautiful, clean and plenty of room. 2 bottles of water a day, room service,right on Paseo de Reforma, so a great location. not noisy at all and we like a window open. The staff was very professional. Had a suburban waiting for us to go to the airport at 6:00am with a ton of luggage and only cost 300P for the trip with individual care. Shuttle was 230P. Worth the difference. Didn't eat in the restaurant but seemed very nice. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked everywhere but the bus is right on the main drag for 4 or 5P. The Reforma has all of the monuments at each intersection and restaurants everywhere.

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romantic Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 15, 2010

Would stay again if could get softer bed

Hotel is nice and all the staff is very professional and extra friendly. Mexican style breakfast and lunch buffet always good. I would stay again, but would request they update their mattresses on the beds as they are hard and uncomfortable. I changed rooms because of paint fumes from another room being redone and the king size bed had a ridge in the middle and two valleys on each side of the bed. I think the rooms need recarpeting as my bare feet got black on the bottom. Besides those small complaints the hotel is a great value and great location and I would stay again, like I said, if I could get a softer mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking down the Avenue Reforma (Paseo de Reforma) just a short walk of around 8 blocks is quite enjoyable and when you get to the Zona Rosa there are all kinds of restaurants....especially enjoyed the Argentinian steakhouses where the meats are cooked over a smokey flame grill...MMMMMMMMMM

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 12, 2010

Noisy!

I got sick and they sent a doctor right away... But the hotel is super noisy...and the a/c does not quite work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long-Haul Hero
Mérida, Yucatán
Jun 9, 2010

Best Bargain for Exceptional Tourists

Since childhood I've visited Mexico City once or twice a year and I've stayed in everything from five-star hotels to very modest small places unknown to foreigners. I recently spent four days at the Hotel Imperial Reforma and, as someone who's familiar with and loves Mexico City, I think it's an excellent hotel for people who want to get to know Mexico City in a non-touristy way and also appreciate how Mexicans from the provinces enjoy the capital. For me, the most interesting thing about the Imperial Reforma is that with its swanky late-19th century exterior, which is a textbook example of the European style promoted by President Porfirio Díaz, and with its well-maintained interior, which seems to have been refurbished in the early 1970s, the Imperial Reforma gives foreign guests a very accurate idea of the kind of "respectable" hotel once favored by educated upper-middle-class ladies from the provinces who escaped to Mexico City to shop, visit museums, go to concerts, and attend Mass at the cathedral or at one of the other ancient churches in the Centro Histórico. If you can imagine the tastes and needs of these guests, you can predict all the Imperial Reforma's advantages. It's very safe and clean and in walking distance to the cathedral, to museums such as Bellas Artes and the Franz Meyer, and to a major subway station, Hidalgo, that makes trips to fashionable areas like San Ángel, Coyoacán, and Condesa very quick and easy. Even better than Hidalgo station, just across the street from the Imperial Reforma, you can catch a bus that takes a fast, direct route to the national auditorium, Chapultepec Park (and all its extraordinary museums), and to Polanco, which is a group of wealthy, elegant neighborhoods where you find pretty outdoor cafes, good restaurants and, on Alejandro Dumas Street, the famous El Péndulo bookstore, which many people consider among the world's finest. Although it seems to me that the Imperial Reforma has ultimately become a hotel for businessmen and bureaucrats, its service is still formal and polite in an old-fashioned Mexican way. And the rooms and their closets are big enough to accommodate the large suitcases that provincial guests needed for their big-city shopping sprees. The only potential drawback to the Imperial Reforma is that it has traditionally served Mexican, and not foreign, visitors. Because the staff is used to Spanish-speaking guests who can find their way around town on their own, the hotel's staff seem a little unsure about how much guidance, if any, they ought offer foreign guests. But the young man who runs the jewelry shop near the front desk knows Mexico City, its subway system, bus routes, and neighborhoods, extremely well and always seems happy to offer detailed directions and advice to anyone who asks. If you're an adventurous eater, be sure to ask this young man on a Saturday or Sunday how to get to the market in Coyoacán where you'll find the best chicken and beef tostadas in all of Mexico. And also ask him for directions to the little place just around the corner from the Imperial Reforma that makes fresh delicious quesadillas filled with things like squash blossoms or spicy beef or just simple and tasty refried beans. Because central Mexico City is now becoming trendy again, my longtime favorite hotel has raised its rates by THREE HUNDRED percent! Since I'd rather spend my money on good food and books, the Imperial Reforma, with its large, inexpensive rooms and very good location, has become my new favorite hotel in the capital.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexico City's public transport system is so extensive, clean, safe, and cheap, that it's often foolish to waste your time and money on a taxi. Subway fare is 3 pesos, or twenty-five cents. A ride on an express bus costs 5 pesos, or forty cents. As in any super-big city, common sense applies, especially during rush hour: make sure your wallet or purse isn't pickpocket bait. But the vast majority of Mexico City residents practically dote over tourists and seem to get a kick out of offering accurate, lengthy directions to foreigners who've lost their way.

Review of Hotel Imperial Reforma

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eugene, OR
Jun 7, 2010

[...]

Booked the Imperial via the internet and found it a great value. I did immediately change rooms as the first was on Reforma with a lot of traffic and the air cond was noisy. Unfortunately construction going on but not a problem if you're out all day sightseeing. Mini frig needed time to cool and toilet leaked a little bit but 2 free waters every day. About a 40 min walk to the Zocalo and only about 10 mins to the metro. Helpful staff. Didn't try their restaurants and you had to get ice from the bar. Plan for a free bike on Reforma if you're there on a Sunday. 2 Starbucks within a block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As typical in Mexico, walking time is usually longer than one is told but if you like to walk, stroll through Alameda Park, see Belle Artes and have dinner or lunch at Tacuba. Also the cafe in Belle Artes was wonderful, have the gazpacho. There is a short walk to La Habana for coffee, bfst, or lunch-great old time atmosphere.

Back to menu Return to top