$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

3 stars
View map of Londres 130 Col Juarez, Mexico City, 06600

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
huchy mama
Business
new york
Apr 1, 2013

good location

the hotel is near everything you can think of, my room was never vacuum, the lounge is very small, and the restaurant is very unclean, they have big cages on the side of the walls with birds in them, the bird's droppings get all over the tables, it is disgusting, the consierge was very helpful and so was the rest of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is near this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy winter traveller
Business
Durham, CT
Feb 23, 2013

History, Beauty, Comfort

We have stayed at the Geneve many times since our first visit in 1975. For us, it is all that a grand hotel should be. The staff is gracious, helpful and professional.The history of the storied hotel is displayed everywhere. The neighborhood now includes many chain restaurants and a modern shopping center but still abounds with good restaurants, shopping and a theatre. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the subway and to the Turibus stop, where you can board and spend the day visiting the major tourism attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The venerable Fonda El Refugio is hands down the best Mexican restaurant anywhere. It should be part of any Mexico City itinerary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
discountforreview
Business
miami
Jan 28, 2013

well past its prime

I had high hopes for this famous hotel. Having spent most of the last 10 years of my time in the DF in an apartment or with family, this was the first time I stayed in a hotel in Mexico City in several years and this is a storied one. Pretty disappointing. Yes, the bed was ok; yes, the staff was nice. But for the kind of prices they are charging, I would expect MUCH better. Frankly, I have stayed in nicer hoteles de paso than this. Booked as a "non-smoking" room, I must have been the only person in the entire hotel NOT smoking. I thought the DF had a ban on smoking indoors...And what can one say about the shady neighborhood? I stayed because it was close to the Insurgentes metro, but yikes! Don't waste your money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gallupian
Business
Gallup, New Mexico
Nov 26, 2012

Great home base in Mexico City

My wife and I had a wonderful 5 days here recently. To address concerns raised in other reviews first - our room was very quiet, even on Friday and Saturday night; sure there are some gay bars in the neighborhood but the overall feel is simply of a lively, happening part of town, we loved all the foot traffic, it helped us feel very safe walking a few blocks home at 11pm after a few glasses of wine. The staff was helpful when needed, everybody we encountered was comfortable in English, and there is even a full drug store in the lobby if someone doesn't feel well. Car service is available 24 hours at the front door but the 2 block walk to the metro is so busy and safe that after the first day we went that route. But the key is that you cannot find a hotel with more character (without being stuff or over the hill) anywhere. Sure you could stay at a well-known upscale chain hotel for similar money, but if you like history and charm this should be your home base to explore Mexico City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnight in Mexico City
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 9, 2012

A good stay

The staff was welcoming. The bellman showed us to our room and then told us about the trips the hotel offers. It was a comfortable stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacinta1
Business
Clayton, North Carolina
Jul 27, 2012

One night get away

I flew in from North Carolina and wanted somewhere nice and safet to stay in Mexico CIty until we got to our final destination in Toluca Mexico...I met my wife at the Airport and I told her that I had booked a rooom for us to spend the night in Mexico City..It was fabulous...The building and the lobby and dining areas were a designer's delight...We were blown away with everything and were shock as to what we had discover for the small amount of money we spent there..I was within walking distance of historic Mexico ....the rooms were very nice...It located near a police station which was perfect...We only regret that we did not have more tiime to stay longer...It will be on my list for one of my many visit to Mexico City...we were not disappointed...4 and half stars....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnight in Mexico City
Business
Springfield, VA
Jul 27, 2012

Mexico City Stay

I had no issues checking in early. The bell man brought our bags up to our room. He then gave us a brochure explaining the tours that are available. The lobby is set up as a museum and was inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the best money exchange to be around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
graycloud
Business
San Francisco
Jun 6, 2012

Awesome hotel and history

The area is busy, and the hotel can be noisy depending on your room. however rooms facing the inner courtyard are quiet. i found the rooms comfortable and clean, the staff very attentive and the history of the museum fascinating. yes, the hotel is old, and some might find it outdated, but the rooms have been remodeled, the hallways, however are still a bit narrow and finding the elevator the first time can be a challenge without help. i, however, will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rafaello's restaurant just a short walk away is a very good destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bumpy
Business
mission viejo
May 28, 2012

Its in the center of the party!

Ok I am sure you have read other reviews. Lets discuss the bad stuff. I think the number one was the noise. Ok if you have a room at the street side, oh yeah its going to have lots of noise since nobody stops party'n till around 4am then they start all over. So if you want quiet just make sure you get a room in the back somewhere. The other bad stuff was the beds or the bathroom. Um, get a life, is there any place thats perfect? Lets not get too picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's, krispy creams, starbucks, a nice italian place and numerous taco places exactly across the street. Yes its safe to eat. If you are scared to eat at places in mexico, dont go there you will starve.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay's girl
Business
Brasilia, Brazil
May 14, 2012

Short-term stay

The concierge, Ariel, is a real sweetie and so helpful. All staff were great and particularly the cleaning lady for my room 308. The beds were great and the sheets very soft. The hotel is right there in Zona Rosa. The night lift was pumping and police presence was heavy which is a good thing as you felt safe walking around at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top